We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hubby's favorite BBQ place in the midwest”

Bogart's Smokehouse
Ranked #4 of 2,909 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Soulard
Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hubby's favorite BBQ place in the midwest”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

You have to get there early across from Soulard's market. I have to admit they have the best rub for their ribs in town. #1 on tripadvisor helps as well. A must do while visiting St. Louis. This is my husbands favorite place in town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockstarss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    869
    220
    43
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, USA
2 reviews
“Some of the Best Ribs”
Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went here on a recent trip to St. Louis. Place was on the small side, but the food was excellent. Being from Texas, I appreciate good BBQ, and the ribs at Bogarts were some of the best around. Not crazy about the beans, as they were a little too sweet for me, but overall, very good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AC747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good BBQ”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We ate here a few weeks ago and it was delicious. We traveled from SW MO to a ballgame and it was recommended by a friend. The four of us ordered the Old Joe platter that included three sandwiches, ribs, and sides. The ribs were very good and tender. The pastrami sandwich was very good. The pork sandwich was also good. The beans were very delicious. The slaw was good. They were out of the brisket. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It is a very casual restaurant. There is only two choice of sauces. Would have like to seen more choices. It was plenty of food for four people. We will definitely return when we are back in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edgars4him
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great BBQ – Friendly staff”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We enjoy good BBQ and this place is the real deal. From the meats to the sides they have it down. The place is not too large so be prepared to wait. It’s not unusual to see folks waiting 30 minutes or longer for the real deal. You may want to drop off someone in your party while you hunt for a parking space.

The ribs are very good however I’m still looking for a St. Louis spare rib with a dry rub. This was a baby back but it was very good. The pulled pork, brisket & turkey were very enjoyable however we didn’t really like the burnt ends. If you look up an image of burnt ends you don’t see what they serve. They serve a burnt end but then cover it in sauce. I think we would have liked it better dry adding the sauce on our own. Try the baked beans and slaw too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Pretty Good but not our favorite in STL”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Decided to try Bogart's because of the high rating on TA. Although we didn't have a bad experience by any means we still prefer other BBQ places in STL. Staff was very friendly. They did have some really good sides, probably better than our favorite place, but the BBQ itself was just OK, nothing to rave about, at least on that day.

One surprise is that they have pastrami on the menu, which can be hard to find. If I were craving that I would have no problem returning here.

Portions were very large.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xplq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bogart's Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Bogart's Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing