We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THANKS SO MUCH !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
Ranked #104 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Cape Coral, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THANKS SO MUCH !!!!”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

My husband and I were at your hotel last weekend (November 16th) for my 21st celebration of my 29th birthday. You pleasantly surprised me with Asti and chocolate covered strawberries. The view of the Arch was amazing and all of the other personal touches that your staff showed us was truly appreciated.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisybug29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for allowing us to be a part of you birthday memories. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    351
    327
    296
    375
See reviews for
438
377
61
303
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stay here every year during the Missouri Valley Men's basketball tournament. We started when our team stayed here and have continued even though the teams move around the hotels in St. Louis. While the hotel is a little older, the rooms are spacious, they are clean, and the staff friendly and helpful. We have stayed at least ten years in a row and have no complaints.

Room Tip: We stay in the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Thank you for continuing to be a guest at the Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown. We look forward to seeing you in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I wanted to write a review for this property as it seems like it has been 'ripped' by many visitors in the past. Not that those travelers were embellishing the negatives but based upon my experience, they're unique. I had a very good experience. The hotel lobby is top shelf. The rooms are decent and the service from the staff was superb. It's a great location in downtown STL and pretty affordable, compared to many other downtown properties. If you're in the neighborhood, give them a try. They're not as bad as I was lead to believe by many of the other reviews.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeyLeggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences at our property. The entire team was thrilled to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the service they provided you with during your stay.
We look forward to seeing you on your return trip to St Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days in early November. I have stayed here before and not much has changed. It seems as if the beds are newer than when I last stayed here. The beds were way too hard for me.

I rooms are very large and spacious. Bathrooms tend to be small. The rooms were comfortable and clean although the air temperature was a bit difficult to regulate. You can open the windows here which help.

I had room service and it was great. If you request anything, the desk will follow up with a phone call to make sure that you got what you needed.

I ate breakfast buffet at the hotel. The food was okay but fairly limited. Scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, potatoes, biscuits, and gravy along with assorted fruit, cereal, yogurt, and milk. It would have been nice to have an omlet station too - especially paying $12.95 for it. It was a bit pricy for what you got.

I would recommend this place. Its not marble/leather like you get in neighboring hotels, its more of a fabric and wood flavor. The furniture in the lobby needs to be updated. its old and looking its age. The rooms are pretty nice - and for that reason I would recommend.

Its close to 8th and Pine train station so its just a few dollars to the hotel from the airport. Skip the taxi if you want to save $$

Room Tip: Go high up. This is almost 30 stories...less noise from street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sopransfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment in great detail about your recent stay at our property. I am glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the service our team provided you with.
We have many upgrades to our property planned for the upcoming year. I do hope you are able to return to see them first hand.
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, New York
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel was located right in front of the Arch and we had a perfect view of it from our room. We couldn't have asked for a better view. We were able to walk to Busch Stadium which was nice but if you didn't leave with a group of people, it got a bit scary at night. The reason for the 3 out of 5 rating is because the parking garage is rather old and tight to get around and because the oldness of the hotel. Although the rooms were spacious, the bathroom was less desirable. The lobby area was very nice and the Fitness Room had a lot of machines but the rooms and the parking garage lacked newness but the view made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baseballstadiums2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to comment about your experiences at our property. We were all pleased to hear you enjoyed our location, fitness center and the public areas of the hotel.
We have plans for many upgrades in the upcoming year and hope you choose to see them first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel is in a great location right in the middle of downtown and it boasts great views of the arch. However, the beds are not comfortable at all. They are in serious need of replacement. Also the AC/Heating units are very outdated. I could not control the temperature in my room at all. Other than those two items it's a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to face the arch or a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to St Louis. I am glad to hear you found our location to be suitable to your needs.
I am truly sorry that you did not have a good night's sleep. We want all of our guests to have a good, comfortable night's sleep.
We do hope to see you again on your next visit to our city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolono, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne PLaza again in October and I wanted to add some pictures.

We have stayed here before. It is about 5 blocks from Bush Stadium, a couple blocks to the Landing and a few blocks to the Arch. The only downside it the parking garage is very old and hard to get around in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kreeves2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences at our property. It is nice to hear that you continue to choose our hotel when staying in downtown St Louis.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
St. Louis City Center Hotel
St. Louis City Center Hotel
#90 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel

Property: City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
Address: 200 N 4th St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1902 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityplace St. Louis Downtown Hotel offers an unbeatable location Soaring above the Mississippi River the Gateway Arch is the hallmark image of St. Louis- a city known for a rich urban culture and home to some of the countrys largest private corporations. Situated in the heart of the city the City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel is the perfect gateway to all that the city has to offer. Elegant facilities and an ideal location make us the destination of choice for meetings and events in St. Louis. Our hotel is capable of hosting any size event from corporate conferences to wedding receptions. Additionally we are minutes from area companies like Anheuser-Busch ABB and Greensfelder. Adjacent to the Gateway Arch our downtown St. Louis hotel is surrounded by exciting attractions. Sports fans love being close to Busch Stadium and Edward Jones Dome. With numerous free attractions nearby including Anheuser-Busch Brewery tours St. Louis Zoo and Grants Farm St. Louis is a family-friendly city. Youll find the nightlife of Lacledes Landing Entertainment District just a few blocks away. The upscale amenities at our downtown St. Louis hotel ensure your trip is as carefree as possible. We have a sparkling rooftop pool with stunning city views a 24-hour Fitness Center and Union Grill Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Saint Louis
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing