We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly in need of updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
Ranked #103 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Badly in need of updating”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Good location if you want to be downtown but be aware that not much open at night or on weekends as it is business district. Hotel was residential apartments in previous life and hasn't been updated, just chopped into hotel rooms so room was big but carpet ripped at threshold to bathroom, plus dirty. Furniture worn and air conditioning never met the demands of the very hot days, despite a visit from a friendly and prompt engineer to try and adjust it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santacaterina2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Please accept my apologies for failing to meet your expectations during your recent trip to our property. We want each guest that stays with us to be able to enjoy and relax in clean, comfortable accommodations. I am truly sorry we failed to provide you with that during your visit.
I am glad, however, that you found our team to be friendly and helpful. I do hope that your interactions with our team convince you to consider staying with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    349
    325
    289
    355
See reviews for
422
371
61
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for a wedding. The group rate we got is the only reason this hotel was acceptable. The lobby bar/lounge looked nice but was dirty and tired. Furniture needs a good cleaning--the dirt is pretty thick. They advertise a "state of the art" fitness facility. While there is high-end cardio equipment, there is pretty much nothing else usable except some dumbells. Also, the equipment needed a good cleaning. On the plus side, there was a fridge with complimentary bottled water in the fitness center. The rooms were large but the bathrooms had no space to put anything and were very old. Common areas looked worn. The staff was friendly however. Would not recommend this hotel unless it is very cheap. The location is great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank kempera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Please accept my apologies for failing to meet your expectations during your recent stay. Every guest should have clean, comfortable accommodations and I am sorry we failed to provide you with such during your stay.
I am glad to hear, however, that you enjoyed our team and the services they provided you with. I do hope your experiences with them make you reconsider staying with us the next time you visit St Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Beautiful views overlooking the Mississppi and downtown, great food at the lounge, very pleasant atmosphere. Staff always ready to offer help. The beds were really comfortable, all around very good stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reviewer2180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with our property and team.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is an excellent location for a family getaway. The hotel restaurant will not break the bank and has an amazing view of the Arch. While it is an older hotel the staff was very attentive and willing to make our stay comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron1842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your recent experiences with our property and team. We all enjoy hearing that our guest's enjoyed their time away with their families.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Beautiful view to the arch in st Louis, walking distance to everything..casinos,restaurants,bars...the room had a balcony where you can enjoy the view but the bathroom needs upgraded...the hair dryer wasn't working and for the place you'll think they have better looking bathrooms...everything else was great!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jul-greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
The entire team was thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay. It was also nice to hear that you found the hotel's location to be so convenient to the many attractions St Louis has.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlgren, IL, USA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed overnight for Cardinals game. Booked a 2 room suite but was told when we checked in that they were overbooked. However, were given 2 adjoining rooms that were more than large. We were charged the same amount as a 2 room suite. Rooms were older, and beds were NOT comfortable. Pillows were awful. BLow dryer in our bathroom didn't work. Doors and trim needed painting. Whole place needs to be spruced up! Rooms had refrigerators and microwaves, but bathrooms were quite small. parking garage was crammed full of cars, and was a little scary late in evening.

I don't think I would stay there again...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Stacy R,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by the service you received from our hotel. I appreciate you bringing this matter into our attention as this is our best resource for improving guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

If you read all the reviews on this hotel you might be worried to stay here but many of them sound like they are written by people who never stay in big, busy hotels full of ball fans! This is an older hotel, but newer furniture and it looks like staff is trying to keep it up but it gets alot of wear and tear. We stayed for a cardinals game and the hotel was packed but the staff was great and I did not feel the wait for anything was unreasonable. It is in a great area of at Louis, walking distance to the stadium and the arch and beautiful views from most rooms. Love the huge lobby bar. Air conditioning system is just old and had some challenges but engineering is very responsive and the front desk has fans to loan out. Beds are very comfortable. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lov2travel1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for being so patience with our team on a busy Cardinals Game weekend.
It is nice to hear that you were able to take some time to enjoy the sights of St Louis while you stayed with us.
We hope to see you again next baseball season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
St. Louis City Center Hotel
St. Louis City Center Hotel
#90 of 120 in Saint Louis
995 reviews
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel

Property: City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel
Address: 200 N 4th St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1902 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cityplace St. Louis Downtown Hotel offers an unbeatable location Soaring above the Mississippi River the Gateway Arch is the hallmark image of St. Louis- a city known for a rich urban culture and home to some of the countrys largest private corporations. Situated in the heart of the city the City Place St. Louis - Downtown Hotel is the perfect gateway to all that the city has to offer. Elegant facilities and an ideal location make us the destination of choice for meetings and events in St. Louis. Our hotel is capable of hosting any size event from corporate conferences to wedding receptions. Additionally we are minutes from area companies like Anheuser-Busch ABB and Greensfelder. Adjacent to the Gateway Arch our downtown St. Louis hotel is surrounded by exciting attractions. Sports fans love being close to Busch Stadium and Edward Jones Dome. With numerous free attractions nearby including Anheuser-Busch Brewery tours St. Louis Zoo and Grants Farm St. Louis is a family-friendly city. Youll find the nightlife of Lacledes Landing Entertainment District just a few blocks away. The upscale amenities at our downtown St. Louis hotel ensure your trip is as carefree as possible. We have a sparkling rooftop pool with stunning city views a 24-hour Fitness Center and Union Grill Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your City Place St. Louis Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Saint Louis
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing