We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch
Ranked #9 of 124 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2006

We just stayed at the Drury for a friend's wedding. The location could not be better -- we could see the Arch from our room. The room was large, comfortable, clean, and quiet. The hotel is very large and very busy, but the staff seemed nice and accommodating. The indoor pool and hot tubs were very nice -- my daughter played and met new friends every morning. The breakfast in the morning is excellent, but as other patrons noted, the lines can get long at times. We were never around for the free happy hour, but there are free soft drinks and popcorn all afternoon and evening. We also had to park about a block away, but I didn't find it particularly inconvenient. The additional charge for parking was about $10/day. Our room had a small refrigerator and microwave, which was very convenient.

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank HKlimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,816)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,723 - 1,729 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2006

We were in town a few days early to get in some sightseeing before a family wedding and picked the Drury Plaza based on the reviews here. We were not disappointed. We had a easy walk to both the Cardinals game and the Gateway Arch and even took Metrolink from the airport upon our arrival. Unfortunately, St. Louis was experiencing an intense heat wave, so toting luggage three long city blocks when it was 102 degrees was a little challenging. The indoor pool is very nice and was thoroughly enjoyed by our 7-year old. The pool towels were always well stocked. We had a problem with our air conditioner the first evening and the hotel had two maintenance technicians up to our room within minutes and they were able to fix the problem right away. The breakfast area was extremely crowded due to a convention, however, the staff was diligent at trying to restock items and clean up tables. I've never been a big fan of the Drury breakfast menus, however, the price is right so I can't complain. I only wish there had been half-and-half or cream to put into coffee instead of 2% milk. Comments regarding nearby restaurants are right on - we returned from Six Flags around 10:00 p.m. and had expected to be able to grab some Chinese or Thai food for dinner. It seems as if the few restaurants nearby lock the doors at 10:00 p.m. or earlier. Fortunately, Carmine's ,which is attached to the Drury, was still open but we ended up waiting a lot longer and spending more that we had anticipated. Families with kids should know that the City Museum, a fantastic place, will send a free shuttle to pick you up at the hotel and also take you back at the top of every hour.

Stayed: July 2006
1  Thank FFXVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2006

Great location - walking distance to the arch, river and Busch stadium. The staff is EXTREMELY friendly and knowledgable. The hotel is lovely and the rooms are clean and well appointed. The evening snacks/drinks and the morning breakfast were very nice. Pancakes for breakfast! The staff allowed us to stay in the parking lot a couple of extra hours after checkout so we could bike nearby without having to find a new place to park. I recommend this hotel. Our kids liked it also.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brownsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2006

I rate this hotel excellent mainly because of the friendly staff. They have obviously spared no expense on training their staff on how to treat folks. We stayed during a very busy time (4th of July) and everyone on the staff, from the front desk to housekeeping, to the people who ran the great breakfast were very nice people.
The location is great, the rooms were perfectly adequate, and everything was clean.
What more can you ask for, for just over $100 for a room in downtown STL during high season? Okay, they do need new pillows... :-) Have fun!

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huttpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2006

Stayed in a king suite with 2 parents and 3 kids, and it was great.

Lots of freebies: free soft drinks & popcorn in lobby. Nice free hot breakfast. Nice pool with 2 hot tubs indoor.

Walked into room, and there was the bathroom on your right, then a table (built in). Behind the table was a wet bar, with small fridge and microwave. There was a pull-out double bed and one TV armoire.

Up 5-6 stairs to a king bed with another TV armoire/dresser and closet. There was a closing door at the top of the stairs, so the two TVs could be on and not interfere. Not sure I ever heard anything from other rooms.

You cannot stay much closer to the arch, and it was a reasonable walk to the convention center (8-10 blocks).

Downtown St. Louis needs to get some fast food restaurants that stay open on weekends, but the Max & Erma's was in the hotel, so that made it okay, but sometimes would have liked faster/cheaper for the kids.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank stevestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Morton, IL
25
Reviewed June 27, 2006

Our family spent a weekend at the Drury. We got a wonderful view of the arch and a very nice room. Even the kids said it was one of the nicest rooms we ever stayed in. Pool was large and breakfast was adaquate. Parking was a little tight though. We are planning on returning again this year.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2006

The Plaza Hotel was really nice. It was located only a few blocks from the new Busch Stadium. Check-in was easy and painless. The room was smaller than most Drury rooms, but much nicer. I was suprised to see the bathroom was decorated in marble from floor to ceiling. The beds in Drury hotels always seem just right for me. Plus, the pillows are just the right size. The thing I like best about Drury hotels is they have the best selection of tv channels. More than your basic cable. After the game we came back for the comp manager's reception that included beer, wine and soft drinks. There was popcorn, nachos and salsa, and some other type of party mixes. Tried the pool out later that night. It was packed with families in town for the game. I found some room in one of the two hot tubs and enjoyed my view of the arch from the hot tub. The hot tub was just right! Breakfast was good too. I especially enjoy the biscuits and gravy at a Drury hotel. However, the lines for drinks and breakfast in the morning were extremely long.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brian_Schoppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch

Address: 2 South 4th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $128 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 4th Street between Market and Walnut in downtown St. Louis, three buildings on the National Register of Historic Places were carefully renovated to become the Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch: The International Fur Exchange Building, The Thomas Jefferson Building, and The American Zinc Building. Acquired in 1997, original building features were restored in public areas, like matching millwork, Italian marble, and Waterford crystal chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza Hotel St Louis
Drury Plaza Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing