We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good mid-range city hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
Ranked #68 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Reviewed March 5, 2009

I spent a couple of nights here decompressing in the middle of a long business trip. It's a mid-sized city hotel in downtown St Louis (and I picked it because I wanted to see what downtown St Louis was like... at the weekend, it's not much, to be honest - the "downtown rejuvenation" trend hasn't hit this city yet!). The hotel's well renovated and stylish. The staff are immensely helpful and friendly, and mostly efficient. There were some minor issues with requests that weren't filled (staff promised to get back to me to let me know if I could rent bicycles, but didn't; I had to ask twice to get a plug for the bathtub, but it never appeared), but on balance the staff were great, and very helpful in planning my weekend activities. They also have a hotel SUV and will drive you around if it's available.

The room was a modest size, and the bathroom small (appropriate for a mid-price city hotel) but comfortable. The bed was good, there was tea/coffee, and the internet worked well. Breakfast is in the attached restaurant and although the choices are limited, was of good quality. The restaurant, btw, is beautiful, fitted out in dark wood (it's called the Mahogany Room for good reason). There aren't too many dining options close by.

If leaving to or arriving from the airport, btw, the metro station one block away is a direct line to the international airport and takes 30 minutes. Otherwise, public transport was pretty hopeless, and I spent a lot on taxis (the mostly elderly black drivers couldn't understand my British English, and vice versa, so had a few frustrating moments!).

Overall, this hotel was civilized, good value for money and a high quality experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Hotel Majestic St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2009

We’re glad you chose us to be your decompression stop on your long business trip. We appreciate when people take time to write a review, especially our international guests. It sounds like a few of your requests were not met, and we do apologize. Our restaurant is a wonderful place to grab something to eat and it’s nice to hear you enjoyed the food. One of the reasons we offer the transportation with our SUV is that is can be difficult to get a cab downtown without calling for one in advance depending on the time of day. We’re glad to hear you were able to take advantage of the service. We hope you had a safe trip back to Singapore and look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (827)
There are newer reviews for The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 827 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2009

My husband, our goddaughter, and I stayed at the Omni overnight after going to St. Louis to see a Bears game. We drove in on Sunday morning expecting to go to the game first and then check in to the hotel immediately after. However, we got in to St. Louis at about 10 a.m. and thought I'd give it a shot and called to see if a room was ready. There wasn't one at the time but Mark suggested we call back in an hour and he'd see what he could get together. We went to breakfast and when we called back our room was ready. Randy set us up with a king room with a pull-out sofa so we and our goddaughter could each have our own space. The room was extremely clean and even with the bed pulled out of the couch the room still had ample walking room, etc. We weren't cramped in the least.

This sort of personal and timely attention was par for the course throughout our stay. Mark also gave us a ride to the front of the Edward Jones dome, navigating his way through the crowd spilling into the street, in the Omni's complimentary Lincoln Navigator courtesy shuttle. When we got back to the hotel another gentleman set us up with menus to some local restaurants. In the morning, we were provided with complimentary hot chocolate and a newspaper. Every question we asked, which were many, was handled above and beyond the call of duty. I wasn't treated any different because I booked through Hotwire vs. directly with the hotel (which has happened occassionally in the past).

Although it was just an overnight stay it was very relaxing. The Omni is walking distance or a very short ride from all of the major attractions and the expressway. Valet parking is provided but we didn't have any issues finding street parking. Some might think because The Omni is a "boutique" style hotel they may loose some perks--not a chance! The Omni is a first class hotel and I wouldn't hesitate in staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bracamontes1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Hotel Majestic St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2009

Mark and our entire staff do go above and beyond the call of duty on a regular basis and we are so glad you took the time to recognize them in your review. Thank you. We are also glad you enjoyed your accommodations. Please come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2008

My sister and I, along with our husbands, go out for a night on the town once a year around Christmas time. We decided to give St. Louis a try after seeing an AWESOME deal on travelzoo... $79.00 for a great room, breakfast (normally $8.00 pp), and free valet parking ($24.00.) Total steal! After asking Andrea at the front desk about a possible upgrade, she sent a staff member with keys to show us all of the suites... they were beautiful! (We got to see the suite that Al Capone and Aerosmith stayed!) When we were curious about places to go on a Sunday night, she was on the phone calling to see if they were open. Danny was equally as helpful and friendly, as he shuttled us around town from the Casino, to dinner, and back to the hotel again. It was so nice to not have to worry about knowing where to go, where to park, or who was going to be the designated driver for our one night a year out! Even housekeeping was cheerful as she welcomed us in the hallway. Breakfast was great... both hot and cold items... perfect!

As you will see from reading other comments, the Omni staff really care about service and keeping quality a priority. You will not be disapointed.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank csckjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Hotel Majestic St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2009

Creating memorable experiences for our guests is our highest priority. It’s great to hear that we achieved that standard during your stay. Thanks for staying with us and we hope you will choose to stay with us for your next big night out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Omni Majestic on Nov. 8, 2008. We had found a great deal on Travelzoo (www.travelzoo.com) for $89 per night including valet parking (usually $24/night) and breakfast. We found uniformly friendly staff, a large well appointed room, a very comfortable bed and bedding, and excellent quality toiletries. We had signed up for the Omni Select guest program so we received evening turndown service and complimentary juice, coffee and newspaper in the morning. Breakfast was very good quality and served in the hotel restaurant. We were very impressed with the quality received for the price paid and plan to stay at the Omni for future visits to St Louis

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moweaqua_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Hotel Majestic St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2009

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of the Omni Majestic Hotel. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in St. Louis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Thanks to all the great reviews on this site we took a chance and tried Hotwire's 4 star deal for $79. Only three choices and this was the one we got.. Everyone raved about the service and it is true. The staff met us at the door and they were there until we left on our second day. The hotel is top notch. We usually stay at Hampton Inn or Hilton properties and the extra touches go beyond the satisfactory service we come to expect. When we walked by the Hampton downtown, I was sure glad to go with the Omni. St.Louis in general was great even if my Brewers stole a 12 - 0 win from the home faithful.. People of St. Louls can be proud of yourself. People said hello on the street and many offered help. I will definitely recommend St. Louis and the Omni as a place to go.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MikeGreenBay_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Hotel Majestic St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2008

Thank you for taking the time to review the Omni Majestic Hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and in St. Louis. It’s a great town with a great baseball team, even when they take a loss from time to time. Please come visit us again next time you visit St. Louis. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2008

My husband, I, and my 22 month old son stayed at the Omni in late July 2008. We got a good rate using hotwire, when we checked in the staff noticed we had a child and switched our room from smoking to a non-smoking, which we found to be very thoughtful. when we walked into our room we were greeted with soft music and a great smelling, good looking room. We had a king size bed and had plenty of room to set up our son's pack and play. The bed was firm and the pillows were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was small but manageable and everything was very clean, we were also able to get wifi in our room.
The parking is very expensive at least in our terms. $24 for their valet parking. We parked across the street the first night (which was a Thursday) for $5. The second night we were there, a concert was being held near by and finding a parking spot was near impossible. So, we decided to use their valet service. When we parked in the hotel parking lot, one the staff nearly came charging at us wanting to know why we were parking in THEIR lot. when we explained we were guests there, she said "you are?" as if it was inconceivable, I didn't know if I wanted to laugh or get mad, but we got it sorted out and we used their valet service that night, which they never even moved the car they just left in the parking lot where we had parked it. When waiting for the elevator, I heard the staff member tell another person of the staff how awful she felt for treating us the way she did. I wish she would have said this to our face. It really put a bitter taste in our mouth for the place, even though everything else was good. One should never belittle their guests. There was never an apology, but neither did we make a big deal of it , it had been a long day and I just wanted a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Harmony620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Hotel Majestic St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2008

We appreciate your review of the Omni Majestic Hotel. We understand your concern about the parking situation at the hotel. Many nights, usually weekdays, it is very easy to find parking downtown. However, we have a contract with the adjacent parking lot that guarantees spots for our guests. While the price is more expensive than parking yourself and it is in the same lot, it does guarantee you a parking space for your car close to the hotel during busy times. You could not be more right. One should never belittle a guest and we apologize for the way you were treated by one particular staff member. We hope you will stay with us again when your travels bring you back to St. Louis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

My husband and I just got back from St. Louis this past weekend. I can't say enough about what a fabulous hotel the Omni Majestic is. Not only are the rooms very nice and have great beds!!!!! They have an incredible turn down service that we haven't seen in years!!!!! What a nice surprise to get in late at night and have ice in the room, chocolates and the darken shades already drawn!!!!! LOVE IT!!!!! However, the ENTIRE staff from the front desk, bartenders to the valet were all very friendly and had wonderful customer service skills. Their attitude and smiles were very nice to come home to in the evening. WAY TO GO GUYS... you guys should start training other hotels around the world!! We hope to return again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TiffToFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Hotel Majestic St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2008

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you are interested in purchasing one of our beds for your home, please inquire at the front desk and they will be happy to assist you. Our little property in St. Louis is honored to hear you think we should start training hotels around the world. Until that happens, please come visit us again next year. We look forward to seeing you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
814 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,475 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
Marriott St. Louis Grand
Marriott St. Louis Grand
#29 of 121 in Saint Louis
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Majestic St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Majestic St. Louis

Address: 1019 Pine St, Saint Louis, MO 63101-2014 (Formerly Omni Majestic Hotel)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#21 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#38 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $106 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Majestic St. Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hotel Majestic St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Saint Louis
Omni Saint Louis
Saint Louis Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing