We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Place - Downtown St. Louis
Ranked #110 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Reviewed July 25, 2013

My family and I stayed for two days in mid-July, 2013. Overall it is a pretty average property in need of some updating however the excellent location and friendly staff more than make up for any shortcomings. Be aware that there are no stairs or elevator to the below-ground parking. We came across some guests complaining of inadequate air conditioning although we did not have any problems in our room. It was a comfortable walk to both the Gateway Arch and Busch Stadium even for my six-year-old son.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

The entire team was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, convenient parking and friendly service. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,653 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Nice hotel and awesome location. Right beside the arch. Rooms were a little bit dirty but the rooftop pool with a view of the arch just blew me away. Rooms were very nice and so spacious. We are a priority club member and got a room on the 29th floor and got access to the concierge lounge. Sign up to become a priority club member, you get great benefits like extra spacious rooms on the club floor and access to the concierge lounge. Overall, was an average crowne plaza but the rooftop pool was amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ahabib3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

We are so pleased you were able to take some time to relax at the pool during your recent visit. The views are truly amazing.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great location - in the middle of everything. Easy to find - the parking garage is next door. Prepare to drive in circles if it's a Cardinals game day. We finally found a parking spot, made our way to the hotel. Greeted by somewhat friendly front desk staff...I think by 4pm their patience had worn thin.
Arrived at room...hotter than Heddes. I searched for a control on the A/C...there is none. Hoped that the room would be cooler by night, with no luck. We opened a window (no screen) and were treated to the soothing sounds of downtown St. Louis all night. The A/c was so non functional that I put several pairs of performance 'quick dry' clothing items on the vent after washing them, only to find them still damp the next morning. I would have had better luck hanging everything in the bathroom.
Overall, it is what it is. I'm not sure how many stars this place has...it's a 3, at best. We found an empty Panera Bread bag under the desk, kid found a shower cap in the fold out couch. No linens for fold out....we gave up after the second request for some and we fashioned some out of the existing linens on the king bed. It's not like we really needed the blankets....it was probably 80 degrees in our room all night and the next morning.
Bring a fan, sheets from home if you are expecting to use the fold out couch and enjoy St Louis.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzarkSojourner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with our property and team. I am sorry to hear that your cooling unit was not working properly in your guestroom. We want every guest to have a clean and comfortable stay. I am sorry that we failed to provide you with that.
I am glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and hope that you were able to enjoy some of the wonderful attractions St Louis has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The location is fantastic. It us across the street from the Arch and walking distance from Busch Stadium. The front desk is super nice and the free downtown parking (even in our large expedition) was also a plus. However, we were upgraded to a king corner suite when we arrived, which we thought was a great thing, BUT the room was very hot and most importantly, was not supplied with any where near the correct amount of linens for the pull out sofa or just basic bathroom towels. It took 3 phone calls (2 to housekeeping, the third to the front desk) to get linens and still we did not get everything we needed and we just had to give up and go to bed as it was 11 pm. The rooms are well worn, but our's was clean. The air conditioning system desperately needs an update in the St Louis summertime heat. The concierge breakfast in the concierge room had a lovely view, but the selection was just ok, and the service to resupply the trays was very slow. Overall, if you can be happy with paying for a great location, and not much else, this is a good pick.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lillie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for the opportunity to review your experiences at our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the team and the convenient parking.
I am sorry that you experienced some issues with items in your guestroom. Thank you for letting us know where we failed to meet expectations so that we may improve upon our service for our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

fair warning if you self park, which is included in the hotel price just make sure you bring your parking ticket to have it stamped by front desk, be prepared there is several levels about and below ground and NO elevator to access those levels you must walk up or down to the lobby from the garage..6 elevators inside, very slow, no matter time of day, esp bad during game time and check in or out, ask for lower floor so you can walk if needed.. if you get the room that come with breakfast make sure they give you your vouchers b/c they didn't us and we paid for our breakfast the first am (which was a buffet but good, slow service but there was tons of ppl there) it's an older hotel for sure but still in decent shape, AC is a central tubing something or other so all three of our units were on high cool all weekend and it never got above tolerable in side, we had the corner suite which was a deal for the amount of room we had, bedroom, LR area, kitchen with microwave, full fridge, lots of counter space but no kitchen items, and a small sink.., good location though, there was a balcony (which door didn't lock) that you could go on and a big picture window with FULL view of entire Arch and river, walked to Busch Stadium no prob

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you sharing your experiences at our property. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your corner room, the view and location of the hotel.
I am terribly sorry about your wait time in the different areas of the hotel. It is sometimes difficult to attend to such a large number of guests at the same time and I am sorry if this impacted your visit.
We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The staff was so nice and friendly! They upgraded our room at no cost to us. However, the actual room was somewhat dirty. There were dust balls on the ceiling and sprinklers. The doors and some walls were chipped. The bathroom in our suite was very small. The couch and floor had many stains. However, the beds and countertops were clean!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind words regarding your interactions with our team.
I apologize that you did not find the cleanliness of your room up to standard. We want every guest to enjoy clean, comfortable accommodations during their short time with us and I am sorry that we failed to provide that to you.
We appreciate that you took the time to give us your honest feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family of four stayed two nights in this hotel. The location was very handy for downtown sightseeing and a Cardinal game. Our room was clean and housekeeping were friendly and helpful. Candace at the desk was helpful and a smiling face.

Those were the lone positive experiences and because I paid (I think) a much reduced rate through Priceline, I am not totally unhappy with our stay. However, anyone paying the full rate should be irritated. Aside from Candace, every other person at the reservation desk, was unfriendly, unhelpful and sour. That may because they are frustrated with the rundown hotel. Things appear to be slowly falling apart. The escalator wasn't working, their computer system was down....for two days. I am still not sure they are charging me correctly. No one can access our reservation. Priceline this hotel or stay away.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hidypitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at City Place - Downtown St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to share your recent experiences with our property and team.
I am terribly sorry that you felt our team at the front desk was not helpful. I have shared your comments with the Front Office Manager so that he may use your comments as a training tool in his department on the importance of service with a smile.
Our computer systems were down for 2 days, I am terribly sorry if that impacted your stay. I can assure you, however, that there will not be an issue with your bill from our end.
I am glad to hear Candace was able to take care of all your needs. The entire team will be sure to thank her for the service she provided you with during your stay.
Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
#78 of 123 in Saint Louis
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
St. Louis City Center Hotel
St. Louis City Center Hotel
#95 of 123 in Saint Louis
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Place - Downtown St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Place - Downtown St. Louis

Address: 200 N 4th St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1902 (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range: $97 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Place - Downtown St. Louis 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring above the Mississippi River, the Gateway Arch is the hallmark image of St. Louis, a city known for a rich urban culture and home to some of the country's largest, private corporations. Situated in the heart of the city, the City Place® St. Louis - Downtown Hotel is the perfect gateway to all that the city has to offer! Elegant facilities and an ideal location make us "The Place to Meet" in St. Louis, MO. Our hotel is capable of hosting any size event, from corporate conferences to wedding receptions. Perks like a 2-hour RFP Response Guarantee, Meetings Director and Daily Meeting Debriefs set us apart. Additionally, we're minutes from area companies like Anheuser-Busch, ABB and Greensfelder. Adjacent to the Gateway Arch, our downtown St. Louis hotel is surrounded by exciting attractions. Sports fans love being close to Busch Stadium and Edward Jones Dome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Place - Downtown St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Saint Louis
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing