We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Avyan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Avyan
Ranked #84 of 119 Hotels in Saint Louis
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“OK stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Pretty average for a Holiday Inn. Rooms were clean. But the first room we stayed in had a broken hair dryer and then we discovered after a day that the door was not locking. Moved us into a second room with a very noisy air conditioner that rattled. Was happy to leave after 2 nights. I've stayed here before and had a better experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    57
    28
    10
    22
See reviews for
54
29
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The staff was very helpful and the room was very quiet. This hotel is near Lafayette Square and near the interstate. It was very convenient to everything.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyJamesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

This did not meet our expectations for Holiday Express. It is a bit weary. The quirky room was clean and presentable and food was good. However Internet access was less than marginal on the second floor and the problem was not my computer - since everything worked in the lobby. Other annoying rooms quirks were blinking telephone message light for two days, defective lamp, conduit hanging outside the window and non-working second floor ice machine.

The hotel location is great for downtown access and the old-town surrounding buildings are interesting to see.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor but plan to access the Internet from the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dalichandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Avyan, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear dalichandler,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are pleased you liked your breakfast and found your room clean and comfortable. We apologize for the inconvenience you have experienced regarding the room amenities and hotel facility. I truly value the comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer to improve your stay. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Thank you again for your review.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N.
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Horeb, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

I asked for a holiday inn express because I am a priority club member and wanted a hotel close to my business location. It is not a great location for anything else. Hotel is older with some new finishes. The shower handle was loose from the wall. Okay rooms and clean. I would not stay again or recommend it, but it worked for one night.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Fordmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Avyan, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Dear Fordmouse,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE!! I normally do not write bad reviews but I would NEVER recommend this hotel and will NEVER stay with them again. Management is rude and unprofessional. They have terrible customer service and do not honor their deals. Do not waste your time/money/efforts here, there are plenty of other nice hotels in STL where you can get good service.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KDHADH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Avyan, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear KDHADH,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnsville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

check in was fine, When i went to check out had a few complains and i was letting the Indian speaking lady know , she dismissed everything i said and had the attitude of if you don't like it don't stay here. She didn't care. The rooms where over priced, if i wanted to pay what i payed i would have stayed in the city at a nicer hotel, the rooms where just standards rooms nothing special. The 3rd flood is hot and smells nasty. The Pool looks like it is under construction. One more thing the location on this place is bad, my buddy that lives here said i was lucky no one broke into my car. I will never stay here again due to the prices, location and poor staff. I will stay in the city where the location is better and prices are the same but nicer hotels

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Avyan, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Dear s w,

I am deeply sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Your comments and feedback are very valuable as they help us determine what areas need improvement.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Checked in late to this property and had a 6AM flight the next morning. They clicked on all cylinders, shuttle, wake up , breakfast , coffee, all good and prompt. Service was very polite and accomodating. Proximity to the airport was perfect.

Room Tip: Try to reserve the side away from the highway and you will sleep better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Hill
Red Roof Inn Plus St Louis-Forest Park/Hampton Avenue
Forest Park
Holiday Inn Forest Park
Holiday Inn Forest Park
#71 of 119 in Saint Louis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
St. Louis City Center Hotel
St. Louis City Center Hotel
#86 of 119 in Saint Louis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avyan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avyan

Property: Hotel Avyan
Address: 2625 Lafayette Ave, Saint Louis, MO 63104-2011 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express St. Louis)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Lafayette Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 119 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Avyan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Avyan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Holiday Inn St Louis
Holiday Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing