We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reeked of Smoke”

Lumiere Place Casino
Ranked #56 of 253 things to do in Saint Louis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The lights dazzle. The sounds beckon. The tingle of anticipation is everywhere. With more than 1,700 slot machines, 60 table games and a dedicated 13-table poker room, there's something for every gaming enthusiast at Lumière Place. In fact, there are 75,000 square feet of gaming options - from classic games to the latest favorites - for you to enjoy practically 24 hours a day. And with the free Trop Advantage(R) players club program, playing your favorite games can translate to cash and rewards, good for room nights, meals, merchandise and more.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Reeked of Smoke”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Although the Lumiere Place Casino is a no smoking attraction, I walked in and said the place smelled like smoke. My husband agreed with me. The entire time we were there, we couldn't escape the smoky smell so we cut our visit short.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    68
    84
    47
    47
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“New years eve was a mismanaged nightmare.”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

They over booked to the point that reservations had a 3 hour wait. The new management is a joke and has no concept of how to run a casino. They have limited dinng choices and had 3 servers for the over flow solution. It took us 3 hours to get served. Do youraelf a favor and skip this nasty poorly managed under staffed sad excuse of a casino.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank topcat365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not so good anymore”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Getting unmaintained!

Closed one of the restaurants , very smokey and other smells in casino.
Limited food options and very poor beer selections. No IPA 'a this night.

Will try elsewhere! They sold and may take months for new owners to maintain and improve.

Gaming normal but roulette wheel monitors broken for months

All of them

Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a lot of fun and won a little at the slot machines. A little bit to smokey in the casino for us.



.

Helpful?
1 Thank ElizLv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
555 reviews
246 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 435 helpful votes
“Save Your Money...”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

My wife and I decided to try our luck at the Lumiere Casino again during our annual trip to St. Louis. There is free parking in the Lumiere parking garage, but you really have to watch when walking between your vehicle and the casino. Some of the cars almost seem to target pedestrians. The thing that really stuck out to me on this visit was how dirty the machines were and how bad the casino stunk from tobacco smoke. On many machines, I had to blow off all of the ashes that some careless smokers had left. The seats even had a film to them. One thing that is nice is that there are self-serve beverage stations with soda and coffee. For the size of the casino, there are few cash redemption machines to cash out a ticket.

My wife and I were not able to win at any of the slot machines that we played. We have played the same machines in many other casinos across the US, and those at the Lumiere seem to operate strangely. Additionally, the pay out when you hit something is less than other casinos. In general, I find the casinos in the St. Louis area to be pretty stingy. For the traveling visitor, we didn’t find any advantage to getting the player’s club card. At least the casinos in Oklahoma will give you $10 free play for walking in the door and getting a card.

One thing that I found disturbing was about a dozen children sitting on a ledge area, just outside of the casino, at 2 AM! There are several bad outcomes that are possible with this scenario, with the minimum being exposure to excessive tobacco smoke, to a worst case of child abduction. Regardless, shame on the Lumiere for allowing this to even take place!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AlphaRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lumiere Place Casino also viewed

 

Been to Lumiere Place Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing