We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Ranked #10 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Stayed here only one night and I checked in with a VERY drunk boyfriend who I was a little upset at for getting so drunk. The reason I mention this is the girl at check in was super professional (I think her name started with a Z) when the situation was very, dare I say, sensitive. I won't go into details, but lets just say, he went out and got drunk and I didn't and it was only 9 PM. So, I put him to bed and went down to Tigin's to drink alone. The room was a good room. Very clean. I like that there is a lap desk in the room. I didn't get a chance to use it, but I thought that it was very cute. The bathroom was a decent size, good amount of counter space. From what I remember of the bed, it was very comfy. Location is great. You're close to the casino, arch, Laclede's landing. I did not really like their parking garage. It was kind of tight and I am a bad driver, but having covered parking is nice. I am giving this hotel a 5 out of 5 almost completely because of how the front desk handled their business and I would for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 598Storm598
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear 598Storm598,

Thank you for mentioning Zenaida's professionalism. We have just secured another loyal guest - that's awesome! I hope that you enjoyed Tigin. We are in a great location. There is more to see and do so, please, hurry back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,811)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,811 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

Rooms were clean, comfortable and fairly quiet. Pool and hot tub were nice. Kids enjoyed them. My biggest complaint would be that they only had TWO elevators for all those rooms. Long waits especially during check out/check in time. Also, rooms were not ready til 5pm which meant hanging out until we could get in. Overall, we enjoyed our stay. Would stay there again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank tracylynh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear tracylynh,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We appreciate you staying and leaving a review. These comments really help us to stay the best for our guests. We do have our third elevator up and running now; we were waiting for a part but it is fixed. I hope that this will make your experience, when you return, an even better one. Leslie Varney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We arrived in St. Louis on a Friday afternoon, by car and checked into the hotel after a tour of the Anheuser Busch Brewery. The two men at the desk were so friendly. John was the one helping us. After the check-in procedures, he explained several things about the hotel, where to self park and where and when breakfast was served. After we got everything to the room, we went back to the desk and asked John, who was from Dublin, Ireland, if he could recommend a good place to eat, close to the hotel.

He came up with what he said was the best little Italian restaurant just a block and a half away. The owner was a lady who spoke very little English and everything cooked was from her recipes. The restaurant name was Sanfiilppo's.

Later that night my friend started looking for her charger for her new I-phone and couldn't fine it any where. The next evening we stopped by the desk and Donna asked John if he knew where she could buy a charger for her I phone 5. Again he was right on an answer, across the street and down a half block was a convenience store. Sure enough they had a charger.

The next morning we were going to go up in the Arch, but because of road construction in front of the Arch, we couldn't figure out how to get behind the fence. Well, a trip to the desk, and John gave us the street we needed to walk to so we could get through the construction. What ever our needs were, we always got a pleasant and helpful answer.

The hotel is located in downtown St. Louis, about three four blocks from the Arch. We walked two day to Busch Stadium and other historical sites in the downtown area. Never got our car out of the garage. Our room was clean and spacious. It overlooked the Arch and Mississippi River. Lovely view of downtown at night. We will definitely stay here when in St. Louis.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AHCIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear AHCIR,

Thank you for staying with us and mentioning our friendly staff. John is one of our beloved front desk leads. We will make sure he is aware of your comments. We appreciate you staying, leaving comments, and the promise to return. Thank you for being a loyal guest. We Love Having You Here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Great view of Arch from room and pool area. Clean room, wonderful staff, and great location. The rate for the room with fair. The parking garage with easy to access. Short walk to the Arch, stadium, and old courthouse. Would stay here every time that I visit St. Louis again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank A Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear A Jason D,

Thank you for becoming a new, loyal guest! We can't wait until you return! Leslie Varney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is located right downtown, walking distance from the ballpark and a lot of great restaurants. Our room had a great view overlooking the arch, and it was clean and comfortable. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Like all Hampton Inns, there was a free breakfast as well.

We had two complaints though, which would make us hesitate before staying there again. Admittedly, we are light sleepers, but we could hear some traffic noise from the street. Nothing crazy, but enough that we both put in earplugs. It was hot anyways, so we left on the AC for cooling and white noise. But it kicked on and off so loudly that between that and the occasional revved engine, we didn't sleep great, even with the earplugs. Yes, we are light sleepers, but to put this in context, we recently stayed at a Hampton Inn in Manhattan, the busiest and noisiest city in the world, and we were not bothered by the AC or the street noise.

The second issue was the elevator situation. Hampton Inns seem to consistently have insufficient elevator coverage, and this one is no different. At peak hours, expect to wait a while for an elevator. Not a major inconvenience unless you are in a huge hurry to get out at peak hours, but still a bit of an annoyance.

So, overall, I'm giving this a medium grade. There are a lot of great features of the hotel, but for a light sleeper, it may be a little nonideal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raph105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear raph105,

Thank you for booking with us and providing great feedback on your stay. It helps us to know what each guest is looking for. We hate to hear that you did not sleep great in our Cloud 9 beds. If you return, which we hope you do, please let our front desk know if you have issues in a particular room. We can always attempt to relocate you. We Love Having You Here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were travelling across the country and arrived on the afternoon of Memorial Day. The hotel was fine in all respects, except that parking in the hotel lot was expensive. A major plus was that the manager, who was working the front desk, was friendly and knowledgable and gave us good information about the few restaurants nearby and about the best way to get back on the interstate. Apart from the Arch and its park, we found this part of St. Louis to be pretty dreary, with boarded up storefronts, streets that were closed (GPS wasn't much help) or paved with cobblestones (5 mph and rough on the car), and empty sidewalks. But if you're in town for a Cardinals' or Rams' game, this hotel is a good value and can be recommended for a short stay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the southeast side of upper floors are quiet and offer a view of the Arch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ncmoose99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear ncmoose99,

Thank you for your feedback, regarding your recent stay. Just so you know, we do charge less than most hotels for our parking garage. A plus is, the garage is attached to the hotel and can be accessed by our elevator system. Glad to hear that our friendly, knowledgeable staff lived up to your expectations. We hope to have you back if your travels bring you this way. Leslie Varney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Came on the Sunday of Memorial Day weekend for the Yankees/Cardinals games that week. Room was ready early (not quite as early as I arrived, but earlier than check-in time).

Location is good; there are closer hotels to the Arch and to Busch Stadium, but the walk from here is not bad at all (and the price was much better). The pub inside the hotel is standard; I had dinner there one night after the game and the bartender was super friendly.

Quick walk to Laclede's Landing and the restaurants there, but there is construction going on and it makes it a little challenging to get over there on foot. It's also very close to the Convention Center Metrolink stop, so you can get to/from the airport that way. I ended up taking a cab back to the airport for convenience, and it was an easy ride.

Room is fine; my view was of a highway and the football stadium, but I hadn't requested anything different. Noise was not an issue for me. Bed is comfortable, there is a desk as well as a lap desk if you want to work in bed. Pretty impressive channel selection. Wifi worked very well (free for 2 devices). Elevators can be a little slow at peak times (breakfast especially) but not awful. They're pretty big, so fitting in was never an issue. Breakfast was a step up from usual hotel fare; bagels/pastries/cereal but also hot food (eggs, sausage, french toast sticks, etc.) and multiple waffle makers. Refilled regularly throughout the morning so you're not stuck with scraps if you sleep in a little bit. Staff in the area were helpful and friendly.

Front desk staff were also great; I took a little friendly teasing for my Yankee gear (the staff had Cardinals jerseys on), but they helped out promptly with a lightbulb issue and called a cab for me to get to the airport.

Overall: great staff, nice hotel, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Stay away from the elevators if possible --- they make a loud dinging noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear Samantha G,

Hope you enjoyed a great time at Busch Stadium!! Thank you for staying with us and leaving a property review in TripAdvisor; greatly appreciated! I am sure that those here for the Cards / Mets series, next week, will receive some joking from the Front Desk, too :) Please hurry back and, hopefully, the construction will be finished. Leslie Varney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Address: 333 Washington Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63102-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#10 Best Value Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $106 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern, award winning Hampton Inn hotel is located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, just one block from The Dome at America's Center (formerly Edward Jones Dome), one block from Laclede's Landing and three blocks from the historical Mississippi Riverfront. Our guests can enjoy a wide variety of restaurants, nightclubs, and historical sites all within walking distance. The famous St. Louis Gateway Arch and the new downtown casino are just steps away! Access to all major interstates is just blocks from our entrance. Busch Stadium, Home of the St. Louis Cardinals and Ball Park Village are only a short walk, or a quick trip on the Metro Link. The Metro link, St. Louis' light rail transit system is only 2 blocks away, allowing our guests a short ride to and from the airport, as well as all key destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, HotelPower, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown At The Gateway Arch Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing