We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Was Good, But Room Should Have Been Cleaner...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue
Ranked #72 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
580 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 440 helpful votes
“Service Was Good, But Room Should Have Been Cleaner...”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stopped in at this Red Roof Inn after having a good experience with the Red Roof In near the Philadelphia Airport. Also, it is along I-44 and that was the road we were taking home. Talk about a tale of two cities! We reserved the room over the cell phone and with the AAA rate, the room was $79.83 with taxes included. Once I showed pictures to the manager the following morning, we received an additional $20 off of the night. Rather than be defensive, the manager was quite nice and was appreciative of specific examples of how the room was being cleaned properly. The lady that worked when we checked-in was very friendly and helpful. I wish I could remember her name so that I could give her due credit in this review.

The room has the general layout of most other Red Roof Inns, though this one still had a tube TV. The wireless WiFi worked fine and the room had a refrigerator and a microwave. We found no bed bugs or any other pests in the room, or around the property. The sheets were clean and not worn. As mentioned before, there were things about the room that were not clean upon a closer look. The bathtub was filthy. There were hard water chemical deposits in the bowl of the commode. There were greasy finger prints on the wall light fixtures. The edge of the carpet had a thick layer of dust. I have shared pictures of the things that I have described. The heating/air unit worked fine.

This isn't the worst place that I have ever stayed - that honor is shared by Super 8 in Kutztown, PA and Motel 6 In Collinsville, IL. However, it is far from the best that I have ever stayed at within the $50-$100 price range.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlphaRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    78
    61
    38
    36
See reviews for
88
76
47
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salida, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

First of all, I'd like to give the housekeeping staff kudos for keeping my older motel room clean and fresh on a daily basis. I stayed four nights and selected this motel based on a friend's recommendation which, I later learned, was strictly price driven. It was definitely cheaper than any other hotel in the area and provided the basics of shelter and convenience to the area of town I was working in. But, for me, it lacked two essentials - coffee in the room and some sort of continental breakfast in the lobby to get me started before I headed out to my day's work (I'm an artist exhibiting at various art shows across the country). Finding out there was no coffee in the room was the real bummer. I found out later that you can have coffee in the room if you book one of their 'larger' rooms/suites, but I didn't know that at the time of booking through hotels.com. The good things about this motel were the low price, the friendly & helpful staff, free wireless in the room, the updated curved shower curtain rod and a very good strong shower. The negatives were the lack of coffee in the room; uncomfortable bed; very very slow wireless (albeit free); the lack of any continental breakfast in the lobby; the annoying wall light switches which seemed to nearly require a pair of pliers to operate and the pathetic little travel packet of kleenex on the vanity instead of a full box.

Room Tip: If you want coffee in your room, specifically ask for one of the few that has it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadTripper1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0135, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear RoadTripper1211,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the St Louis - Forest Park Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are now undergoing a Full Renovation which should be completed in March 2013. We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - St Louis - Forest Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ava
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is strictly a "no frills" place to stay, but it was close to The Hill with all its wonderful Italian restaurants and also close to the Missouri Botanical Gardens.
I had an accessible room which worked great for me. It was clean, but the furnishings were dated. It was right on I-44, but our room was quiet. The bed was comfortable and we both slept well.
The total cost for a room for two, including tax, was around $72. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side of hotel away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HillbillyTightwad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0135, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear HillbillyTightwad ,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the St Louis - Forest Park Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. I would like you to know that we now undergoing a Full Renovation where we will have all new rooms!!! We are so excited about this!! We look forward to seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - St Louis - Forest Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, KS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Good location and a much lower price than other nearby hotels. On the surface the room was clean but you could tell it wasn't deep cleaned. I didn't look too hard, because sometimes not knowing is better. The bathroom was decently clean though. The staff was friendly and the location was great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenniferhogan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0135, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear jenniferhogan3,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your comments regarding your recent stay at the St Louis - Forest Park Red Roof.

I will make sure to share your comments with the rest of our team. Feedback from our guests is always welcome as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience. We have some great information! We are now undergoing a Full Renovation that should be completed in March 2013. It would be my pleasure in seeing you in your future travels.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - St Louis - Forest Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I wasn't expecting a lot. But I got less. Room dirty, tub stained. Room 326 the king bed slants to the left, it is broken. Furniture ripped and stained. Old tv with few stations. They shouldnt get to use the name red roof.we stayed one night and moved next door to holiday in at 20 dollars more. Everything is new and clean there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0135, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Johnnie R,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the St Louis - Forest Park Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence. We are now undergoing a Full Renovation where we will have all new, updated rooms. The Renovation should be completed by March 2013!!

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.


Sincerely,

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - St Louis - Forest Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Saint Louis hotels

1 review
Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

I repeat.... Don't do it!! I have been to some really jacked up joints in my life and this spot falls in the same category. Never seen a redroof quite like this one. They need to change the name or they gone drag that good name through the mid with this spot.
First off, they tried to hit me over the head for an extra 50 when I got there but I wasn't going. Thirstiest looking staff in the US. Watch yo car! It could possibly be one of them spots people live in if you know what I mean.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter_DV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0135, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Globetrotter_DV ,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the St Louis - Forest Park Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence.

We are now undergoing a Full Renovation where we will receive all new, updated rooms!! It would be my pleasure that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - St Louis - Forest Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed in room 102 for two nights. The standard king room was very small and didn't have the desk area that appears in some of the photos, but it was clean and comfortable. We actually arrived around 2 pm and the room was not ready, since check in was at 3, but we were able to get our key so we could head back downtown and go to the Cardinals game and be able to access our room when we came back. When we got back, there were no hand towels or wash cloths. When I went to request towels, the woman working the desk said she would bring some since they apparently didn't have enough to replace them at the time they cleaned the room and they had to wait for the laundry. She eventually brought them to our room after about 15 minutes or so. On my way out of the office, there was a tall slim guy wearing what appeared to be a white security guard shirt and a ball cap walking around the building. He asked if he could ask me a question, which I said yes. He wondered if he could give me his name, which I said yeah, thinking whatever I guess he wants me to know the name of the security guard on duty, but then he added that he wished to exchange numbers, to which I replied that I was a married woman. I find it ironic that the security guard who is supposed to make you feel safe actually was creeping around hitting on me and making me feel unsafe. I told the guy at the desk when I went to check out after our stay and they kind of just laughed it off but did say they would report it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
i0135, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Jane B,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the St Louis - Forest Park Red Roof. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please accept my sincerest apologies.

At Red Roof, we strive to provide every customer with superior service; therefore your feedback is very important to us. I want you to know that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem that occurred during your stay to prevent any future occurrence. I assure you that the Security Company has been aware of this and have promised that this will never happen again.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

General Manager
Red Roof Inn - St Louis - Forest Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Holiday Inn Forest Park
Holiday Inn Forest Park
#75 of 120 in Saint Louis
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lafayette Square
Hotel Avyan
Hotel Avyan
#91 of 120 in Saint Louis
155 reviews
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue

Property: Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue
Address: 5823 Wilson Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63110-2709
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > The Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue Hotel Saint Louis
Red Roof Inn Saint Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing