We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice but nothing special” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch
Ranked #10 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice but nothing special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at a lot of Drury's, this one is nothing special but for the price it is great. I wish they would figure out how to better manage the lines for food and drink but it is "free". Pool and work out rooms are nice. No bar or resturant on site.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasTumbleWeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for completing a review on TripAdvisor! It is from input from our guests that we have the opportunity to review, evaluate & improve our product and services.

We want to always exceed our guests' expectation. I am so sorry that we did not succeed during your stay in providing that experience. During any stay, please contact our guest services agent immediately upon encountering any situation that does not meet your expectation. We are always trying new ways to display and serve our free hot QUIKSTART breakfast and free 5:30 Kickback evening reception. We want to correct situations as they arise, while our guests are present, so that may go away with a positive and memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    421
    75
    23
    11
See reviews for
627
370
62
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I have absolutely nothing but praises to sing for this hotel. The service was outstanding, each employee we talked to was incredibly helpful and friendly (introducing themselves, saying hello, etc.). The room was lovely (we hadn't paid for a view, but had a lovely one). There was a lot of space in the room and the bed was incredibly comfortable. The pool area was set up very nicely and they have two hot-tubs. Their breakfast had a great variety (biscuits and gravy, eggs, pancakes, sausages, pastries, fruit, etc). We did not check-in in time for the appetizers and drinks in the evening, but they do have complementary popcorn and soda in the lobby most of the afternoon and evening. The lobby is decorated exquisitely. I would definitely stay again and again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Randomly picked this place since it was near the arch. We arrived to a really friendly staff who immediately informed us that we were entitled to complementary happy hour drinks, food, and breakfast...

Room was clean and comfy.. Free internet too..

Nice deal!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank neodem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Spent two nights in STL for the Braggin Rights basketball Game. I had no idea how nice this hotel was. I have stayed at Four Season hotels and Ritz-Charlton hotels and the service rivals both. No wait to check in although the hotel was full. Smiles on everyone's faces. The lobby was rustic feeling and very clean. We stayed in room 1040 and had a full arch view and a view of Busch stadium. The room was very clean and service was very fast for a replacement when the hairdryer quit on my wife. In a few minutes we had another. I didn't find any problems with parking and smaller SUV's had no problem. Front desk called a shuttle to the casino for us. Very quiet rooms at night. Breakfast was loaded with everything from pancakes to fruit. The kickback at 5:30 could easily fill you up with pasta and more. Try this hotel.

Room Tip: Request higher floor rooms. Possible corner rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank searayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Looking for value for your money - get it here and much more. Starting with exceptional service, comfort, amenities, location, access and meals you are well taken care of, from sunrise to sunset. Meals include a full hot breakfast, with popcorn as snacks and a full dinner with drinks!

Room Tip: Request for a view of the Arch from the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chula Vista, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This was the 1st Drury Hotel my family & I ever stayed @. We we're travelling cross country, & stopped in St. Louis, MO. to tour the 'Arch'. We sprang for a room w/ a view of the 'Arch'. This was in Oct. 2009. Now that I am travelling across country again, I am remembering the wonderful breakfast offered @ the St. Louis Drury at the Arch. We are currently on day two of our 2nd trip across country. This time we are limited to pet-friendly hotels. Tonight (Day 2) we are staying in another Drury (Nashville, TN) & we are looking forward to tomorrow's breakfast. Last night we stayed in different pet-friendly hotel chain & the breakfast left much to be desired. After last nights stay in the other chain, I cancelled my Albuquerque reservation that I had with their hotel & made a reservation with the Drury in Albuquerque, NM instead. For Pet Friendly, great value for the money, and an AWESOME hot, complete breakfast, 'Drury' can be beat! Tomorrow is day '3' of our cross country journey, we'll be stopping in Arkansas. I didn't see any Drury's in that state, ... bummer. The Drury Hotel chain is my hotel of choice when I am looking for nice accommodations @ reasonable prices, that are pet-friendly, and a offer a complete hot breakfast, that won't leave me disappointed. Keep up the great work Drury! & Good Job Drury @ the Arch, you gave me & my family a wonderful 1st impression of what the Drury Chain has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IRockwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was the best hotel I have stayed in over countless trips to the US. The location is perfect. Half a block from the Gateway Arch. Across the road from the city square and the length of its new city centre. Within a couple of blocks from the Stadium and downtown.
Check in was very easy and the fellow was very professional. We had a car and it was extra for parking which was fine by us, by Australian standards the room was very cheap anyway. I think it was $16 a night for parking, but when you are there you dont need to drive to see the arch.
Very large hotel, you go up the lifts and exit them into a shared internal balcony space where the internal rooms back onto a little inside patio bit. We had an external room with view over the city which was great. Room was beautifully appointed, no complaints.
What was the selling point for us was the foyer and extras you get with Drury Suites. On check in it was explained that they have a cocktail hour that serve light refreshments as well as you get a card that gives you 4 free alcoholic drinks each. We went out for dinner thinking light refreshments wouldnt be enough for us. When we came back intime for cocktails it was like walking onto another planet. The opulent foyer was FULL. About 200 guests of all styles were there, some older patrons who dress up like it was the Opera. Families, young groups of college kids, couples there were all sorts. The refreshments were a big buffet of different foods. Enough to cater for everyone and good quality. The soft drinks, tea and coffee were free. After our big meal we couldnt even do our 4 drinks. It is a big social event each night, everyone is social and friendly, the staff are always there and helpful. They even had a popcorn cart there for the kids(and adults to take back to their room).
We left the cocktail hour and walked through the lobby and saw their little shop and inside that were a couple of computers with printers. So you could use the internet on their physical computers and print for Free, excellent.
Breakfast was also included which surpassed their nighttime refreshments. HUGE buffet, hot and cold, it was a bigger spread than a lot of so called fancy restaurants. Check out was easy too.
Can not say enough about this hotel, was really great.

Room Tip: Take an outside street view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#17 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch
Address: 2 South 4th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 4th Street between Market and Walnut in downtown St. Louis, three buildings on the National Register of Historic Places were carefully renovated to become the Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch: The International Fur Exchange Building, The Thomas Jefferson Building, and The American Zinc Building. Acquired in 1997, original building features were restored in public areas, like matching millwork, Italian marble, and Waterford crystal chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Drury Hotels Company, LLC so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza Hotel St Louis
Drury Plaza Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing