We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay-Fantastic View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Ranked #12 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Stay-Fantastic View”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel in March 2012 when I was meeting a friend to attend an Oprah LifeClass taping.
Pros: great breakfast, fast, wireless internet connection, clean, large queen/queen room with AWESOME view of the Arch, short (ten minute) walk to the Arch, plentiful, covered parking.
Cons: The evening front desk staff was not very friendly but professional and the items in the gift/snack shop were pricey. (what would you do for a Klondike bar?...not pay $5 for one bar!)

Room Tip: ask for room 1400...awesome view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    483
    142
    33
    11
See reviews for
609
448
62
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Words can not describe this hotel. This will be my "go to" hotel anytime I'm in St. Louis. I've been in a lot of hotels before and even several Hampton Inn's, but this one is just beyond far and above the best!
Without telling about my entire experience...we had a great time during our stay in St. Louis. I took my mom there to celebrate my graduation. We arrived on a Sunday evening and were greeted by Portland...yes...like the city in Oregon. He is the most friendly manager we have ever met. He met ALL our needs with a smile on his face. When he found out it was my birthday, he gave me a card to take into the hotel bar for a free drink! The bar tender actually gave both my mom and I a free drink. The entire staff is nice, but Portland is just awesome!
The rooms are very clean, very comfortable, very spacious and nice.
The breakfast is awesome...they have eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy, oatmeal with toppings, fruit, cereal, bagels, muffins, pastries, juices, coffee, tea and more! You can eat downstairs in the very very modern, comfortable lobby area, or bring the food up to your room.
If you forget something...Portland will handle it for you...and if he's not around, any staff member is fully equipt to handle any situation you throw at them. The staff here is friendly and very accomodating. There is a pool, hot tub, game room and fitness center that overlook the arch, on the fifth floor.
So, are you asking yourself if this is too good to be true?? It's not!
Staff? 5 stars
Hotel? 5 stars
Portland? 10 starts
Convenience (next to 2 metrolink stops) 5 stars.

Everything about this hotel is awesome. Please consider staying here on your next trip to St. Louis!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the less traffic noise. Get a room with a view of the arch for a spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Great location in walking distance from the arch, free parking, comfortable, reasonable price.
Not 5 because thet could care more about recycling. Corridors are full with nice ads, but they over-change everything each day (soap!), etc.

Room Tip: Ask for an Arch-side room. The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hancock, michigan
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hampton! Every single staff member was very friendly yet professional. We were given a free upgrade to an Arch view room without even asking! The room was very clean and had all the updated amenities, I.e. flat screen tv, one cup coffee maker, etc. the location was excellent! A short walk to shops and restaurants and a very pretty walk through the park to the Arch. Great Irish Pub connected to the hotel as well. Very good breakfast selection was available from 6am to 10 am. The food was still fresh when we made it down for breakfast at 930am.
I would definitely recommend this downtown hotel!!

Room Tip: Join Hilton Honors for free and many times you will be given a complimentary room upgrade when you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suomilainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis metro
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Expected the "usual" Hampton Inn, and was pleasantly surprised by the very friendly/helpful staff as well as updated property. Front desk staff was extremely welcoming, and gave me some free tokens for my boys to use in the small game room. Fifth floor pool's view can't be beat! When group of teens started playing a bit roughly in the pool, a security rep came on the scene and things quieted quickly. Even had some pool toys available. Room was clean other than chip bag stashed under the bed (who DOES that??), bath was very clean. Room 800 had arch view that came with highway noise, but leaving air conditioner fan on covered it up. Attached pub Tigin was good. Breakfast exceeded expectations with plenty of choices & lots of seating. Staff handed out carnations to the moms for Mother's Day which was a nice touch. Checkout was quick & again very friendly. Great location for walking to many attractions. Recommended for sure!

Room Tip: Having the view of the arch & grounds is great, but be aware it will come at the price of highwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StLmetroMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

This hotel was wonderful, the staff was nice. The bar/restaurant at the base was absolutely amazing.....had great foood, i highly recommend the wings and the wedges and cheese......fantastic. Walking distance from the landing and the casino! Will be returning here! MY ONLY COMPLAINT: on the last night of the stay the parking deck and outside parking was completely full....i had to circle and wait for people to leave to be able to park.

Room Tip: try to land a archway view.....its very pretty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busabob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Wow - what a great hotel. Have never met such a happy bunch of front desk staff. Rooms great, comfortable and clean.
If you haven't been to St Louis - it is a must. Don't miss out on Busch Stadium - home of the Cardinals, Arch and and old courthouse
Great memories to take home to Australia.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeisaMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Property: Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Address: 333 Washington Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63102-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern, award winning Hampton Inn hotel is located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, just one block from The Dome at America's Center (formerly Edward Jones Dome), one block from Laclede's Landing and three blocks from the historical Mississippi Riverfront. Our guests can enjoy a wide variety of restaurants, nightclubs, and historical sites all within walking distance. The famous St. Louis Gateway Arch and the new downtown casino are just steps away! Access to all major interstates is just blocks from our entrance. Busch Stadium, Home of the St. Louis Cardinals and Ball Park Village are only a short walk, or a quick trip on the Metro Link. The Metro link, St. Louis' light rail transit system is only 2 blocks away, allowing our guests a short ride to and from the airport, as well as all key destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown At The Gateway Arch Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing