We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean big rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Louis City Center Hotel
Ranked #91 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean big rooms.”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel was nice, clean and comfortable. The room was large and had a pull out bed in the couch for our 4 year old. It is right across the street from the Metro Train station so it is easy to grab a train. We took the train to get to the Zoo and back. You can also take it to Busch Stadium or just walk. its only a few blocks east. The Club lounge wasn't that great. It's pretty small compared to most that we use and enjoy. The food service for the club also seemed pretty spotty, as it was supposed to start at 5 pm but we had to call down at almost 6 pm to ask about the food. They were quick to fix things, but it happened the following day as well. I don't think the Club is worth the cost at this place.

Room Tip: The interior rooms just look into an atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkyvett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites for your recent hotel visit. We truly appreciate you staying with us and appreciate the time you took to complete this survey after your departure. It is valued conscientious Guests such as yourself that provide us the feedback necessary to continue to improve our products and Services.

Here at The Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel, we believe that feedback is a gift. Your comments have been shared with our Leadership Team, and action steps have been taken to improve the timeliness and offerings in our Club Lounge, while maintaining the integrity of our Brand Standards. As we continue to strive to exceed all guests’ expectations and want every guest to have an exceptional stay; your feedback is imperative for us to better understand the needs and concerns of our guests.

Once again, we thank you for your patronage and hope that you will give us another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to Total Customer Satisfaction.

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    300
    204
    147
    126
See reviews for
319
235
49
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I enjoy Sheraton properties, I try to stay in a Sheraton whatever city I end up in (SPG Plat)- St Louis is no different! The location is great, the rooms are nicely sized (although the furniture in the rooms is dated), and the staff is very friendly! I want to specifically call out Maurice up in the Club Lounge, I've never met a more friendly guy! As someone who travels most weeks out of the year, having the feeling of "home away from home" is important and Maurice goes above and beyond that. Over the course of the first month I was here, it was Maurice who fostered that feeling of home. Can't say enough about this guy- if you have access to the 8th floor Club room, it's worth your time to stop in and say hi!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mwright1973, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Sheraton St. Louis City Center Hotel & Suites. We truly appreciate you staying with us and appreciate the time you took to share your experience. It is valued conscientious Guests such as yourself that provide us the feedback necessary to continue to improve our products and services.

It was gratifying to learn that you experienced what we try to instill in our associates, “going above and beyond” and ensuring that our hotel is our guests’ “home away from home”. Your comments will be shared with Maurice and all of our associates, to reinfore the fruits of their efforts.

Thank you again for the gift of your feedback

Warm regards,

Mark Wright
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were very pleased with the standard of the rooms and the service although it was pricey, and it was very handy for the local metro. However the surrounding area was lacking in restaurants and bars - it also did not feel totally safe, and we do like to walk and get out of the hotel, so I have downgraded the rating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_STL, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Keith O,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are sorry to hear that you didn't feel as safe as we might like you to feel. With our location being so close to several methods of mass transportation and public transportation that is more foot traffic in our area than other hotels and parts of downtown. We assure you this is a safe area. We are glad to know you enjoyed your trip. You are correct that our property is not in the heart of the restaurant and bar district, but may methods of transportation in our area to make it easier to get around. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed the room and the staff, but are disappointed to know you didn't feel the experience matched the cost of the hotel. We are thankful you took the time to share your feedback so that we know where to begin improving in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Overall the Hotel was nice. But everything costed alot. Parking, WiFi, food & beverages. You pay a high price to stay and then have to purchase everything. Comfortable beds, bath and size of suite. The resturant was nice and everyone was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaMct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_STL, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
LisaMct,

Thank you for your review of our Sheraton. We are glad to know you enjoyed the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper bed, the size of the suite, and your restaurant experience. While we try to ensure the price of our amenities are comparable or less than other downtown St. Louis hotels, we understand that unexpected fees can put a damper on your trip. We apologize if this was the case during your visit with us. We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback and we hope to visit with you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We got this hotel through a priceline express deal. It was rated 3.5 stars, but I gotta say--this is a hotel which sorely needs renovation. We stayed one night here and one night at the Sheraton in Clayton and they were like night and day.

On the plus side: the rooms at the Sheraton St Louis were large. We were first shown a room with two queens and a sofa--quite spacious--, but it smelled like smoke, so they upgraded us to a suite with two queens that was enormous. the in room fridge was handy. the soundproofing was great, and the pool is excellent--up on the top floor, with a nice view, free wifi, and a hot tub. My kids had a great time up there. the location is good, right off the 64, but we didn't hear any street noise (from the 12th floor). didn't hear any noise from the corridor or from adjoining rooms at all.

on the minus side: the couch, carpet, furniture were just plain old. my daughter had really bad allergies in the room itself (not sure if it was the dust,the mold, or pets, since she is allergic to all 3). the walls had scuff marks, the furniture was kind of scratched and cheap, the bathroom shower could have been cleaner. the toilet was super loud when it refilled. the room looked like it had been renovated on the cheap in the 90s. even the parking garage is kind of dirty.

honestly, if you hadn't told me it was a sheraton, there is no way i would have guessed so. i think with a major renovation this could be a decent place but I am not sure i would stay there again. it's definitely not as nice as the hyatt regency, where we stayed last time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Illinois_traveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_STL, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Illinois_traveler22,

Thank you for being so honest with us regarding your visit even though all of it was not good. We are so happy to know you enjoyed the pool, the location, and the size of the guest room. It is true that our furniture and carpet is older and worn more than we would hope. We look forward to a renovation sooner rather than later. We will be sure to share this feedback with our ownership team. We have shared your feedback regarding the parking garage with the parking team and they have since cleaned it and repainted the lines for the parking spots. Our engineering team is looking for loud noises from the toilets in the guest rooms when they inspect the rooms so that our guests do not have a similar experience moving forward. We appreciate the time you took to share this feedback. We can only do better moving forward if our guests are willing to share their experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I were making a last minute weekend trip to see family, and we decided to get a hotel in St Louis for the evening to break up the drive. We have stayed at different hotels in the past in St Louis and never had an issue... until this time.

Parking - $17/day self park or $28/day for valet (I would recommend self parking). Surprisingly I didn't feel the parking fee was too expensive, as we have stayed in other hotels with parking fees around $30-$40/night)

Location - Pretty decent location, very close to Busch Stadium.

Building/Hotel Grounds - NEEDS A MAKEOVER. The exterior looks dirty, and stale. The lobby, actually looked OK. It wasn't too bad. The hallways to the rooms were very dull, old wallpaper that was ripping, carpet that clearly needed to get cleaned.

Check-In - When we checked into the hotel, the hotel staff at the front desk wasn't very friendly. We checked in pretty late, around 11pm, but didn't expect our front desk lady to be rude. We asked about the possibility of getting a higher floor. No. We asked if she could help guide us to where the parking structure was. No. We asked what type of room she would be giving us (we reserved with a 3rd party site), and she wouldn't comment. She did, however, ask for our credit card. Lovely.

Rooms - We had, what I believe is a standard King room.
Pros - The room was, I will say, quite spacious. The ceilings were tall. And there was a TV placed in an awkward location. That's about it.
Cons - We overlooked a ridiculous indoor courtyard, looking into other rooms. The sofa bed and seating area, completely outdated. Old, stale, there were clear scuff marks all over the wooden furniture. Stains on the sofabed. Bar area, while nice, the plastic cups provided were never changed as there were food remains and sauces stuck to them from a previous stay. Bathroom was OK, it does the job, but nothing special of it. Bathtub had visible signs of mold developing.

Overall - it did the job for us as we were staying for only 1 night, but this hotel is not worth the 3.5 stars it rates itself, consider it more a 1.5-2 star hotel. I will NOT be staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I would ask for a higher floor, or a room that faces the City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniye5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_STL, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Jenniye5,

We appreciate the honest review you have given us because it allows us to work on this moving forward. We can't deny that our hotel is older and has more wear and tear than we would like, but we try to make up for this with wonderful customer service. It seems this wasn't the case during your visit. We will follow up with our team to ensure that are providing our guests with a warm and comfortable experience. Thank you for your patience while during your visit. Our housekeeping team and our engineering team will look in to the opportunities you expressed regarding the condition of the building. We are currently doing a very deep cleaning of the property that will address any torn wallpaper and anything that may look like mold is developing. Thank you once again for your feedback. It certainly gives us useful information to better the experirence we provide for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel needs a make over. Functional for a nice night of sleep, but that it ia. The sofa queen is really bad.
Location is great if you want to attend a Blues game, if not, i will not recommend it. Will not be back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton_STL, Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
tony2905,

We are sorry to hear you didn't love your experience with us. It is true that our hotel is older than most other Sheratons and could use a renovation in the near future. Our hope is that our staff provides such a great experience that our guests don't mind that our property is older than some. We are sorry to hear this wasn't the case. You are also correct that our location is great for blues games (and Cardinals games as well!) since we are only a block away. We hope that the next time you are in the area that you will visit with us once more. We assure you the experience you have with our team will be excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,417 reviews
Downtown
Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
#58 of 121 in Saint Louis
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis City Center Hotel

Property: St. Louis City Center Hotel
Address: 400 S 14th St, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2708 (Formerly Sheraton City Center)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Louis City Center Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Louis City Center Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Louis City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton City Center St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing