We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent downtown hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Ranked #12 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent downtown hotel!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed here on our road trip to see the Gateway Arch in St Louis. We were so happy with the location of this hotel. Although the area around the hotel was quiet at night, it was short walking distance to the Arch and to the restaurants in Laclede's Landing. We parked our car in the hotel for $12 and walked everywhere. No driving and parking hassle! Lobby was modern and beautifully decorated with plenty of seating area. Room was very clean and comfortable with free wifi and continental breakfast. Most lasting impression was the large and cosy breakfast room. Highly recommended and will definitely stay again! See my room tip below.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2trav3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    969
    457
    137
    29
    11
See reviews for
562
426
61
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southaven, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is the best location for commuting in St. Louis, Missouri! I am a previous resident of Saint Louis, Missouri. I resided in the Central West End District, just behind the St. Louis Cathedral, which isn't far from the Washington Ave. Hampton. It's at the downtown district; accessible to the interstate(s) I - 55 No. & So..I - 44, *(which takes you to Six Flags; Busch Stadium; the Gateway Arch; Laclede's Landing; the City Center; Saint Louis University; the Central West End. It is also minutes from Forest Park...which has (2) 18 - hole golf courses; the *Hill ( Famous Italian Restaurants); the Galleria Mall; and the beautiful Clayton District. As to my Fave Hampton Inn, no other place even comes to mind. The hotel provides a safe spacious entrance, handicap accessibility, great parking, and a friendly professional staff. This staff " is a well-polished Team. They exemplify total attention to detail! That's vital to me. This staff remembers your name, and
your special preferences that make your stay enjoyable. I highly recommend this hotel and it is my only choice when I visit the great city of Saint Louis. The rates are quite reasonable, the rooms are immaculate, and the service is second to none. Give the Hampton Inn Downtown a try and you'll be glad you did. Yours, Dr. Salaam

Room Tip: I always enjoy the Washington Ave. view! I always try to stay on the second or third floor, away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HealthAdvocate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This hotel is located Downtown St. Louis, 3 blocks north of the Gateway Arch and 2 blocks south of the Downtown Casino. It is 5 blocks north of the new Bush Stadium which is home of the St Louis Cardinals. It is also right across the street from the Edward Jones Dome which is the Home of the St. Louis Rams football team. The hotel is very clean and has a Restaurant and Bar attached to the lobby. I really enjoyed the Free Hot breakfast which is located in the lower level of the hotel. Hampton includes a free breakfast with every room every morning, This is a great savings for people that travel with families.

The rooms are nice size and very clean. Every room has a desk, Flat Screen TV and a lounge chair. The bathroom is also a nice size and has an array of hair and soap products in the shower. The king size bed was very comfortable.

If you are looking for a very nice hotel at a reasonable price, this hotel is just what you are looking for.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveldoctor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglass, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The plaster on the ceiling of our room was cracked, loose, and peeling, ready to fall off in several places. The beds were too hard, not the typical Hampton Inn mattresses we are accustomed to. The cold water in the room was lukewarm and never got any colder. The hot breakfast was non-existent-----the only breakfast available was a brown paper bag containing a granola bar, small muffin, apple, bottle of water, and a mint.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outrageous75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mancini77, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the feedback and we apologize for the inconvenience. It would be very helpful if you could contact us with what room you stayed in. We very rarely get complaints regarding our beds and would like to be able to look into the water and ceiling issues you mentioned; we aren't aware of any such issues in our rooms. As far as the breakfast is concerned, we have a full hot buffet breakfast in our lower lobby every day from 6am-10am. The breakfast bags you mentioned are for guests that come down before or after breakfast hours or simply don't have time to sit down for breakfast. Our hotel has a different layout than most Hampton Inns since we are downtown; the breakfast is in the lower lobby instead of the lobby. This information is given to every guest at check-in, is listed in the in-room information binder, and there are signs throughout the hotel public space directing guests to breakfast. We hope for the opportunity to speak with you regarding your stay and once again appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnold, Missouri
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I'm a St. Louis native who has been assigned in England for a few years now. I had to come back to town on business and since a lot was going on in the city I could not get any of the full-fledged Hiltons in downtown. However, I did way better with this Hampton than I imagined I would. From the start, this place reeked of professionalism. Early check in, upgraded room for HHonors Gold, and a good Irish pub that I wish I had known about when I was living in STL. You can walk to the casinos, Laclede's Landing, Edward Jones Dome and above all, Busch Stadium, with no problems. It is in the middle of all the best restaurants and bars. If I ever have to go back to my native STL, this hotel will be my hotel of choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Yank83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed for a conference at the convention center. the location is great, as it is only 4 blocks walk to the convention center.
The room was a decent size, the beds were very comfortable. Room had a coffee maker and fridge but no safe. The bathroom was a decent size and had a nice shower.
Breakfast was standard Hampton Inn buffet - rotating hot menu each day, waffle makers, bagels, rolls, cereals, yogurt, etc. along with milk, orange juice, apple juice, coffee, hot chocolate mix, and tea.
There was a larger than normal selection of snacks and items for sale adjacent to the front desk.
The pool is small, but sufficient, but the hot tub was not working during our entire 5 day stay.
We only had an appetizer platter at the attached Irish Pub, but it was good, and there was a good beer selection.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickH86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivar MO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

When booking this hotel, we were looking for somewhere to sleep between a ball game and a driver home. It suited us for this trip.

I loved that we could see the river and the highway - which sounds silly - however traffic can entertain children under 6 for a long time! Great breakfast and the hotel was very helpful when we needed pizza at 1 am!

There was only staff member that was not very friendly, and he was the one checking us in. There was a lady, named Crystal that was extremly helpful when we were checking out. We look forward to staying again!

Room Tip: Shell out the extra money for the larger rooms, it is worth it if traveling with kids!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliquotFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#8 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch

Property: Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Address: 333 Washington Avenue, Saint Louis, MO 63102-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#9 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern, award winning Hampton Inn hotel is located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, just one block from The Dome at America's Center (formerly Edward Jones Dome), one block from Laclede's Landing and three blocks from the historical Mississippi Riverfront. Our guests can enjoy a wide variety of restaurants, nightclubs, and historical sites all within walking distance. The famous St. Louis Gateway Arch and the new downtown casino are just steps away! Access to all major interstates is just blocks from our entrance. Busch Stadium, Home of the St. Louis Cardinals and Ball Park Village are only a short walk, or a quick trip on the Metro Link. The Metro link, St. Louis' light rail transit system is only 2 blocks away, allowing our guests a short ride to and from the airport, as well as all key destinations in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown At The Gateway Arch Hotel Saint Louis
Hampton Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing