We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noisy locations, bad policy, expensive parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Ranked #14 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Noisy locations, bad policy, expensive parking”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I traveled to St. Louis on business. The location of my meeting changed, so I called the hotel and asked to cancel my reservation. However, this hotel asks for cancellation by 4pm the day BEFORE the reservation. Most hotels allow you to cancel the day of... And when the policy is different from this, they are sure to call it out during the reservation process. This hotel does NOT call out that their reservation cancellation policy differs from the norm!
Also, there is a lot of street noise around the hotel. From my 2nd floor room, I could hear cars going by while I was trying to go to sleep.
Finally, the parking was $27/day. And there are no clear alternatives nearby, so the hotel is really making a mint on this.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor, away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vak_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade T, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Good morning vak_10 and thank you so much for your feedback. Information from guests like you enables us to improve our service and communication to future guests.

We do have a 24 hour cancellation policy which is fairly typical within the St. Louis market. We apologize if this was not made clear during your reservation process. The rate rules do include this information on our website and it will also reflect on your confirmation if you receive it via email. If you made your reservations by phone, we will review with our reservations specialists to make sure this clear to callers.

Our location, being in the epicenter of activity for downtown St. Louis, is very convenient for easy access to great restaurants, clubs and area attractions. This also creates traffic on the streets both day and night. We are sorry this was disruptive to your sleep.

Although we offer only Valet Parking to our guests, we strive to be competitive in the associated cost. We are very similarly priced to other surrounding hotels. There is a garage approximately one block from our hotel where overnight self parking is available. The cost is $16.00 per night, paid directly to the garage. It is important to note that this does not include in & out privileges as you will have when utilizing our Valet Parking service. We apologize if this information was not shared with you if you inquired about self-parking options.

Again, thank you for your review. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Wade Thompson, Director of Sales & Marketing
Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown
314-678-2903
wade.thompson@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    329
    90
    38
    14
See reviews for
474
167
23
372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Recently had the pleasure of staying here Memorial Day weekend. In town with 10 of us from Phila. to see the Phillies almost sweep the Cards. 3 out of 4...not to shabby.We arrived at the hotel 10:15 a.m.friday . thought we would check our bags in and check out the town. To our delight our rooms were available.Danielle our receptionist and the hotel manager greeted us and explained all thier was to know about the hotel, and places to dine also got us 2 rooms together. The rooms were very nice and big ,did have a piller in the middle of living roon in one suite, no big deal though. The happy hour was great fast service, nice snacks. the breakfast buffet was also very good got real crowded, but they handled it pretty good.I had organized this trip for the 10 of us so when any thing was need they came to me. but it was no problem because of Danielle. She was always there for me just so sweet and gracious no matter how busy she was.I will say our maid was lacking we needed extra soap ,shampoo and toilet paper.

Room Tip: It seems that Washington ave is a cruzing strip for hot rods and motor cycles late at nite on weeken...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The bad news - valet only for parking ($27). The good news - everything else. In downtown & close to everything, restaurants, bars, the casino & venues. My room was HUGE w/ ceilings at least 18' high. Excellent breakfast & workout room.

Room Tip: Ensure you do NOT get a room overlooking Washington St (traffic noise). All other rooms face quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2012

This hotel was really nice. Looks like an old warehouse from the outside, but beautiful inside! Spacious suites with nice finishings! Even the breakfast was included and was great! The only downside was the parking, very little free parking and the valet was $30+ a day!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissMendoza10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Great Hotel.

Our room on 2nd floor had 12ft ceiling in living area and 18ft in bedroom area with windows to match. Immediately adjacent to convention ctr so can imagine it's busy when one's in town. The building's previous incarnation was a department store. Check-In on street level, restaurant & bar on 4th floor atrium level; health club (very nice) and pool on 5th floor.

The restaurant has a limited menu but the food is very well prepared (same available for room svc.) Compliments to our server Crystal who does double duty in the rest. and rm srvc. Also kudos to the morning omlette chefs for their friendly and efficient service. Complimentary breakfast is nice as is the evening free Happy Hour with snacks.

The only issue is the $27 daily valet parking fee and the daily $10 wi-fi fee.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twolarrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wade T, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Hello twolarrys. Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown! We sincerely appreciate your favorable comments on our facility and services. We take pride in our new hotel and, more importantly, our accommodating Team Members. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

In an effort to provide our guests with options, I wanted to let you know for your next visit that a self-parking option is available just a block from the hotel. It is on a self-pay basis at a rate of $16.00 per night. It is important to know that this price is for overnight parking in a secured garage but doesn't allow for unlimited in/out privileges as you would have if you choose to use our valet parking service.

Additionally, we also offer complimentary WIFI in our public areas as well as in our business center, which is complimentary to our guests.

We look forward to your next visit to St. Louis and to welcoming you back to the Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown.

Best regards,

Wade Thompson, Director of Sales & Marketing
Embassy Suites St. Louis - Downtown
314-678-2903
wade.thompson@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter the night before running a race together in St. Louis and could not have been happier with our experience! The room was decorated beautifully, ("luxurious", as my daughter commented upon arrival); spacious with high ceilings, lots of comfortable pillows on the bed and a nice view. The staff was helpful and friendly--everyone greeted us with a smile. The location was perfect- adjacent to the convention center and the valet attendants were quick and friendly as well. The room was very clean and we truly felt pampered by the beautiful décor. We'll be back for sure!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississippi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Absolutely wonderful stay!!! Will stay here from now on when traveling to St Louis. Alll staff were accommodating and prompt with everything. We ran out of towels, called the front desk and towels were brought within 15 minutes and they were warm as if just out of the dryer. The hotel decor is beautiful. Exudes luxury hotel, but not a luxury price. The breakfast is wonderful and not your usual compliementary breakfast. Everything about the stay exceeding our expectations. We had 3 adults and 3 children in our party and it was perfect for us and very easy being in one big room. There was one small problem we were unhappy with...we went to the restaurant which stated it was open until 11pm. The managers reception had ended at 730 so we took the children to eat around 8 thinking most people would have cleared out. We went and got a table after no wait staff approached us. We sat there for 15 minutes and no one ever came to greet us. However they were tending to the people who were still there having drinks only. We went and asked for someone to give us menus. She stated she would be right over. However after another 10 minutes and seeing 2 staff members chatting and/or waiting on the other guests and no one coming to our table we did leave. It was a bit of hassle being that we had to leave the hotel at 830 on a Friday night to walk downtown to find somewhere appropriate for a family to eat. Other than that one issue the stay was perfect and it will not keep us from staying there from now on.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor which was wonderful because the atrium is on that floor as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#8 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#20 of 120 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown
Address: 610 N 7th St, Saint Louis, MO 63101-1209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites St. Louis – Downtown hotel in Missouri is conveniently located in the historic Laurel Building in the heart of downtown St. Louis across the street from America's Convention Center and the Edward Jones Dome - home to the NFL's St. Louis Rams. With easy access from I-70, I-64, I-44 and I-55, our Embassy Suites hotel is the centerpiece of the exciting new Mercantile Exchange District currently under development. Lambert St. Louis International Airport is only 14 miles away and the MetroLink light rail systems Convention Center station is less than a block away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton St. Louis - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing