We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view of the arch!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
Ranked #104 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Paducah, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Best view of the arch!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Downtown while I was in St. Louis for a family vacation that included the NCAA Basketball Tournament. We were in a Riverview suite and it was wonderful The very large living room had a large picture window that overlooked the arch and it had a balcony. The suite also had a kitchenette with a full refrigerator and microwave. The room was immaculately clean and the bed comfortable. I love that Crowne Plaza recognizes the importance of aroma therapy in getting a good night's sleep in an unfamiliar place. They included a kit with amazing cooling foot gel and calming lotion. After waling around all day the foot gel was a welcome treat Because of the crazy weather we did have some issues with the temperature in the room, but nothing big. The hotel was a little bit of a walk from the ScotTrade center but if you go up Market street you pass by CityGarden park which was a lovely place to stop and rest for a moment and has many lovely statues. If you can, book a Riverview suite and enjoy the view of the arch!

Room Tip: Our suite was 912 and the view was amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentucky_Kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
The entire team is thrilled to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and the service they provided you with during your recent stay. Our location can't be beat if you plan on visiting the sites of our great city. We are glad you were able to take advantage of it.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Samantha VanDeMark-Hotel Manager-Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    351
    327
    296
    375
See reviews for
438
377
61
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Blue Springs, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This was our first time in St. Louis. It was a family trip to the Demi Lovato concert & NCAA tournament. Check-In was Fast. Front Desk was friendly. In fact, all staff, maids, bellhops, bartender were great! Always smiling and making us feel like we never left KCMO. I was extremely pleased to find this hotel at an affordable price and was able to book it on short notice. Close to everything! Literally you just walk to the Arch, MX Movies, and Starbucks! Because of all the March Madness, we were right in the center of all the action. Had a great time! We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cgortt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to share your experiences at our hotel. The entire team was thrilled to hear you had such a memorable experience. We all look forward to your return trip.
Samantha VanDeMark
Hotel Manager-Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I stayed for 3days not ONCE did housekeeping come to my room I called three times to the front desk and the issue was never resolved.the heater was BROKEN the faucet was BROKEN....wth!?front desk staff and bar staff where friendly .would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keareyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with our property and team. I am sorry to hear we failed to provide you with comfortable accommodations.
I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your interactions with our team.
I hope you reconsider staying with us in the future as I know our team is capable of providing all of our guests with a memorable experience.
Samantha VanDeMark
Hotel Manager-Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This hotel is tired, very tired. The positives: friendly staff, comfortable beds, good shower, great view of the arch if you're lucky enough to get it (we got the parking garage). The negatives: slow elevators, very dated and worn out everything, ice machine didn't work, maids never cleaned our room the second day we were there, we always had to ask for enough towels, no extra blankets in room. We heard of several families whose heat stayed on all through the night. There really isn't any place to eat that we saw. If we have to go back to St. Louis again, we'll stay in the Hyatt across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the arch if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thornbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with our property and team. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your accommodations. The property itself is an older building, however, that should not have made you love our hotel any less.
I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your interactions with our team. They truly enjoy interacting with our guests.
We certainly hope you reconsider staying with us in the future.
Samantha VanDeMark
Hotel Manager-Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have upwards of 100+ bed bug bites on me after staying in room 1806. After they mixed up our reservation & gave us a smoking room (we reserved non-smoking), then the keys wouldn't work, we went downstairs 5x for new keys, they never worked, we gave up and passed out in bed. We woke up the next day LITTERED in bites. We immediately left, but it's too late. Our items are ruined, countless hours have been spent decontaminating & I look like I have boils on my face. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kelslew88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
I am terribly sorry to hear of your experience. Please contact the hotel directly to discuss.
Samantha VanDeMark, Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

We stayed at the Crown Plaza for a wedding. We were only in town for the weekend (Fri-Sun) and since I am an IGH member I have come to expect a certain level of quality in a IGH hotel. This hotel is very dated. My check in was speedy, however the button to my floor (28) did not work, so it took me much longer to get to my room than expected.

Rooms were warm-hot all weekend, we called the front desk and was told to adjust the dial, and this did not work. The view was fantastic. We could see the stadium and the arch in plain view. The room doors are right next to each other which is horrible if you want to sleep in the next day. The housekeeping staffer was ordering parts for her car while cleaning the room next door with the door open, YES! I heard every word. Additionally, the hall light illuminated the door frame the entire night. Outside of the view and free Wi-Fi, this felt like a dorm room instead of a hotel. We slept in until 10am, so I guess we missed getting our room cleaned because it was never cleaned. When we got back, it was so late we just called for towels since it made no sense to clean a room at 11pm. There is a vending machine on the floor, but no store for sundries. If you need snacks, pain meds, or anything else you have to leave the hotel and walk down to the store. We inquired about using the shuttle to go to the wedding venue, we encountered the most clueless person I have ever seen behind a hotel desk. The lady had no clue how the shuttle worked, hours of operation, where the shuttle operator was or anything else of value.

The parking is 10.00 per night which is not too bad. And the location is fantastic, directly across from the arch. Overall my experience was a 4 out of 10. If I have an option the next time I am in St. Louis, the Crown Plaza Downtown St. Louis will not be one of them.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RelaxingTraveler95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Please accept my apologies for the experiences you had with our team and property during your recent stay. We want every guest to love our hotel and I am so terribly sorry that you left feeling differently.
I have shared your comment with the management team so they can assure our future guests do not experience the same concerns.
I know our team is capable of providing our guests with a wonderful stay. I do hope you consider giving us a second chance.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed there March 11-13, 2014. The rooms are nice but slightly outdated. The customer service was excellent! The common areas, lobby and concierge areas were very nice. The restaurant on location had horrible service, but after I reported this to the concierge they immediately compensated us for the bad experience. From the front desk, to the maids, to the concierge staff everyone was GREAT. A special thank you to Michael and Antenta ( not sure of the spelling). Both were concierges and really made the experience very nice. The hotel also has a great view of the Gateway Arch and is within walking distance of great restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to recognize our team. We appreciate that you chose the Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown and look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
St. Louis City Center Hotel
St. Louis City Center Hotel
#90 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel

Property: City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
Address: 200 N 4th St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1902 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityplace St. Louis Downtown Hotel offers an unbeatable location Soaring above the Mississippi River the Gateway Arch is the hallmark image of St. Louis- a city known for a rich urban culture and home to some of the countrys largest private corporations. Situated in the heart of the city the City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel is the perfect gateway to all that the city has to offer. Elegant facilities and an ideal location make us the destination of choice for meetings and events in St. Louis. Our hotel is capable of hosting any size event from corporate conferences to wedding receptions. Additionally we are minutes from area companies like Anheuser-Busch ABB and Greensfelder. Adjacent to the Gateway Arch our downtown St. Louis hotel is surrounded by exciting attractions. Sports fans love being close to Busch Stadium and Edward Jones Dome. With numerous free attractions nearby including Anheuser-Busch Brewery tours St. Louis Zoo and Grants Farm St. Louis is a family-friendly city. Youll find the nightlife of Lacledes Landing Entertainment District just a few blocks away. The upscale amenities at our downtown St. Louis hotel ensure your trip is as carefree as possible. We have a sparkling rooftop pool with stunning city views a 24-hour Fitness Center and Union Grill Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Saint Louis
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing