We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Room, Value, and Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Ranked #15 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
North Fort Myers, Florida
2 reviews
“Excellent Service, Room, Value, and Location!”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

If you're planning a trip to St Louis, this is definitely THE hotel in which to stay! My husband and I, and our three grandchildren, booked a one bedroom suite for the cost of a single room at some of the other highly rated hotels. The service was excellent, the room was spacious, well appointed, clean and quiet, the free breakfast was restaurant quality and quantity, the pool and spa were perfect after a day of sight seeing, and the Manager's PM get together for free snacks and drinks was a bonus! The hotel is directly across the street from the MetroLink, making a car virtually unnecessary for getting around; and the very popular Arch and City Museum are within walking distance. After traveling extensively and staying in a number of different hotels, my husband and I can state without reservation (no pun intended) that The Embassy Suites is one of the top three hotels in which we've stayed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels

Helpful?
Thank PJSaved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    348
    94
    40
    15
See reviews for
503
172
24
392
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SanClemente, CA
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

This hotel was formerly a Dillards Department store. It was totally renovated in 2011. Rooms are typical Embassy suite quality, however, building is older and well built which keeps noise to a minimum. We stayed here 11 nights and never heard anything. Staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was well done and plentiful as were evening cocktails.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KadySanClemente_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here over a long weekend with our three kids and grandma (we had two rooms for the six of us). This hotel has huge, clean rooms. It is in a great walk-to-everything location. Breakfast was terrific, but get there early as lines get long after 8:00 a.m.. Bell staff was incredibly kind and helpful. Front desk staff seemed a bit stressed out - they did not greet us when we arrived, barely answered questions about where to eat/go (I was handed a map and told that everything I needed to know was on it), and one of them even complained about how crowded the hotel was the weekend we were visiting. Overall, though, a very positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoPurple93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Embassy Suites in downtown St. Louis is a great place to stay. Usually, we stay at the Hilton by the Ballpark but one stay at this hotel was enough to convince us that this is a great hotel. The downside to the hotel is the parking. There is no portico but the bell staff meets your car, and if it's raining, holds an umbrella while you get out. Check in is great--especially if you have Brandon, Christina, Tom or Curtis to help you. (If you see Heidi, wait for another person to be free--she was our only unpleasant person!) Your room is a surprise--we expected small, cramped roms--but the size of the rooms is awesome. With the high ceilings, your room feels even more spacious. The bar staff (Robert, Megan, Christy) is really nice and they were pleasant even when there are lines for the manager's reception. We found the staff to be so accommodating that we will make this a regular place to stay on our frequent trips to St. Louis.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barb d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The hotel is well maintained but the decor was not my to my taste. Our room was spacious but I found the ubiquitous brick red, grey, yellow ochre and dark wood in both the room and throughout the hotel dull and somewhat depressing, The bed was comfortable but the bed linens somewhat unusual. For warmth we had a sheet plus what appeared to be an attractive silk lined quilt. For the first three nights my sleep was disturbed by my attempts to keep the quilt- which was bigger than the sheet - away from my body as I presumed this had been used by previous occupants of the bed . It was only after a discussion with the duty manager that I learnt that the quilt was in fact a duvet whose covers were washed between hotel guests. I stay in lots of hotels and have never seen a duvet cover like this - if it really stands up to all that laundering I would like one for home!!
Unfortunately the hotel was badly let down by breakfast. Described as 'cooked to order' if you wanted an omelet you joined a 12 deep line. Prefer the buffet? Queues were also 12 deep - and not worth the effort for the cold scrambled eggs and equally unappetising breakfast potatoes.
The reception and door staff were friendly and helpful and the room was beautifully clean. They were let down by factors outside their control. Oh yes, the Internet was irritating too. As Hilton Honours members it was free of charge but we still had to fiddle around with passwords. Why not follow Marriott's lead and set up automatic access?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJRG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade T, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear JJRG,

Thank you for selecting the Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown for your recent accommodation needs. We appreciate your business and thank you for taking time to review our hotel.

We are certainly pleased that you enjoyed our bedding and several members of our staff. We will pass along your comments to our team. We are sorry the selection of our decor does not match with your tastes. Although we do receive several favorable comments, it is true that preferences vary from one guest to another.

We are truly sorry that your wait times at our Cooked-to-Order Breakfast were long. When our hotel is full, as it often is, our chef's desire to give the same personal attention to each guest. When preparing omelets for several hundred guests, there certainly are lines during peak breakfast times. We do provide our guests with a posted guide to the best times to get a quick breakfast during earlier times throughout the day. If a quick in and out to breakfast is needed, these earlier non-peak times will nearly always allow for quicker service as less guests are typically dining. Our goal is to provide the fresh, hot and enjoyable breakfast fare to our guests and your comments have been shared with our culinary team to ensure we are focused on this area for our future guests.

Again, thank you for choosing our hotel and for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to St. Louis.

Sincerely,

Wade Thompson, Director of Sales & Marketing
314-678-2903
wade.thompson@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great breakfast and happy hour. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and really enjoyed extra space of live room with table. Friendly staff. Pool was a bit small but it was not crowded. Location is perfect for Ram's game too.

Room Tip: 4th floor was nice which was same floor as restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TraceyC683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Checked in for 1 night stay, and upon check in was told our room was not available and we could have a different room. This room would be more expensive and we would have to pay for Internet. Not going to happen. Valet was very unhelpful and told us to park our car in a tow away zone until they could get to it. Very unorganized hotel.

Stayed March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ldlawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade T, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear ldlawson,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We sincerely apologize that you did not have a positive experience and that you chose not to stay with us. We can assure you there would never be an additional charge to move to an upgraded suite if we are not able to honor a confirmed suite type upon check-in if arriving at or after our posted check-in time. There are certainly times when a suite type is not available at check-in time, depending on when the previous guest departs. However, if that is the case, any options offered for an upgraded suite would be at the confirmed rate for the reservation.

Our valet service is available for all our guests but at heavy times of arrival and departure, we can have several vehicles to retrieve or park. During these times, we do have cars parked staged at our entrance but our staff has full control of these parking areas and any vehicles there. We can assure you that no vehicle for a registered guest will ever be towed while in the hands of our valet attendants.

Again, we appreciate that you initially selected our hotel. It is our hope that you will allow us to serve you on your next visit to St. Louis and have you experience our hotel and all of our services.

Sincerely,

Wade Thompson, Director of Sales & Marketing
314-678-2903
wade.thompson@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#6 of 120 in Saint Louis
786 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Address: 610 N 7th St, Saint Louis, MO 63101-1209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites St. Louis – Downtown hotel in Missouri is conveniently located in the historic Laurel Building in the heart of downtown St. Louis across the street from America's Convention Center and the Edward Jones Dome - home to the NFL's St. Louis Rams. With easy access from I-70, I-64, I-44 and I-55, our Embassy Suites hotel is the centerpiece of the exciting new Mercantile Exchange District currently under development. Lambert St. Louis International Airport is only 14 miles away and the MetroLink light rail systems Convention Center station is less than a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing