We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Closest Hotel to Gateway Arch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch
Ranked #10 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Spent 2 days at this very unique hotel. It is a converted office building from who knows when. It made for a very interesting stay. The lobby is huge with quite a few hanging chandeliars, a very large bubbling fountain and a sculpture of the Lewis and Clark Expedition.

Rooms seemed rather small but clean enough. I found the color schemes of burnt orange and brown on the carpets and bed spreads to be ugly, but that's just a personal preference. It just looked very early 70's in style. We had a room with 2 queen beds with a view of 1/2 the Gateway Arch. For a complete view of the Arch, you'll need to ask for a room furthest South on any floor facing East. Other rooms either faced towards the downtown skyline or were interior rooms looking down on little unaccessible patios and the hallways. It was fun walking around the floors due to the strange layout. The pool is located on a middle floor that you have to take several stairs to get up too. It was a very large pool with the standard hot tub. It was incredibly hot, humid and sticky in the pool area so unless you're swimming, it's almost impossible to just be in there.

Parking is in a covered garage attached to the hotel. You need a card key to get into the garage entrance which is located on the northern side street. Funny thing is that you have to drive opposite the one way street to get there. There is a narrow lane that is separated from the main street by a curb, but it is still a little disorienting at first. The garage is very tight and is more suitable for a compact car then a larger vehicle. We had a midsized SUV and it took awhile to locate a space that would hold us. Luggage carts were located on each parking level near the elevators so that helped with the loading and unloading of the vehicle. You will still need to use the card key to call up an elevator though. Actually, even in the lobby you need a card key to call an elevator.

Didn't try the free breakfast but did try the evening food. They did serve alot. They never asked for proof that you were staying at the hotel, so it seemed like anyone could just walk in off the street and get some chow. The food consisted of a nacho bar in one section of the lobby, a pop-corn cart in another, and the main buffet area. That area served mac & cheese, hot dogs and tons of fried chicken strips. You also got free sodas and a card for a limited amount of alcohol if you were interested. The chicken strips were actually of restaurant quality and very good. If you have kids (like me), this served as dinner for them one of our nights. There's also a very good (but pricey) steak restaurant attached to the hotel.

Location of hotel is perfect. It's right across the street from the Gateway Arch. Ask at the front desk for coupons. They have coupons for 1 free child Arch Tram ticket with every adult ticket purchased. It'll save you $5.00 a child. They also had coupons for other attractions but I didn't take any.

The only complaint I had with the hotel was with their little market. Again you need the card key to get into the market room and alot of the prices are not listed. My wife wanted to purchase several postcards and no price was listed. We asked the front desk and they told us 50 cents each. We brought a small stack out to the employee we spoke too and another employee came over and told him to charge us $1.00 each. Since neither employee knew the true cost of the cards, they should have charged us the lesser rate. I felt that was a failure in customer service but not enough to dampen our experience there.

Overall, if your goal is to see the Arch and other attractions downtown, this is a good hotel to use. Children will especially enjoy the free food and drinks.

Room Tip: If you want a view of the entire Arch, ask for the most southern room on any floor facing east.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redmonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,769)
There are newer reviews for Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,194 - 1,200 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a first stay for my husband and me at a Drury Hotel, but it won't be the last! We chose it for the close location to Busch Stadium and were thoroughly surprised at how nicely refurbished this old building is. The water fountain and lovely chandeliers in the lobby make a great place to relax, have complimentary breakfast, and their free food/drinks at 5:30 p.m.--as well as popcorn before then! The guest rooms are nothing fancy but more spacious than I expected, and I appreciate having a mini-frig and microwave.

There isn't a friendlier and more accommodating staff: throughout the hotel, all greet guests with a word or two and a smile--certainly making us feel welcome. After we checked in during a high traffic time only to discover we had been assigned an inside room and my husband felt claustrophic, Cody graciously moved us to an outside room--apologizing that he did not have another outside room higher than the third floor. It has a lovely view of The Arch!

Because of the outstanding customer service and the value, we joined Drury's Gold Key Club and hope to have many future visits at Drury Hotels during our travels!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45Sandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Beautiful lobby and very nice rooms. We had a view of the Gateway Arch, and in the evening, I happened to look out to see a full moon right beside it. Free food in the evening was great for a snack. I liked the security of using your room card to swipe getting from the parking to the elevators. Parking was $16.00 per day. A little steep I thought, but maybe that's the norm in that area. Hotel was a very easy walk to the Arch and Mississippi River.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chedanemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We recently spent two nights at this hotel. Our first impression was "WOW". The lobby is large and outstanding. The staff was extremely fast, efficient, and friendly. Once we checked in we went to our room and were pleased again. The room was large, extremely clean, and did not have that funny hotel odor. They offer free popcorn and soda during the day, and the best free breakfast we've ever had at a hotel. You actually get a hot breakfast here! This was our first stay at a Drury Hotel, but we will definitely look for them when we travel again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TANDJOHIO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Front desk reception was excellent and clearly well trained. Room Was comfortable but all soft surfaces just seemed grimy and soiled. I didnt want to sit anywhere. Hard surfaces were very clean. Room smelled strange. Pool was cloudy. Free food was what you would expect. Lots of families. I think the hotel just needs to be updated to improve the impression of uncleanliness and have that new smell.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbocs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I only have compliments for this hotel. They allowed us to park early before check in to avoid parking fees to see local sites. At check in they honored an online coupon reducing our 2nd night to $70. All staff was very friendly and helpful, we did not encounter one person who wasn't nice or willing to help in every way! Our room was clean and with 4 children we were allowed to stay in one room, not forced to get another room or pay extra fees. Great free breakfast, helped for a family on a budget. We could see the Arch from our room and only a few blocks from the stadium. We will definitely recommend to friends and stay again. Lastly, after arriving home, realized we left a few things, called, and within minutes housekeeping called to say our things were being shipped, no charge! Thank you Drury Inn!!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DHill_AHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

So glad we stayed here! This is a nice hotel in a great location and the staff has been very friendly and helpful. We walked to Busch Stadium, the arch and the old courthouse from the hotel. Also, there is free food (hot dogs, mac and cheese, baked potatoes and more), free soft drinks and 3 free "adult" beverages from 5:30-7:00 every night. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEBDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,475 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch

Address: 2 South 4th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1809
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
#5 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#6 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $149 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch 3*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On 4th Street between Market and Walnut in downtown St. Louis, three buildings on the National Register of Historic Places were carefully renovated to become the Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch: The International Fur Exchange Building, The Thomas Jefferson Building, and The American Zinc Building. Acquired in 1997, original building features were restored in public areas, like matching millwork, Italian marble, and Waterford crystal chandeliers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel St. Louis at the Arch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza Hotel St Louis
Drury Plaza Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing