We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
Ranked #108 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is an old property, but it is nice and feels historic. Parking garage is very convenient. Breakfast was very good. Not sure how convenient to the Arch as I was there for business. I liked the old charm (yet modern) my room had.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank tj1551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent experiences at our property. The entire team was pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodations. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

971 - 977 of 1,639 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 days over Thanksgiving. After reading some of the reviews, I fully expected to get the worst room in the hotel as we had booked through a third party for a great rate. However, we were pleasantly surprised as I gave my wish list to the receptionist. We requested and received 2 beds, high floor with a view, fridge and microwave, and nonsmoking. She added a bonus of a large room with a sofa for our comfort. All staff were very friendly and accommodating. The view of the arch is outstanding - especially at night. Most importantly, the room was very quiet. That coupled with the comfortable beds made for a great night's sleep. The only complaint was the room temperature. It was stifling hot - but we were forewarned from other reviews and brought along a box fan for our comfort. For some reason you are not able to control the temperature in your room. Adjusting the knobs on the heater/AC did no good. Parking is $10 a night and I believe it is cheaper than the other hotels who also use it. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandbauburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy holiday schedule to share your experiences with our property and team. We were all thrilled to hear you enjoyed your accommodations.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed here for a 3-night business trip last week. Perhaps the expectations had been lowered by the many fairly negative reviews here, but I really didn't have any problem with the hotel. Virtually all of the furniture -- both in the lobby and bar and in the guest room -- is very old and threadbare -- except for the bed. The room was quite large with plenty of closet and storage space. Bathroom small, as reported, but functional. Wish there had been a little more counter space in there. Room included a minibar and mini-fridge and one of the largest ice buckets I've seen in hotel rooms.

The staff was friendly and helpful, and requested wake-up calls were spot on time. Couldn't really ask for more from this hotel, but got a bonus anyway. On Thursday night they host drinks and snacks in the concierge lounge on the 29th floor *at least through the end of 2013). This is complimentary, and it was very relaxing to gaze out at the Gateway Arch all lit up drinking wine before dinner that night. The room cost also included a continental breakfast up there on weekday mornings. This is not for all rates booked, but my rate included this very nice perk.

If you don't mind the older and worn furniture and want reasonable overnight prices in a very gook downtown location near the arch, the ballpark, and the convention center/football stadium complex, I do recommend this hotel. If not, stay across the stree at the Hyatt Regency and pay considerably more.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailawaytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with our property and team. We were all thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations while in St Louis. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza this past weekend for a convention and was not disappointed. The hotel is located in the heart of the city with breathtaking views of its most popular monument: The Arch! We had some pretty good views from our balcony and you definitely need to request a higher floor in order to admire its splendor. The hotel room itself was huge with all the little things you would want from a hotel room: Microwave, mini-fridge, hair-dryer, ironing board, etc. The hotel staff was very friendly and there is always a bunch of cabs located right outside the hotel. The cab fair from the airport to the hotel was $46 including a $6 tips for the driver. Definitely a great choice while staying inn st-Louis.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experiences at our property. Our team was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the hotel, it's location and team.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Travelled with a group for pro football weekend--must have overwhelmed staff--restaurant couldn't handle breakfast with long lines and no coffee in room (due to poor maid service) or any in lobby--they suggested I go to another hotel for a coffee shop--towels were not provided on 2d day tho soiled ones were taken away--all in all one of the worst hotels our group ever had and we always try to go first class--there are at least five other hotels equally close to stadium and we will not go back to this one

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UticaEdge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Please accept my sincerest apologies for failing to meet your expectations during your recent stay. I can assure you the issues you encountered during your stay are not typical of our property.
It is difficult, at times, to serve each guest quickly when many decide to visit our restaurant at the same time. I am sorry for your wait, but, am sure the team appreciated your patience.
I do hope you consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I were at your hotel last weekend (November 16th) for my 21st celebration of my 29th birthday. You pleasantly surprised me with Asti and chocolate covered strawberries. The view of the Arch was amazing and all of the other personal touches that your staff showed us was truly appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisybug29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you for allowing us to be a part of you birthday memories. We look forward to seeing you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stay here every year during the Missouri Valley Men's basketball tournament. We started when our team stayed here and have continued even though the teams move around the hotels in St. Louis. While the hotel is a little older, the rooms are spacious, they are clean, and the staff friendly and helpful. We have stayed at least ten years in a row and have no complaints.

Room Tip: We stay in the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

Thank you for continuing to be a guest at the Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown. We look forward to seeing you in the years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#10 of 121 in Saint Louis
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel

Address: 200 N 4th St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1902 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range: $99 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityplace St. Louis Downtown Hotel offers an unbeatable location Soaring above the Mississippi River the Gateway Arch is the hallmark image of St. Louis- a city known for a rich urban culture and home to some of the countrys largest private corporations. Situated in the heart of the city the City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel is the perfect gateway to all that the city has to offer. Elegant facilities and an ideal location make us the destination of choice for meetings and events in St. Louis. Our hotel is capable of hosting any size event from corporate conferences to wedding receptions. Additionally we are minutes from area companies like Anheuser-Busch ABB and Greensfelder. Adjacent to the Gateway Arch our downtown St. Louis hotel is surrounded by exciting attractions. Sports fans love being close to Busch Stadium and Edward Jones Dome. With numerous free attractions nearby including Anheuser-Busch Brewery tours St. Louis Zoo and Grants Farm St. Louis is a family-friendly city. Youll find the nightlife of Lacledes Landing Entertainment District just a few blocks away. The upscale amenities at our downtown St. Louis hotel ensure your trip is as carefree as possible. We have a sparkling rooftop pool with stunning city views a 24-hour Fitness Center and Union Grill Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Saint Louis
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing