We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
Ranked #103 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were very fortunate to get good accomodations for a very last minute trip The hotel was easy to locate and it is right across from the Gateway Arch. The hotel parking is underground and can be a bit confusing so locate the signage directing you to the Crowne so you don't find yourself parking too far away. The lobby is nice and there is a bar area but the hotel could use some updating. The rooms were clean and comfortable. We were upgraded and had a corner room with an amazing view of the arch. Although it was a bit chilly in February, we were able to walk to the ball park and do some sightseeing with ease.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are great for those looking for extra space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMO-today
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with our property and team. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to visit some of the local attractions.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    349
    325
    289
    355
See reviews for
422
371
61
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Crown Plaza over President’s Day weekend for a volleyball tournament. The hotel is part of the Manison House Center which includes two other similar buildings – the Manison House Apartments and Gentry’s Landing Apartments. These buildings were completed in 1966. Good news and bad news. First, the good news. Since it was a former apartment building with apartment rooms, Crown Plaza’s rooms are far bigger than a normal size hotel room. This is especially true if you get a corner room. Those are even bigger. Makes it great for a family to stay here and have lots of room. The bad news (which isn’t terrible) is that the rooms felt like they are still in the 1960s and 70s. They could use a good upgrade. The extra space was definitely more important than the unmodern look. The beds were comfortable. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave. We were on the 24th floor and faced north so we were facing the Mansion House Apartments. If you can, request a south facing room so you can see the Gateway Arch. The ice machine did not work on our floor. The hotel was very busy with volleyball families, but we never had to wait long for an elevator. Parking was below ground under the complex and it was a little confusing getting in and out. Our club had a breakfast in one of the meeting rooms each morning, but I don’t think breakfast is provided/included for all of the guests. There is a restaurant on site and a bar with a large sitting area in the lobby. I used the workout room and the machines were OK. (ellipticals, treadmills and bikes). The hotel’s location is fantastic. You are right across from The Gateway Arch. You are also within walking distance of the Edward Jones Dome, the convention center and Busch Stadium. We walked every day to volleyball games at the Dome and convention center. It’s about a 6 block walk. On the second day, housekeeping did not leave us towels and it took 3 phone calls to get towels to our room which was annoying. The staff was very friendly though. When you passed them in the hall, lobby or elevator, they always gave a warm greeting. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Request a corner room - much bigger! Also request a room facing south so you have a view of the Gat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank upnorthjohne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences at our property. The entire team was thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your accommodations. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2014

When we arrived, we were given a room number, we went to the 23rd floor, tried our room key and although the light turned green, it was obvious someone was in the room and had the manual lock on the door, so we gathered all of our luggage back up, had to go back to the lobby, wait in line and tell the guy about the room. He looked puzzeled, etc, and ended up giving us another room on the 22 floor, so pack up our luggage again and back up to the other floor. We also had to hunt the valet back down and change the room number on our ticket.

When room service cleaned our room on Saturday, 2/22/14 they didn't leave us any towels and never came back to drop any off. On Sunday 2/23/14, it happened again, clean room not towels. We had to hunt her down and ask, about 45 min - 1 hour later she knocked on our door with some.

Fortunately we had a room with a balcony so we could leave the door open as the room was extremely hot and there was no adjusting the old register (we tried). We had to leave the sliding glass door cracked open all weekend and the downtown noise made it difficult to rest.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Please accept my apologies for the issues you experienced with your guestroom during your recent stay at our property. The comfort of our guests is of the utmost importance and I am truly sorry that you found your guestroom too warm.
I do hope you consider giving our team a second chance by staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streator, Illinois
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

It's actually been several years since I stayed here. Was on a roadtrip with an uncle of mine, and stopped here overnight. It was a very nice stay, with good food and a good time at the bar. It had the quality and service I've come to expect from Holiday Inns. Having not stayed there for a few years, I cannot speak to its current state, but I had no problem with it when I was there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1roadwarrior10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown during your brief trip to St Louis. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parish, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is old and rundown. Everything but the sheets on the bed look dingy and outdated (thankfully the bed is clean and comfortable). This hotel is in serious need of renovation!! My room is disgustingly hot and turning down the antique heating system (that sounds like running water) is making zero change in the temperature of my room. I'm a platinum IHG member and I am disgusted! Stay somewhere else!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
On behalf of our team, please accept my apologies for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay.
There are times in which adjusting the temperature in an individual guestroom can be a challenge to our team due to the larger size of our guestrooms and the outside temperatures. Every effort should have been made to accommodate you with a room in which the temperature was suitable to your comfort. I am sorry our team failed to provide you with those options.
I do hope you reconsider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2014

A nice hotel in good location...but thats the end of anything positive. The front desk completely messed up our arrival for four rooms, one night. The front desk sent two of us to a room already occupied (did not apologize), did not bill accurately upon departure (billed the wrong cc on half of us), and did not know how to recommend us to get to airport. The GM, Samantha could not resolve the billing issue and failed to return 4 phone calls in our attempt to resolve the issue. 3 months later posted charges to the wrong credit cards, again! She still failed to return my calls in an attempt to resolve. Issue is still unresolved... We are now having to send each other checks in the mail because the hotel is not responsive and could not figure out who stayed in what room. I cannot recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arwalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
We are terribly sorry to hear that you are still experiencing issues with your billing from your stay. Please contact our Accounting Department and we would be happy to assist you in correcting this issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is an older hotel with a full renovation apparently due in the next year, and your expectations should befit this status. Parking structure was old but only $10./nite and convenient. Unlike other reviewers, it seemed pretty average for a city parking garage. We booked the room thru Priceline Name Your Own Price and got an exceptional deal. If you pay full price and have high expectations, you will not be happy. The room was fine, beds good, clean. Location is prime, right next to the Arch. Hotel staff was personable and helpful. They were clearly making an effort to please.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our property. We were all pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and the service our team provided you with during your stay. We hope you continue to choose the Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
St. Louis City Center Hotel
St. Louis City Center Hotel
#90 of 120 in Saint Louis
995 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel

Property: City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
Address: 200 N 4th St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1902 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityplace St. Louis Downtown Hotel offers an unbeatable location Soaring above the Mississippi River the Gateway Arch is the hallmark image of St. Louis- a city known for a rich urban culture and home to some of the countrys largest private corporations. Situated in the heart of the city the City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel is the perfect gateway to all that the city has to offer. Elegant facilities and an ideal location make us the destination of choice for meetings and events in St. Louis. Our hotel is capable of hosting any size event from corporate conferences to wedding receptions. Additionally we are minutes from area companies like Anheuser-Busch ABB and Greensfelder. Adjacent to the Gateway Arch our downtown St. Louis hotel is surrounded by exciting attractions. Sports fans love being close to Busch Stadium and Edward Jones Dome. With numerous free attractions nearby including Anheuser-Busch Brewery tours St. Louis Zoo and Grants Farm St. Louis is a family-friendly city. Youll find the nightlife of Lacledes Landing Entertainment District just a few blocks away. The upscale amenities at our downtown St. Louis hotel ensure your trip is as carefree as possible. We have a sparkling rooftop pool with stunning city views a 24-hour Fitness Center and Union Grill Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Saint Louis
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing