We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Omni”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
Ranked #76 of 122 Hotels in Saint Louis
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at the Omni for business. It was our first trip to St. Louis. The Omni is downtown St. Louis, within walking distance of all of the venues for the Cardinals, Rams, arch, convention center. I would give it a 3.5 stars. Has potential to be a 4-5 star hotel.

The Good:

1. Service. Really good customer service, always willing to help and respectful. We are really big on customer service, so having great customer service says a lot about a company.
2. Location. Downtown, within walking distance to venues, the arch, restaurants, etc.
3. Style. It is an old, historic hotel. Nice wood features, even with the quirks of being older.
4. Shuttle. There is a free shuttle for trips/stops around St. Louis downtown area. Handy to have. They do not provide a ride to the airport.
5. Breakfast buffet. Large selection, tasted good.
6. Room. Large and spacious, pretty quiet. Comfy bed, could make a fort with the amount of pillows on the bed.
7. An elevator that "dings" at every floor with a bell. Real old school, kinda neat

The bad:

1. Maintenance. As an older hotel, I expect the quirks from being an older hotel such as the water pressure, appointments that are historic, etc. The rooms were appointed nicely, but need to be kept up on. The grout in the bathroom was in need of repair. Caulking in the bathroom was in need of repair. The toilet ran the entire stay, clicking on to refill every 7-10 minutes or so. There was paint and wall paper peeling in the room and lobby. The A/C unit was old and loud, but worked.
2. Cleanliness. Hairs all over in the bathroom. On the floor, in the tub, on the walls and even lots on the ceiling. Not big on other persons hairs, yuck. Housekeeping cleaned the room, but it could definitely use a deep clean to get rid of dirt, lint, etc. along the corners, behind fixtures, etc. The whole room and bathroom needed a good cleaning.
3. Coffee maker hidden in television cabinet. Found it the day we were leaving. There is free coffee in the restaurant, so that was ok.
4. Television. Old flat screen CRT with limited channels and reception. Need to upgrade for sure.
5. Premium price. At $189 + tax/fees per night, I would expect 4-5 stars, even on peak weekend.

Overall, the hotel could be a 4-5 star, but needs fundamental cleaning and maintenance changes. Would stay again, but not at $189/night.

Room Tip: Ice is on the 3rd and 7th floors, in a separate room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_in_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Hotel Majestic St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the hotel. We're glad you enjoyed our level of customer service, location and amenities. However we do apologize for any plumbing issues you experienced. As far as cleanliness is concerned, we have a thorough housekeeping checklist and we're sorry that your room didn't meet our standards. In the event that this occurs, please let us know so we can have housekeeping sent to refresh your room. While we don't have free coffee in the restaurant, we welcome you to join our free Select Guest program which comes with complimentary morning coffee delivered to your room each morning. We hope you'll considering staying with us again on your next trip to St. Louis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

697 - 703 of 842 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

We stayed here when we traveled to St. Louis to watch the Cards - Cubs opening weekend series. The hotel is very easy walking distance to Busch Stadium although there is also a complimentary shuttle that will take you anywhere within a 5 mile radius of the hotel. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The room was very spacious, quiet and clean but it was obvious that this is an older property. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat36122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We stayed here mid March and it was truly a great stay. I called ahead several times before arriving and the staff always answered all of my questions in a very pleasant way and gave several tips about arriving. We took the MetroLink from the airport and walked 2 blocks to the hotel. This was very easy to do. We were greeted by several staff members and were shown to our room immediately. Lauren answered all of our questions upon arrival and offered the shuttle as soon as we came back down. She looked up places that we were interested in going to, which we greatly appreciated. Our room was very large with the bed and sitting area. The bed was most comfortable and the room very clean. Each time we came into the lobby area, we were greeted warmly and asked if there was anything that they could do to make our stay more comfortable. What a treat this was. We have not found this type of service in a long time! I can't omit the wonderful drivers that drove us around in the shuttle. They were most accomodating and always quick to pick us up or drop us off. The shuttle was a great added bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lshef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed at Omni for 5 nights on a business trip, convenient location to get to from the Airport using the Light Rail (MteroLink) short stroll from 8th and Pine even with bags is no problem. I had a conference at the Millennium and it was a 15 min walk down through town, nice not to stay in the same place the conference is in and feel the vibe of the city. The breakfast was nice, nothing special, the service was great. Room had wifi, good reception.

The only downside I has was the air condition (heating), it was quite cold outside 50F (10C) when I arrived. The room was also cold so I turned on the air con and set the thermostat to 80F (26C). During the night the room was not getting any warmer, if anything it was colder. I spoke to reception in the morning and they had someone look at it during that day (while I was at conference). Apparently the valve for hot water (to heat) was not turned on, it was the first cold weather of the season so only cold air was circulating. That said, once I did report the problem it was promptly fixed.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors, some even have views of the Gateway Arch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucanac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Hotel Majestic St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

We do apologize for the heat issue, but glad we were able to get it fixed quickly. We do have a good location to downtown and St. Louis is a very easy city to navigate on foot. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding at March and the service was outstanding. Everyone was really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. We were made to feel really welcome and at home.

Our room was large and very comfortable and clean. Although close to the lifts we didn't hear any noise.

The bar area was great and the barman friendly and knowledgeable.

We didn't have much opportunity to explore St Louis, but the hotel seemed in a good location for the key sights.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SC79_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

we travelled to st louis for a wedding and the service we recieved here was the best I have ever come across. From the minute we arrived the lady (Julie) couldn't do enough for us.She even bought us tea upto the room when we just commented we fancied a tea. She made a fuss of our son and always greated him by name. The barman was also fantastic, lots of local knowledge and recommendations (who knew there was wedding cake vodka!!) and our son definitely made a new friend in him! alot of the wedding guests stayed here and everybody loved it.
The location was great for sight seeing and the wedding venues (the reason it was chosen I guess) and we had a huge comfortable room full of old features. The Omni was definitely my favourite hotel of our overall 2 week USA trip

Room Tip: We had a corner room which was very light and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becboo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omni_Manager, Manager at The Hotel Majestic St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2012

We always appreciate guest reviews, especially from our international travelers. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay. It's a real honor to know we were your favorite hotel during your two week trip. If you're in St. Louis in the future we hope you'll stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed during a very busy time in St Louis and the hotel was packed. The employees, from the font desk to the valet to the late-night bartender were all wonderful! They were so kind and friendly and talkative. I came back to the front desk 4 hours after I had talked to the sweet girl the first time and she remembered my room number! The hotel is old, but well-kept and clean. I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeathersAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#12 of 122 in Saint Louis
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clayton Plaza Hotel
#3 of 5 in Clayton
985 reviews
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 122 in Saint Louis
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Majestic St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Majestic St. Louis

Address: 1019 Pine St, Saint Louis, MO 63101-2014 (Formerly Omni Majestic Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#21 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#22 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#38 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $100 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hotel Majestic St. Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hotel Majestic St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Saint Louis
Omni Saint Louis
Saint Louis Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing