We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, wonderful staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Ranked #12 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
IL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, wonderful staff, great location”
Reviewed April 30, 2008

Stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks during April.
The hotel rooms are pleasantly decorated, have good size and are very clean. The breakfast is always fresh and the menu changes every day on some hot items. The front desk are exteremely nice and helpful, and even moved me to a better room on second week without any request or complaint from my side.
The hotel's location is also convenient- it's 5 mins walking to the Arch and Laclede's landing area, and there are 2 metro stations also within 5-7 mins walking. For those who need to travel outside of St.Louis by car, the hotel is also located nearby some highway exits so it's pretty convenient as well.
The only thing that I would improve in this hotel is the lack of safe deposit boxes in the rooms. The guests can store valuable items in the front desk with no problem, but inroom safe would be much better.
I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ab2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    994
    469
    139
    30
    11
See reviews for
574
439
62
313
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Overall, a good stay. I am a big Hampton / Hilton fan.

Staff was extremely helpful and nice - great customer service skills. Clean room, great location, great beds, etc. Good hot breakfast (standard Hampton).

My only issue was that I got put in one of those rooms behind the elevator. While I couldn't hear the elevator, the bathroom was extremely small.

10 minute walk to the Arch - and great views of the Mississippi River.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank Wincherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2008

You can't lose with this hotel. Great staff, comfortable beds, convenient location w/ parking, and incredible views of the Arch. About a 10-minute walk to Busch Stadium.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank specialed98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Ks
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2008

My daughter and I stayed at the Hampton during the Missouri Valley conference tournament and we had a great time. We were in town just for a layover on the train and didn't even know the basketball was going on. There were a lot of young people in our hotel,but it was not a problem at all. The Hampton staff is the best I have every encountered and I have travelled a lot. They accommodated us in every way. The breakfast is wonderful, our room was clean and comfortable, and the pool and game area is very nice. We had a few drinks at the Irish Pub and it was good too. The location is perfect for walking to the entertainment area called LaClede's Landing and also to the trains. I had to stay for about 2 hours after my daughter caught her Amtrak train and wait for my train and the people at the front desk just treated me like a queen. I had already checked out hours earlier, but they held my bag while we shopped and then let me sit in their very nice lobby and watch tv and called me a cab. They even gave me the remote!! I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank grammy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2008

The Hampton Inn was a great stay. I have never stayed in a Hampton Inn. I had booked two other hotels before making the final decision based on the reviews. I do recommend renting a car if you are not driving to St. Louis. The desk people were very helpful with detailed, printed directions. The garage was being reconstructed with loud drilling noises by a jackhammer (stirring up a powerful migraine in my head and a frustrated husband). The desk clerk allowed us to relocate to another floor. The rooms are very clean. We left early one morning and greeted the maid on our way out into the hallway. When we returned, the room had not been cleaned. We were compensated (there were two more reports of this). What I am saying is we were taken care of immediately when a concern arised. The indoor heated pool/spa area is very nice with a view of the arch through the glass. Their is a fitness center and a game room. Breakfast (hot/cold) was delicious. We were right at the Interstate 64/40. We were also close to the Arch and closer to the Edward Jones Building (football). Parking was an easy in and out process for $10. Due to construction, we did not go further than the second floor. Overall, all parts of the hotel was clean, and the staff were great.

  • Liked — The comfortness of the room and soundproof from others
  • Disliked — The garage-arriving later at night to find parking due to construction
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank grape2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2007

Stayed here in mid Dec, very convenient location for a downtown hotel, Laclede's Landing (mainly restaurants) within walking distance. TIP: Plan ahead and ask for a room with a view of the arch, we stayed in room 1200 and had a great view.

Decent breakfast in the morning with a bit more than the typical "breakfast bar". Nice fireplace in the main lobby area.

Pool was a decent size with a nice view of the river and arch. Small game room for the kids open 24 hours and a small work out room.

Comfortable beds, Nintendo (extra cost) incl with tv, nice bathroom/showers.

We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank smetlogik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2007

We went into the city looking for a hotel just for a Saturday night. My boyfriend had stayed there the weekend before, and we decided last minute to go in and see if we could get a room. There happened to be a high school band competition that weekend across the street at the stadium, so the place was packed, but we were able to get a room, with a great view, for the night, at a still reasonable price. The room was beautiful and very clean. The continental breakfast was excellent and kept fully-stocked the entire morning that we came through, and otherwise we had no problems at all. On-site parking was also very convenient as we used the subway to get around town. Great stay!

  • Liked — We were able to book a room that very same night, and the room was great!
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Megbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 120 in Saint Louis
771 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Property: Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Address: 333 Washington Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63102-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern, award winning Hampton Inn hotel is located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, just one block from The Dome at America's Center (formerly Edward Jones Dome), one block from Laclede's Landing and three blocks from the historical Mississippi Riverfront. Our guests can enjoy a wide variety of restaurants, nightclubs, and historical sites all within walking distance. The famous St. Louis Gateway Arch and the new downtown casino are just steps away! Access to all major interstates is just blocks from our entrance. Busch Stadium, Home of the St. Louis Cardinals and Ball Park Village are only a short walk, or a quick trip on the Metro Link. The Metro link, St. Louis' light rail transit system is only 2 blocks away, allowing our guests a short ride to and from the airport, as well as all key destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown At The Gateway Arch Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing