We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Ranked #14 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed 4 nights for business and they did a good job. In an historic building across the street from the convention center and Edw. Jones Dome. Suites were large with very high ceilings. Only negative was they do not have self parking, valet only and at $27/day was more than I expected here. My room faced the dome and was quite but would not be if during an event.

Manager's reception daily, usual at Embassy, with free beer, drinks. The food was minimal snack food and a pretty unhealthy substitute for dinner. Restaurant in the atrium and a good one connected (Robust). Everything I expect (and appreciate) with Embassy.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,163 - 1,169 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel still has smoking rooms and the smell pervades a portion of the 2nd floor. The room I had was filthy, the staff wouldn't assist me in securing another room - anywhere. I had to request room service and even then got towels, but no coffee. This was my second worst hotel stay in my life - and I've stayed in quite a few! As a Hilton Honors member I'm appalled - if this is how they treat preferred customers I'd hate to see how they handle the rest.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade T, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear Cynthia F,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent stay and for taking a moment to review your experience. Thank you also for your loyalty as a Hilton Honors member.

We are sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved while you were here. Although we do have a handful of smoking suites in an effort to accommodate our guests who smoke, we strive to ensure they are contained in an area where they do not impact our other guests. We apologize also for the issues in your suite and have shared your experience with our maintenance and housekeepint teams to ensure this does not happen again. If you return to our area, we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Best regards,

Wade Thompson
Director of Sales & Marketing
Phone: 314-678-2903
Email: wade.thompson@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Some apartments in Manhattan are not as big as the rooms were. We had a one bedroom with two beds and a pull out couch in the living room. The 20 foot ceilings really make the room seem much bigger. The only complaint is that it would have been nice to have an additional 1/2 bath. The pool was a little bit of a disappointment at only 3 feet deep, not great if you are tall. The breakfast in the Morning was fabulous, we all loved the make your own omelet bar. The Manager's reception in the bar could have had better food, not just out of a can or bag, but something hot. All in all we would stay here again. Very helpful staff and an easy walk to the Ballpark and the City Museum.

Room Tip: All rooms have great tall windows. Ask for a room near the elevator if you have trouble getting aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryEllen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

On arrival chose to self park which is in a multi story across the street. Sixteen dollars a night for that. Sign on entry says no overnight parking but it is not an issue for Embassy Suites guests. There is a valet parking option for the hotel if you prefer. Checking in was professional and efficient. Room is a good size, with large living space and bedroom. Minor issue was the bathroom which is situated between them The layout is not ideal with a large door opening onto the toilet with the shower behind the door. Just found it a little awkward. Breakfast included excellent omelettes made to order. I was up early so no problem waiting in a queue. Other than that it was standard fare of sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs. Not great, not bad. Location is central to downtown St Louis and good for visiting the Arch or for sports fans.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elparaiso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is the nicest Embassy Suites I have stayed in. The rooms were big and well decorated with tall ceilings. The free breakfast and cocktail hour was a plus! We will stay here again when we are in tons

Room Tip: The 4th floor is where the breakfast and cocktail hour is so it it helpful to be on that floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy45419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband and three kids for vacation. Very nice hotel- the valet was great, very helpful, the free breakfast was great, I recommend if possible to get there early, seems to get busier after 9am. The rooms are wonderful, tall windows, living room area is a nice size. Downside would be the pool is only 3ft deep all around, my kids loved it of course. Friendly staff, would stay again next time we are in St. Louis.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenniferTreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

From what we understand, this used to be the Dillard's Department Store. The hotel seems nice and new. We arrived around 5 p.m. - pulling up to the hotel for parking/valet is awkward.
The street in front of the front entrance does not allow for much in the way of parking. It's not easy to unload when it's busy - which check-in's usually are. We hauled our bags from down the street to the front entrance. Valet staff are friendly and efficient, once you get to the front door.
Our room wasn't quite ready. They were short-staffed that day. We were given an upgrade to a corner suite for our inconvenience. That was nice and appreciated.
The breakfast and manager's reception are served on the fourth floor. The hotel was at 100 percent occupancy and hence, it was a very busy summer weekend. The quality of the breakfast was very good. However, we felt they should allow for more bus staff to clear tables at breakfast. Many people had to sit at dirty tables with their breakfasts.
The fitness room and pool are on the fifth floor. Didn't use the pool, but fitness room was well-equipped and everything seemed to be in working order.
Rooms have tall ceilings are are very spacious. We had great views out of all the very tall windows. Our suite on the fifth floor was quiet. The room was clean. Bed was great. Bathroom was clean - great toiletries - Evelyn & Crabtree.
Great location downtown, walking distance to everything. Access to metro station across the street. Price was right through Priceline.

Room Tip: Corner suite 503 - quiet and convenient to stairs and pool/fitness room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fballwidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#12 of 123 in Saint Louis
844 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown

Address: 610 N 7th St, Saint Louis, MO 63101-1209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range: $154 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites St. Louis – Downtown hotel in Missouri is conveniently located in the historic Laurel Building in the heart of downtown St. Louis across the street from America's Convention Center and the Edward Jones Dome - home to the NFL's St. Louis Rams. With easy access from I-70, I-64, I-44 and I-55, our Embassy Suites hotel is the centerpiece of the exciting new Mercantile Exchange District currently under development. Lambert St. Louis International Airport is only 14 miles away and the MetroLink light rail systems Convention Center station is less than a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing