We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“chips and salsa great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amigo Joe's

Amigo Joe's
Ranked #806 of 2,874 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
843 reviews
393 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“chips and salsa great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stopped in at this cute little restaurant on a rainy Saturday. The atmosphere is nice, the food better, and great chips and salsa.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rduinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
89 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“If nothing else”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Walked in on a weeknight to an empty restaurant. Stood at the "please wait to be seated" sign for quite a long time. Finally asked if we wanted a table, were sat, and ordered. The food came immediately, and was nothing special. Everything was drowned in. A bland red sauce.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank disappointed60958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Fried Chicken and Grilled Chicken Tacos!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Amigo Joes is an great little place with a awesome atmosphere. I will say that their service lacks but the food is very good. Their fried chicken which is hard for some people to wrap their mind around with this being a mexican restaurant is Amazing! The habanero has a spicy kick to it and is very good. The grilled chicken in the grilled chicken taco is marinated so perfectly such a great taste. I reccommend that you try the fried chicken atleast once. Rememeber dont expect great service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Khalifa89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good Mexican lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were craving carnitas and chose this place because of its location and it was on our AAdvantage dining program (extra points). We were promptly seated; a large basket of light and crispy chips and a small carafe of salsa arrived with our drinks. I had the carnitas plate and my husband had the chile verde plate, both with rice and choice of beans. Each of us was happy with the different preparations of the roasted pork - my husband's in a green sauce - and portion sizes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaraEOakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
2 reviews
“Horrible experience-will never go back”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had to wait forever for wait staff - finally had to get manager to ask for a waiter. She was not pleasant at all - slamming plates down, no "service," just taking order, slamming drinks down. Food came out about 40 minutes later! after we asked about it. Then one of the entrees did not come out with the rest, about 3 minutes later. It was miserable - will not go back there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigo Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Amigo Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing