We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, different and delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Winslow's Home

Winslow's Home
Ranked #124 of 2,874 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Price range: $9 - $25
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Winslow's Home is a decidedly casual cafe that serves some seriously great things. We are at once a cafe, espresso bar, bakery and market set in the middle of a contemporary general store. Winslow's Home is located in a vibrant historic neighborhood of University City Missouri, an inner suburb of St Louis. Centrally located we are roughly 3 blocks from Washington University, 4 blocks from downtown Clayton, 7 miles from the arch and the Mississippi River and 12 miles from the airport.Winslow's Home serves some of the best fresh scratch cooking in the region in a relaxed and warm setting and our customers are as diverse as our product selections. Awards in the recent past by regional and national press include best breakfast, best carry out, best chocolate chip cookie, best farm to table restaurant, best grass fed beef burger, best cafe, best place to bring out of towners and best sandwich.
1 review
“Excellent food, different and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I stopped here for lunch, it was a very pleasant surprise. The place is welcoming, like a mixture of a bookstore, a bakery, and a cafe. And the food is fresh and tasty!

Helpful?
Thank Paulpv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    43
    16
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lunch doesn't get better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Our daughter has raved about this place for a while ... So she took us for an early lunch during graduation weekend and it was one of the true highlights for us. Ordered some fun sandwiches and then grabbed a table in the sun outside. Enjoyed an extended lunch and weekend agenda.

Would go back 100 times if we lived in St Louis. Otherwise we'll remember a nice lunch and stop every time we get to St Louis!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank five5s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Lunch!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

We were in STL for our son’s college graduation. And we needed lunch for the 7 of us. This was his first choice for lunch, and suggested we get there a little early. I love the cool little "General Store" concept. Had a bit of everything, from dry goods to wine to take out. Lunch menu was very inclusive. We all had something different, shared bites, and everything was very tasty. Service was very good considering its "deli" style. Would definitely go back next time we're in town!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Place for Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Great food. Family oriented. Outdoor patio. Old mercantile store feel. Lots of interesting products from deli products, health products, and toys to check out while waiting for food order. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cgar103150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincaid, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A general store with a great menu!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

My first visit, but not the last. A Saturday afternoon and had heard good things about this place, I had their brisket sandwich, and my wife the the turkey sandwich, both were great. We had lunch outside at one of the covered tables, they also have inside seating. After lunch spend some time looking at their general store, bits and pieces. It's a great place to spend a couple of hours. We shall return on are next trip to Saint Louis.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Toney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Winslow's Home also viewed

Clayton, Saint Louis
Clayton, Saint Louis
 

Been to Winslow's Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing