We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Louis City Center Hotel
Ranked #91 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rineyville, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We were in town for basketball games at the Scottrade Center. The location was perfect as it was basically right across the street. The hotel was average considering the price range. We had requested the green saver program in lieu of maid service but the maid still came into our room and we did not receive the credit on our bill. The staff was friendly and very efficient at the front desk. The hotel restaurant and bar left something to be desired. They were continuously out of food and drinks and the service was extremely slow. So much so that we overheard numerous people complaining to the manager. Overall I would recommend the hotel for traveling but would suggest you eat and drink elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoCatsBigBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Your comments are greatly appreciated. There is no better learning tool for us than direct feedback from our guests. We take our guests feedback extremely seriously and have taken action on your observations.
These issues that you mentioned are not typical of a Sheraton experience and I sincerely apologize for letting you down. Despite this, you are very gracious to acknowledge the positive aspects of your visit in regards to our friendly and efficient staff and the perfect location of our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to St. Louis.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    310
    218
    157
    139
See reviews for
342
243
52
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Staff were pleasant but this hotel is extremely dated and run down. Wallpaper was torn and peeling, cups and coffee were not replaced from previous guest. The rooms are very large..so large in fact, the heating/cooling system that is located in the bedroom, really only works in the bedroom. Amenities are sparse. For the price/brand, this hotel should be so much better. Obviously, this hotel counts on business solely due to it's location. If you need a room right across the street from Scottrade Center, you can't get any closer. If you want nice accommodations, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlight6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our hotel. I would like to apologize for the series of unfortunate incidences that you experienced during your stay with us. We continually try to do our very best for all of our guests, but unfortunately, sometimes we do fail.
We have looked into each issue that you have noted in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel services. We very much appreciate your comments, and hope to have another opportunity to serve you.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Missed opportunity for this hotel. Good location for Scott trade center, but that is only real benefit of this hotel. For the rate paid...much more is expected. Lobby is good, but extras are definitely missing here. If you want a bargain...this isn't it.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foxydo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel. It is always our intention to have every guest leave our hotel looking forward to their next visit, and I most sincerely apologize there were some areas where we failed to meet this goal in your case.
We take our guests feedback extremely seriously and will be taking action on your observations.
We hope that you will give us another opportunity to have you as our guest to demonstrate our commitment to total customer satisfaction.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paxton, Illinois, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

After reading some of the reviews about this property here on TripAdvisor, I was a little worried about staying here. The worries, though, were completely unfounded. Every part of our stay was great...it couldn't have gone any better.

Check-in was painless, and the two workers were both very friendly. When they found out why we were there (daughter's surgery), they even gave us free breakfast buffet coupons.

The room was very large and while it was obvious it wasn't new, it did not seem dirty or worn out...just a little bit dated.

The bathroom was clean, but maybe the ONLY thing I could be disappointed about was the water pressure in the shower wasn't really strong. Not unlike most hotels though.

The indoor pool was huge and offered great views of the city (13th floor).

We did have to pay $17 to park...but we were downtown, so I'm sure that is fairly standard.

All in all, it was a great stay, and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites for your recent hotel visit. We truly appreciate you staying with us and appreciate the time you took to share your comments on TripAdvisor.
It was gratifying to learn that you experienced what we try to instill in our associates, “going above and beyond” and ensuring that our hotel is our guests’ “home away from home”.
We hope all is well and that your daughter has a speedy recovery.
Once again, we thank you for your patronage. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at this hotel was average, our club suite was a little disappointing, and the club room facilities were too. The room was large, but dated. The staff were friendly and the young lady who served our meal in the restaurant was extremely friendly and helpful.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JPS0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing the Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites. We truly appreciate you staying with us and appreciate the time you took to share your comments after your departure. Although we continually strive for excellence, there are times when our guests may experience less than satisfactory.
I would like to thank you for the positive comments regarding the friendliness of our staff and also of our server at the restaurant.
We hope that you will give us another chance to have you as our guest.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Heat did not work. They offered to change rooms but this was at 12:20am in the morning. They gave us extra blankets but sleeping with a coat, gloves and hat on was not fun. Plus we had some cute pink mold in the bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cnowacki23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us. I was disappointed to read your comments, and I apologize for the inconveniences you encountered. Please rest assured that our maintenance team has corrected the issues in the room. I can assure you that service and attention to detail are our top priority for total customer satisfaction.
We truly value you as our guest, and hope to have another opportunity to have you as our guest.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Upon arrival, I thought this hotel was so much better than it turned out to be. It has a lot of potential: good sized rooms, comfortable bed, nice amenities (e.g., coffee maker, frig, breakfast and free Wi-Fi on club level floors, nice bar area). However, the food was mediocre, and very expensive. The drink menu was disappointing as well. The carpet in the room just looked nasty. It looked like it had not been cleaned in a long time. The coffee pot was nasty. I had to clean it really well before using it. The walls were very thin. I could hear the neighbor's private moments as I was standing and looking out my window one morning. The front desk people provide inconsistent information so it's hard to be clear on what they do and don't offer.

The people who work in the restaurant are great. The guy who takes care of the club level breakfast room is very good also. He is very accommodating and helpful.

A lot of the guests that stayed there looked very rough! One large group of women paraded through the hall at night (after midnight) as if it was a daytime party in the hall! They weren't teenagers. They were grown women acting like it was their own private place, shouting and laughing and stomping. There were A LOT of REALLY rough looking people coming in and out off of the street at various times of day. I'm sure they weren't guests. It did not feel safe. Even waiting out front by the bell stand for my taxi, I saw rough looking people driving through and getting in and out of their cars and parking them there. They weren't guests. So not sure why they were parking their nasty looking bomb vehicles there. Basically, a lot of thug looking people wandered in and out from the street...one on the same floor as me...and wasn't sure if he was a guest or just one of the "wanderers".

Saturday night, after returning from my concert, the hotel was flooded with these types who were apparently there for a "party" someone was having in their room or something. The hotel security guy and the manager on staff said there was nothing they could do about it b/c a legitimate guest was coming down to usher them up. I asked if they didn't have any rules or anything about allowing people to just come and party in the rooms of the guests (especially when they looked so ROUGH). They acted like 'duh'... no. There's nothing we can do about it. I started to get on the elevator and just stepped backwards off of it due to the 'characters' on the elevator who looked just too scary for me to feel comfortable. Even on Sunday morning, after mentioning the "wanderers" from the street coming in and out, the front desk clerk said she had been there all morning and hadn't seen any. Right after that, two of them walked in from the street and around the corner to the bathroom on the main floor. She was oblivious.

Anyway - I won't go back there. Plus, the area surrounding the hotel is also scary.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites.

We are deeply sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. Your comments have been reviewed by our Executive Committee, and steps have been taken to ensure that another guest does not have the same experience. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused. Safety and Security of our guests is of the utmost priority during their stay.

Thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

With our very best regards,


Your Sheraton Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
#66 of 121 in Saint Louis
817 reviews
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis City Center Hotel

Property: St. Louis City Center Hotel
Address: 400 South 14th Street, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2708 (Formerly Sheraton City Center)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Louis City Center Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Louis City Center Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in the heart of downtown. The historic flavor of this 1929 landmark building combines with modern comforts to create a unique experience with something for everyone. Spread out and relax in one of our beautifully appointed, oversized guest rooms, offering FREE high speed internet, queen sofa sleepers, wet bars, and refrigerators. Relax on our sun deck next to the indoor heated swimming pool, or experience an innovative meal of American-styled entrees and daily chef specials in the upscale setting of bistro 14. You can also take a well-deserved break in Columns Lounge, conveniently located in the lobby. Our hotel is adjacent to the Metro Link/Light Rail system, so you can easily visit downtown attractions like the Gateway Arch, Busch Stadium, Riverboat Casinos, and Union Station. We are also directly across from the Scottrade Center Sports Arena—home of the St. Louis Blues—as well as the renowned Peabody Opera House, where performances, concerts, and special events are staged. With 30,000 square feet of meeting room space, all equipped with Internet access, our facilities are a great choice for your next event. Our one-of-a-kind city view ballroom boasts spectacular views of the downtown skyline and is a beautiful setting for weddings, as well as social functions. We look forward to welcoming you to the St. Louis City Center Hotel —now 100% smoke-free. Together we can leave the air the way it was meant to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your St. Louis City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton City Center St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing