We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveler rating
37
23
7
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
37
23
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safari room mississippi room themed rooms next morning gas fireplace events going great room cardinals game clark noise cereal balcony key louis st brewery lodging
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 70 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2018

The decor is so far over the top that it's cute, the rooms are immaculate, the food is EXCELLENT, and the staff is friendly and professional. As someone else mentioned, though it's right off the highway, it looks and feels (and sounds!) as if you're tucked in the woods. We had a luncheon there and it was just perfect - great food, beautiful view, and flexible staff (we had to make a last minute change in numbers and they didn't bat an eye). All this and reasonably priced!

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, General Manager at Lodge at Grant's Trail by Orlando's, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Thank You so much for your kind words! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to having you back. Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2018

After a long, hot day at the Cardinals game (we were there during the extreme heat in early July), it was nice to arrive here to an air conditioned room. They had it turned up high, which is what we like, it was very lovely and cold!

We booked the safari room and it was beautiful decorated in theme, every little detail was thought of.

Their hours for check-in are very limited, however working with them to check-in later was easy and when we arrived everything was very simple and we had no issues with accessing the Lodge and getting the key to our room.

The entire place is very quaint, no detail over looked. It's just like being in a hunting lodge.

Breakfast is full, more than just your usual continental, and different every day.

Easy to get to, about 10-15 minutes from downtown, and literally just off the highway, although you'd never know it. You are back in the bushes, and we did see deer wandering around. It's quiet, we never heard the highway at all, and our room looked out of the highway.

No events when we were there, but we also stayed during the week. It was quiet, we never heard anyone else, and only saw others at breakfast.

We had a genuinely lovely experience and will recommend to anyone who is heading to Saint Louis. If we are ever back in Saint Louis we'd stay here again.

Room tip: Safari room seems to be a in a quiet corner!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PamelaMM1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, General Manager at Lodge at Grant's Trail by Orlando's, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank You so much for your kind words! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2018 via mobile

I was looking for a place near my in-laws and found this gem that’s tucked by the highway, but gives you a sense of being in the woods. Our stay was very brief because we had a family emergency that made us leave early but the Mississippi room was pleasant and the breakfast was varied.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank aamaris13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, General Manager at Lodge at Grant's Trail by Orlando's, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2018

Thank You so much for the kind review! We appreciate any feedback we can get. I am terribly sorry your stay was shortened. We hope everything is ok. Hopefully we will see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2018

The Lodge is a quirky B&B type hotel designed to look like a large log cabin, with themed rooms and a Great Room (complete with with an antler chandelier and a gigantic moose head) that serves as the breakfast room as well as a spot for the many large events that they hold. We stayed in the Alaska Room, with a canopy bed frame made of branches and tree trunks, pelts and snowshoes on the walls, and a balcony with a view of the large lawn in back, where we spotted various critters like a groundhog and rabbits as well as a family of deer. The Lodge is just off a busy freeway but you'd never know it, and adjacent to an entrance to Grant's Trail, a paved walking path that is probably more fun when it's not 95 degrees and 70% humidity (just a typical summer day in St. Louis). The A/C worked great, thank goodness. Only about 10 minutes from downtown. Good B&B style breakfasts (Pumpkin Bread French Toast, eggs anyway you like them, fruit), friendly staff. We got a peek inside the Safari Room, which looked interesting, as did the Mississippi Room.

Room tip: The rooms in back have a balcony and view of the yard, but the balcony is accessible from outside as well.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, General Manager at Lodge at Grant's Trail by Orlando's, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2018

Thank You so much for the review! We appreciate any feedback we can get! We look forward to having you again in the future! Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2018

We booked the Washington room which was nice. The tub was great and the size of the room was perfect. The bed was super comfortable. The only suggestion for the room would be to have a closet to hang your clothes. Also there is no where in the bathroom to hang anything. The only downside to our stay was the event going on downstairs. The center hall is open all the way to the third floor and it was very very loud even in our room. We had to turn up the tv loud just to drown it out. We finally left our room at 10:00 just to escape the noise. We couldn't use the ice, soda, or outside sitting area down stairs because of the event either. The party left around 11 so we were able to get to sleep. The breakfast was great the next day. We would consider staying here again but I will call to make sure there are no events going on while we are there.

Room tip: if you want quite call before making a reservation to make sure no events are going on
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abcdesmsm10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa C, General Manager at Lodge at Grant's Trail by Orlando's, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2018

I want to Thank You so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We do appreciate any feedback we receive! Our Lodge does hold private events just about every Friday and Saturday evening. We do understand that it can get very loud, depending on the group having the event. We do send out a confirmation email that makes mention of this. We would love for you to stay again. Give me a call and we can coordinate an evening where there is not an event, or maybe at least an early ending one. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews