We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch
Ranked #10 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Montana City, Montana
Level Contributor
225 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Great stay downtown”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We called here last minute after being too disappointed to stay at the Hilton At the ballpark. We saw our overpriced, tiny dates room there and decided it was no way worth the price.
We were very happy with our decision,this saved us $30.00 and we were much happier with our room.
This hotel is in a great downtown location with a very convenient parking garage.

Upon arrival we were immediately greeted by Loyd who was efficient, friendly, and gave us a very nice room with a view of the Old Courthouse and city.

The room was very large, clean and well appointed. The carpets are beginning to show some wear, but not dirty looking.It was nice room on a high floor that had a long narrow hall of its own.It had very large windows which made it light and even more spacious feeling.

We went down to the evening reception which is a great plus for families or those who do not want to go out to dinner, however we found little we wanted to eat as it is more like fast or frozen food and not that appetising. They did have salad and veggies for dipping which were very fresh and well prepared. They do serve drinks and Kimberly the bar tender was very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast the next morning was good and well stocked with 4-5 hot items.

I requested a late check out on our day of departure and Jody in reception was very gracious and accommodating.
This hotel is by no means luxury, but if you are looking for great service, good accommodations, and good value in downtown, I highly recommended it. It have stayed in several downtown hotels including Hilton and Hyatt and for the value, service , and comfort I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for Arch or city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akmoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    463
    88
    28
    13
See reviews for
688
415
67
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on Thanksgiving. Hotel staff was great, very friendly and accommodating. Did enjoy the free evening drinks and free breakfast. Felt though that this hotel was geared more towards families with younger children. Free evening food from 5:30 to 7:00 consisted of chicken fingers, hot dogs and macaroni and cheese.

Rooms were a bit dated; was a bit weirded out by the fully tiled walls in the bathroom and soap/shampoo dispensers in the shower. Found a few hairs on my pillows and sheets as well. Carpet had some stains and furniture had some wear and tear. Exercise room could use a facelift as well.

Excellent location though; right across from the Arch and Old Courthouse. And easily accessible to downtown bars, restaurants and the casino.

For one night, it was alright, but I may try another property again if I'm in the area.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ktown_traveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2013

The breakfast was really good. The rooms were clean. Location was right next to the arch. Pool was always packed but it was a holiday weekend so that was expected. Staff was always friendly. The restaurant in the hotel was also very good and our waitress was really friendly. Couldn't ask for a better hotel for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachael p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the drury plaza hotel was great! :) the staff was terrific and our room was very nice also. It was easy to walk just about anywhere. The only time we drove was when we went to the zoo! Loved saving some gas :) also, I really appreciated how secure the building was... you needed your room key to get in to almost all of the doors. Made me feel safe!! I would definitely recommend going to this hotel!!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
120 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were in St Louis visiting a college and on recomendation of the school, we stayed downtown at the Drury Plaza. It worked out fine. The location was great; the hotel was plenty good and we were glad we came.

The hotel is located downtown on Market Street, across the street from the Old Courthouse and the iconic Gateway Arch. From the airport, it's about a 20 minute on I-70, exiting at Memorial drive; from there it's only 4 blocks. For us, it was an easy drive.

Our room was normal: two double beds, shower/bath room separated by a door from the mirror/sink, flatscreen TV, free WIFI and a beautiful view of the Gateway Arch. The room was nicely up to date, as if it had been re-modeled sometime over the last few years. The hotel fact says this building used to be a hat factory.

We were really pleased with the breakfast service. At least half of the lobby area was nicely laided out into a breakfast buffet area. There was a good selection of hot and cold food, all included in our room rate. For a local touch, the hotel had a really nice statue display of Louis and Clark in the lobby.

For $16/night, the hotel has it's own parking garage. We parked ourselves; it worked out fine, but the parking area was pretty tight and narrow. It wasn't full; it worked out fine.

We walked over to the Arch, saw the Mississippi and got some nice pictures of the city scape. That evening a friendly soccer match between Argentina and Bosnia and Herzegovina was scheduled -- we saw some fans, enthusiastically dressed up for the match.

On our downtown walk we also saw the national brand name hotels; I guess our school could have recommended them; instead they recommended a more local place. Staying here was just fine.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra to get a view of the Arch. I recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkozik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We were very impressed with the staff at check in and every time we asked them for guidance. They were always informative and helpful. The kick-back goodies were great, when we needed a quick snack before the hockey game. One night we made it our dinner, as we were to tired to go much further. The rooms are clean and well appointed. Location is great, right there are the arch and the downtown transportation took us to the City, Museum, City garden, Hockey arena, Union station all for $2.00 a day.

Room Tip: We were in a end unit, and never had noise from above or below us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelchic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The location of this property cannot be beat. Add to that the "5pm kickback", popcorn/soda fountains, and great breakfast and you've got yourself a great hotel. The parking garage can be a little trick to maneuver, but overall it was no big deal. Be aware that some rooms do not have outside windows (instead the windows open up into a hallway).

Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms do not have outside windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#8 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch
Address: 2 South 4th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 4th Street between Market and Walnut in downtown St. Louis, three buildings on the National Register of Historic Places were carefully renovated to become the Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch: The International Fur Exchange Building, The Thomas Jefferson Building, and The American Zinc Building. Acquired in 1997, original building features were restored in public areas, like matching millwork, Italian marble, and Waterford crystal chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza Hotel St Louis
Drury Plaza Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing