We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just for the night” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown
Ranked #101 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
ashley, IL
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just for the night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here and found it to be very nice. Rooms were a little on the small side, and a little too warm. We stayed on the 25th floor which I'm sure why the room was a little warm, it wasn't unbearable though. The bed was very comfortable and the view from our room was spectacular. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank headymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to share your recent experiences with our property and team. The entire team is pleased to hear you got a good night's sleep and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to St Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    339
    318
    267
    308
See reviews for
390
351
60
289
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
187 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a very old hotel. But not in the classic luxury, ornate lobby, crystal chandelier in the bath kind of way. Old in the it's too close to heavy traffic & too big to tear down kind of way. It did get a facelift 7 yrs ago; I remember b/c I stayed there when there was no carpet in the hallways. Several of the rooms I've had since then were suite size, but this wknd'd digs were a weirdly shaped end room w/ a great Arch/river view. The baths, while spiffed up, are tiny. There's an old rooftop pool, & a roomy & comfortable lobby lounge w/ a great mural of 19th century riverfront StL behind the bar.

The location of this former HI is superb. Across the street from the Arch, it's also nearly equidistant from Busch Stadium & the football dome, each about 12-15' walks. Laclede's Landing & the Wash. Ave. dining & club districts are also w/i walking distance. Nearest Metro station about 4 blocks. And be advised the underground parking garage is like a medieval catacomb.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tubman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam V, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experiences at our property. The entire team will be pleased you enjoyed your accommodations, the hotel's location and the view from your guestroom.
We look forward to seeing your during your next visit to St Louis. Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Nice hotel and great location.Bed where very confirmable bathrooms where a little smaller then I/ we expected. The only negative was the being next to the ice machine, the sound was pretty loud through the walls. Other then that it was well worth the money. Easy access to I-55, Edward Jones Dome, and the Cardinals stadium.

Room Tip: Make sure when you park in the parking garage that is attached to the hotel; When you are checking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank likens2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revman2112, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
The entire team is pleased to hear you enjoyed your accommodations and the hotel's location during your recent stay. We do hope you were able to visit some of the many attractions downtown St Louis has to offer during your visit.
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I was involved with a convention at this hotel and right from the start we had nothing but great service from all the staff at this hotel. Two superstars Shantanica at the Front Desk and Chris in Maintenance know what customer service is, and with the already high quality of staff at this hotel, that says alot. Our room was huge, beds amazing comfortable and the little spa packages are an amazing touch. Looking forward to coming back next January!

Room Tip: ask if you can have a room facing the Arch..the view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasoncalg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revman2112, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences with our property and team. Your comments will be posted in an area of the hotel where the entire team can see. We will all be sure to thank Shantanica and Chris for the outstanding service they provided you during your stay.
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown and we look forward to seeing you on your return trip to St Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have a membership with Intercontinental. When I arrived to the Crown Plaza I was received with such a warm welcome that I felt i should pay more. i was given a suite and the view was nice. Although it was raining but it felt great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thenewstateman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revman2112, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences from your recent stay. The entire team is pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the service they provided you during your stay.
We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to St Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

The location of this hotel is great - right downtown. we had a very large room with a deck looking right onto the arch!! SPECTACULAR VIEW!!! Compared to the price other neighboring hotels get, it was a great value. Front desk staff was superbly friendly! Definitely an older hotel, but still outstanding!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NothK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revman2112, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences with our property and team.
We look forward to seeing you again during your next trip to St Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed at this hotel from 1/18/13 - 1/21/13. First room was great but no hot water! Kindly moved to upgraded suite. Had credit issues that Customer Service Rep at the counter didn't want to discuss. Wanted me to call back the next day. Agent took care of issues without a problem.

Room Tip: Check water pressure and temperature first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revman2112, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
On behalf of the entire team, please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay. I am pleased to hear, however, that our team was able to assist you with your concerns.
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to St Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Louis hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown
Address: 200 North Fourth Street, Saint Louis, MO 63102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza St. Louis Downtown Hotel and Suites. Located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, adjacent to the majestic Gateway Arch, the newly-renovated Crowne Plaza St. Louis-Downtown offers the kind of warm hospitality, inviting atmosphere, and top notch services sure to please business and leisure travelers alike. Exciting attractions which are within minutes of the Crowne Plaza St. Louis-Downtown include Busch Stadium home of the St. Louis Cardinals, Edward Jones Dome, America s Center Convention Center and the World-Famous Anheuser-Busch Brewery. Nearby entertainment districts include Laclede s Landing, Washington Avenue Loft District and Soulard neighborhood. We are also conveniently located near many Fortune 500 companies such as Accenture, Bank of America, Deloitte, Kraft, Anheuser Busch, Wachovia, Nestle, AT&T, IBM, and Peabody Energy to name a few. The Crowne Plaza St. Louis Downtown just completed a $6 million dollar renovation. Experience a night like no other in our brand new 'Sleep Advantage' seven layer bed amenity package and utilize our complimentary high-speed Internet in all guestrooms. Stay at the Crowne Plaza St. Louis Downtown and enjoy our breathtaking views of the arch, 24 hour fitness club, business center, sundries shop, and renovated guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Saint Louis
Crowne Plaza St Louis Downtown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing