We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch
Ranked #8 of 122 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend and our kids (9, 10, 11) March 20th through 23rd, 2014. We were there for a Spring Break trip, not realizing the NCAA second and third rounds of tourney play would be in St. Louis. This made the hotel PACKED!!! Despite this we had an enjoyable stay. The food included in your room is well worth the price of the room alone. A full hot breakfast (my son was disappointed that there was no bacon) filled us up so much, we only needed lunch one day. The happy hour from 5 to 7pm, included THREE beverages for the adults, unlimited soft drinks for the kids, and hot dogs, baked potatoes, pasta, salad, soup, chicken strips, and meatballs. Basically, another full hot meal as far as our kids were concerned. We adults were tired of this by the third night, and ordered some sushi - the kids were happy with the buffet each night. Needless to say, all the included food really helped keep our trip costs down.
Room was standard, nothing to brag about. I felt the bathroom area and counter space was small (similar to what I have experienced in New York or San Fransisco). The Drury is getting on the band wagon with the "amenity dispensers" in the showers. I applaud the effort at less waste, but the quality of toiletry products is very poor. Also, there was no vanity kit (shower cap) - I did miss this amenity. There was also a small fridge and microwave for drinks/snacks in the room. We did not find a need for this, as the quality of the buffets were so high. Our biggest complaint, NO SAFE! The sign in the parking garage says not to leave valuables in your car, even your trunk. It is not safe to walk about St. Louis carrying valuables, so with no safe, what are you to do?? Also, be aware that there is no bar in the lobby after the happy hour. There may be a bar available in one or both of the attached restaurants, we brought our own wine from home, so did not feel the need to go exploring much in look of a bar.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel for families with children or older couples. If you are looking for something hip, romantic, or very high end .... this is not the hotel for you.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank hldlovesthesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

911 - 917 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2014

The room was nicely decorated and staff was more than helpful. I was there with my son and his family. The price was very reasonable and with children the free food was great. The free drinks were great and were done well. The location was nice as we were able to walk to the Arch and downtown activities. As we were leaving house cleaning staff ran after me to state I had left something in the room. She noticed I had left clothing in a drawn. The only negitive was the number of children running around. This hotel attracts families because of the location and free food.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank pamgarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Free food was great and had free beer/mixed drinks during happy hour as well. Pool and hot tub area looked great.

Enjoyed no bellboys guarding the luggage carts (which there were plenty of) for tip money.

We stayed in the little silver box attached to the side of the main building(s) and even had a special elevator. It was quiet in the halls there. But I have determined corner suites = too many windows when staying downtown. So loud all night. Pregnant wife who was there on business wound up sleeping on the couch to find a little quieter place.

Will upload a pic I took of how close the street was while laying in bed.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank LatitudeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This was by far the best hotel experience my family has had in years!! Making reservations was simple. We planned on going to the arch, City Museum, and the brewery. We picked this hotel due to the location to the arch--right across the street. At check in, the staff was super friendly and helpful and we were in our rooms and ready to explore within minutes after arrival. The best part of this hotel's experience was their food!! Starting in the afternoon, they have freshly popped popcorn and sodas for the family. Then at 5:30, they begin service their "Kick Back" which is a hot bar of finger foods (hotdogs, baked potatoes, chicken fingers, nachos, veggies, pastas with meatballs--depending on the day). For breakfast, they had everything you could desire--eggs, sausage, hash browns, biscuits and gravy, and fresh fruit to name a few. Bottom line. . . amenities are well worth the price of the hotel. Service and location are the extras!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 449mincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a quick, one-night visit to St. Louis. This hotel was really great and in a perfect location within walking distance to the Gateway Arch. The lobby is really nice and has a huge breakfast/bar/snack area. The Drury does an afternoon snack (more like a meal) reception with 3 free (alcoholic) drinks. This was a really nice feature and a nice way to do happy hour before heading out for dinner. The breakfast buffet was good too with a good variety of hot and cold items. There's free wi-fi too, but you do have to pay $16/day for parking (not surprising since the hotel is downtown). The Drury's slogan is "the extras aren't extra" and they really follow through with that. Our room was really nice with a super comfortable bed. We were close to the elevators and there were a ton of families with kids staying for a dance competition, but it was still nice and quiet on our hall. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful and recommended a great restaurant nearby called Bailey's Range (farm-to-fork burgers, fries, and ice cream with a fantastic atmosphere). We really enjoyed our stay here and wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderlust817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed here for the MVC tourney and it was wonderful. The breakfast was great, good selections and hot food. The evening food was good as well. Free soft drinks all day along with popcorn.

The staff treated us exceptionally. The vending machine did not give us a bottled water so their staff brought not just 1 but 2 bottles of water to our room.

Now that is service!!

Room Tip: Great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Visitors to the Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch will need to struggle with a sense that Something Is Awry in Travel Land. After all, we're so used to being charged for every amenity, to surly service, to nonexistent pools and exorbitant parking fees. The Drury Plaza, then, will come as something of a shock.

It is inevitable that you will be disturbed by the veritable cornucopia of free (really) stuff that's included in the reasonable fee you'll pay for your room. Your head will reel as you are fed a full and tasty hot breakfast, afternoon snacks and soda, happy hour beverages, and dinner FOR FREE. Wi-Fi? Free. Business center? Free. 80+ cable tv channels? Free.

Shake off your worries, though. This clean, comfortable hotel is simply a textbook lesson in choosing the right customer service battles to fight. We, value conscious travelers (many of us with children), are the winners.

The Drury Plaza Hotel at the Arch is immaculate and very well run. It features a lovely pool and two commodious hot tubs, uniformly outstanding staff, and the perfect location for enjoying all St. Louis has to offer.

Now, the Four Seasons it ain't. The suites are small. There is no valet parking, room service, bar or restaurant. Ironically, these deficits represent the chain's genius.
*Your room key grants you access to a guests-only parking garage where you can come and go as you please. Adios, valet.
*Each room comes equipped with a microwave and a serviceable mini-fridge. The "Pantry" (a.k.a. the in-house mini-mart) has an excellent selection of microwaveable meals, should you happen to miss the free breakfast and/or dinner food. Adios, room service.
*There are two independent restaurants attached but not run by the property. Both are relatively decent, and you will pay normal restaurant prices rather than freakishly inflated hotel restaurant prices to eat there. Adios, in-house overpriced middling restaurant/bar.

Cannot imagine a better, more relaxing place to stay, particularly if you are traveling with kids. We love this place and have already booked our next stay.

Room Tip: Although 952 is on the partial smoking floor, both the bedroom and the living dining area of the sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AppleNell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 122 in Saint Louis
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch

Address: 2 South 4th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $138 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 4th Street between Market and Walnut in downtown St. Louis, three buildings on the National Register of Historic Places were carefully renovated to become the Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch: The International Fur Exchange Building, The Thomas Jefferson Building, and The American Zinc Building. Acquired in 1997, original building features were restored in public areas, like matching millwork, Italian marble, and Waterford crystal chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza Hotel St Louis
Drury Plaza Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing