We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent workers, clean hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch
Ranked #12 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
la belle, mo
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent workers, clean hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had booked at the Millenium in downwtown but were not happy with the size of the rooms. So we rebooked for this hotel. It was exactly what we were looking for. The workers were very accommodating!! We were able to upgrade our room to a 2-room suite. The food isn't great but it is free. My kids loved the breakfast and we had chicken strips, potatoes, veggies, and lots more for supper. The arrangement of the service area was easy to navigate and we didn't have to wait in lines. The workers were excellent. They helped us move table to accommodate our larger group. They were super friendly about helping us and putting our plates away. I recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilesLaBelle_Mo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,037
    434
    79
    25
    12
See reviews for
648
386
65
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St.Louis region
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

There was a HUGE event in St. Louis that weekend, the hotel was packed, but the service didn't miss a beat! Even at the evening "happy hour" extra provisions were made so that no one had to wait long for a drink or hot appetizer.

Drury's have always impressed us, but on this ocassion they really went above and beyond.

My wife and I stayed here for a bit of a romantic evening in downtown St. Louis. It is nicely located in the heart of downtown, which in some cities means congestion, but in St. Louis is really no problem.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a view of the river and/or the arch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j2362482b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linn, Missouri
Level Contributor
336 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is centrally located downtown. Rooms are clean. Eating area is large, pretty and clean. All staff I came into contact with were very friendly. Only complaint would be that the parking garage is not made for larger vehicles. Defintely would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfeaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon Lake, Texas
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed all week on business at the Hyatt Regency across the street, but moved to the Drury Inn for economy for a weekend event to celebrate my mom's 80th birthday. I booked three rooms for a great value.

This is definitely a family hotel with large crowds. The hospitality area can be a little overwelming during the free breakfast and happy hour. My mom's birthday just so happen to coincide with the Justin Bieber concert, so we were overrun with 8-10 year old girls and their mom's attending the concert, but it was still OK.

I liked the rooms at the Drury better than the Hyatt across the street at twice the price. Everything went very well at the hotel. Very friendly staff. The parking garage is a little tight, but its an old restored building, so they did the best they could with the numerous concrete pillars.

Located across the street from the arch and three blocks from Busch stadium and walking distance to the casino and many great restaurants. For the money, best location in St. Louis. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for an arch view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClarkJ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I must admit that I did not pay for the room (on business travel). This hotel is just fine. I certainly would NOT say that it is the nicest hotel in St. Louis.

Pros: It is in a great location and it is clean. It is quiet and the free perks (free snacks and breakfast) do help. The rates also do seem to be relatively on the cheap side, and the wi-fi is very fast.

Cons: Customer Service is iffy. I'm not sure if the front desk is understaffed but they just left alot to be desired. And, the entire hotel reminds me of my Grandma's house. Its just old and kind of dreary. The decor seems to be right out of the 1980s. And, the Lewis and Clark mosaic (while culturally significant) seems like it should be the centerpiece at a high school.

Besides some shaky customer service, there are no real cons. The hotel is just old and dated. Thus, I can't give it more than 3 stars, and in no way can this be a top 5 or 10 hotel in St. Louis.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BudHamilton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Drury Plaza Hotel - Downtown St. Louis on TripAdvisor! It is through input such as yours that we have the opportunity to review, evaluate and improve our processes and services.

We recognize that the historic aspect of our hotel may not suit those with a more spare or modern preference. Our décor is in the style, materials and colors of the grand hotels of the early twentieth century, which corresponds with the construction date in 1919 of the International Fur Exchange Building, one of the three in our complex listed on the National Register of Historic Buildings. The Lewis and Clark diorama installation, "Scenes of Visionary Enchantment," has been awarded special site status on the historic Lewis and Clark Trail by the National Parks Service. We're very proud of our connection to and the support of the history of St. Louis, the Mississippi and Missouri Rivers, and the westward expansion of North America.

We want to always exceed our guests' expectation. During any stay, please contact our guest services supervisor or manager on duty immediately upon encountering any situation that does not meet your expectation. We have managers in the hotel from 6:00 am until 8:00-10:00 pm daily, who would be glad to talk with you and respond to any concerns. While we do not expect our guests to do our jobs, we do appreciate a head's up and want to correct situations while our guests are present, so that may go away with a positive and memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at this property for one night while visiting for a girls weekend in STL. The hotel itself is in moments walking distance to the arch and conveniently located near many restaurants and stores in the archfront area. I have visited many times, but always opted to stay away from the busy, crowded average tourist hotels, but boy was I glad we took a chance on the Drury. After sitting in three hours of traffic due to what turned out to be a massive crowd entering the city for a Bieber concert, we were ready to get to our hotel and relax. They have a drop area where guests can check-in and unload luggage before going to park their vehicles at the lot located kiddy corner from the hotel. We were impressed by the nice decor of the lobby and greeted immediately by front desk staff. Check-in went in smooth and we headed up to our room on the 5th floor. The nice touch is that our rooms were connected and close but far enough from the elevator that noise was not an issue. When we entered our rooms, we were blown away by the size of the rooms, the cleanliness of both the room and bath and how nicely decorated it was. The only minor improvement relates to the towels, because guests never want to feel dirty and we had a bath mat and two towels with ragged ends and they should be discarded instead of recycled. We woke up and enjoyed the nice free breakfast offered to guests and what an amenity this is, especially for a family that may be traveling with several children or as a large group. The park lot attendant had a nasty attitude and he was clearly having a bad day at 7am, but I don't blame the hotel for this-rather stadium park garage. Overall, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and have already told several family members this is the new go to spot when visiting. Kudos!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladeep0110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Traveled there for the St Louis Rock N Roll Marathon. Location is wonderful. We were able to walk to the expo and the starting line. My family was able to see we off (running) and then go back for breakfast (that is free w/ the hotel) and then meet me back for the finish line. We went to Mass, which is literally right across the street, in the "old" cathedral. We also were right across the street from the ARCH. It was closer from our hotel than if we drove and parked. The hotel is nice and very clean. Not too much to say about the staff. There wasn't much dealing w/ them expect for check-in. When we did our 'booked" room wasn't ready so they said that we instead would give us a "Jacuzzi room" or something nicer. However when got to the room. It was just as week booked. So was disappointed in that. We had our hopes up but was let down. It did have an amazing view of the Arch though! This was our 2nd stay at this hotel due to the location and b/c of the free amenities. We did have to pay to park which was $18 for our one night (parking was in the building).

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the Arch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheria21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#16 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch
Address: 2 South 4th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 4th Street between Market and Walnut in downtown St. Louis, three buildings on the National Register of Historic Places were carefully renovated to become the Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch: The International Fur Exchange Building, The Thomas Jefferson Building, and The American Zinc Building. Acquired in 1997, original building features were restored in public areas, like matching millwork, Italian marble, and Waterford crystal chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza Hotel St Louis
Drury Plaza Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing