We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Downtown Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Ranked #12 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
San Anselmo, California
1 review
“Great Downtown Hotel”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

This is a great hotel. Low(er) rates than the others and just as good. Complimentary Wi-Fi, Hot Breakfast, Pool/Hot Tub, Fitness Center, Game Room, etc. The staff is wonderful. They greet you whenever they see you and wish you a "great day". One particular staff member stood out during my stay (John) at the front desk. He remembered my name each time he saw me and he was very friendly and helpful. It's the small things like remembering a guest's name that really makes their stay. This hotel is within walking distance of the arch and most of downtown. They have covered parking so if you are staying during the wintry months it is very nice. My only suggestion: If you get an Arch View room request to be higher than the 6th/7th/8th floors... otherwise you are just looking right out at the roof. Overall a GREAT hotel. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Casey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lvarney1, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Casey J,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving your comments in Trip Advisor. I think this will steer many more guests to stay with us. We do strive for cleanliness and customer service. Thank you for recognizing that! I will inform John of what you wrote. He just received a promotion and, I am sure, you understand why. Come on back and ask for an arch view room on a higher floor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    469
    139
    30
    11
See reviews for
574
439
62
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Did not meet expectations. Quality not there for the price. Beds not most comfortable and quality of linens very poor. Was there in winter and expected to relax in pool but temperature too cold to enjoy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie K, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor. I am deeply sorry you did not find your bed or the linens to be comfortable. I am also sorry that the pool temperature was uncomfortable for you. We keep our pool at 85 degrees, and our engineering department is diligent in checking the temperature daily. However, I understand that 85 degrees could feel quite cool in the winter time!
We strive daily to insure our guests are 100% satisfied, and as you can see from our other reviews posted here that quite often we are successful. I would love the opportunity to discuss your stay with us in further detail. At your convenience, please contact me at the number or email listed below.

Sincerely,
Julie Korte
Assistant General Manager
korte@raymondteam.com
314-621-7900
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynne, AR, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The hotel and staff are AWESOME!!! The beds are heavenly!!! The location is perfect for St. Louis Arch go-ers..... within walking distance and even has an arch view from the room. Very pretty! Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was my first visit to St Louis, and what a wonderful welcome I got from the staff at this hotel. Nothing was too much trouble, and I was pointed towards all the major sights. It was easy to walk towards the Metro (note - the easiest station is Convention), Laclede's Landing, the courthouse, and of course the arch, for touristing and food/drink opportunities. Indeed, following up Washington Ave from the hotel leads to some excellent food/drink locations.

The room was basic but functional, as was the bathroom - much as you would expect from a Hampton Inn. Breakfast very basic but acceptable. As long as you know what you're getting from a Hampton Inn, this is a fine choice for Downtown St Louis.

Main complaint would be the noise - this hotel is right next to the I-70 and the traffic noise is constant and annoying. I always travel with earplugs so this was not a big issue (it's not horrendous noise) but worth bearing in mind.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unspecified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
430 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,680 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Very comfortable hotel well situated within walking distance of the Convention Center Metrolink station. The staff is joyful and laid back, willing to go the extra mile to make you feel relaxed and “served”. We noticed this the moment we arrived when we were each given gummi bears AND bottles of water as a welcome gift. The hotel upgraded us to a high floor room facing the arch, and the view was pretty dramatic.

Beds were comfortable, although these weren't the plush, adjustable mattresses used widely by Hilton Garden Inn. Our first night wasn't a grand success because we were stuck with feather pillows (is there anyone in this world who actually thinks they’re good for sleeping?), but housekeeping quickly replaced them with foam pillows upon request.

Ours was a connecting room, and the party on the other side of the door included of a few girls participating in the national high school girls’ volleyball tournament that had invaded St. Louis. We could hear them chit-chatting and laughing, but fortunately the official hotel quiet hours of 10 PM to 7 AM (also a nice touch) were observed. The TV worked fine, the windows were clean, our adjustable electric heater kept us at the optimum temperature, and the bathroom was fully functioning. Shower and bath were of the retrofit variety, but at least the shower head was high enough to accommodate someone taller than a weasel.

Complimentary breakfast was surprisingly good. There were scrambled eggs with bacon and potatoes, oatmeal with cinnamon and nuts, yogurt, coffee, pastries, hard boiled eggs, choice of juice, waffles we made by scratch, and – most impressive – freshly cut fruit every morning. We had blueberries, grapefruit, pineapple, and papaya.

The business center had some technical difficulties with its printer, so the staff allowed me to print behind the main counter. Later that night, I applied my decades of technical prowess to help resolve the situation for future hotel guests, so that issue is now moot.

Anything I wish they would fix? Yes, indeed. The elevator beep! It sounded like a sick cow being prodded by rabid hamster. A hotel of this caliber shouldn't subject its guests to such audible punishment.

Other than that, this seems to be a well-managed hotel that’s fundamentally sound, within walking distance of the arch, public transportation, and restaurants, committed to providing value to its clientele, no questions asked.

Room Tip: The points/dollar combo package was pretty attractive from an ROI perspective.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherry_Wonderdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

All the staff in the reception was extremely nice and helpful. The location is within walking distance to the Arch. I got a room on 15th floor with a view of the Arch and Mississippi River.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to downtown St. Louis.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Even though this property is downtown, it is very quiet. views are great. Rooms are clean, spacious, and smell clean and fresh. There were resturants and stores right in front of the hotel. And the bar on property was perfect. Everything we wanted to do in St. Louis was within walking distance to the hotel. However we did not because it was snowing and raining, the location is perfect. easy access to interstate and to attractions

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 120 in Saint Louis
771 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Property: Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Address: 333 Washington Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63102-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern, award winning Hampton Inn hotel is located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, just one block from The Dome at America's Center (formerly Edward Jones Dome), one block from Laclede's Landing and three blocks from the historical Mississippi Riverfront. Our guests can enjoy a wide variety of restaurants, nightclubs, and historical sites all within walking distance. The famous St. Louis Gateway Arch and the new downtown casino are just steps away! Access to all major interstates is just blocks from our entrance. Busch Stadium, Home of the St. Louis Cardinals and Ball Park Village are only a short walk, or a quick trip on the Metro Link. The Metro link, St. Louis' light rail transit system is only 2 blocks away, allowing our guests a short ride to and from the airport, as well as all key destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown At The Gateway Arch Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing