We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff-Location-Room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Louis City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Louis City Center Hotel
Ranked #86 of 119 Hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersSilver level
St Louis MO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Staff-Location-Room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Spent 1 night and received an easy early check in thanks to Maggie. Very pleasant staff...from parking attendant to check in. Rooms were very spacious and clean. Yes.. a "little" dated but not so much that it would stop me from staying here again. The location is outstaning within walking distance to Scott Trade....The Peabody and even Union Station. There are added fees for internet and parking but reasonable. Shop around all the sites to get the best deal. I got a great deal right from the hotels website. Ohh...the bed and pillows so comfortabale. Had a great nights sleep!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate all of our guest’s feedback. We are thrilled to hear that our associates were able to take such good care of you. We are also very happy to hear that you enjoyed the Sheraton Sweet Sleeper mattress which is available for purchase at sheraton.com, or you can of course always come back and enjoy one on your next trip to St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    291
    195
    136
    107
See reviews for
303
216
45
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked what I thought would be a nice room and got a spacious suite. Very clean and comfortable and the staff were wonderful. When the air conditioner went out, we got immediate attention and were moved to another suite within half hour. The downtown location was excellent as there was a lot going on at the time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meema53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate all of our guest feedback. We were thrilled to hear that you were plesantly surprised with your stay. We thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to connecting with you on your next journey to St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I booked a three night stay in St. Louis for a getaway with my girlfriend who is going to school in a nearby town. To say that we were greeted with open arms would be an understatement. The staff were wonderful during our entire visit. The room was spotless, and the bed made fresh each afternoon. The pillows were spectacular, and the mattress was great too. With the economy taking its toll on St. Louis, the staffing levels seemed to be cut back, but the folks that were there working made up for it. A giant thank you to the front desk staff, the bartender, and the housekeeping group for making our stay so memorable. We'll be back in a few weeks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled to hear that our team was able to make your stay a memorable one! We look forward to connecting with you and your girlfriend upon your next journey to St. Louis!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is not right down but the suites are large and beds comfortable. The hotel furniture and decor are getting shabby and need updating. Coffee in the room and flat panel TV but with few non pay channels. Well lit rooms with desk and lots of room in the sitting area with a master bed but much tighter in the suites with two queen beds.
The food in the bar not so great, my son's blue cheese bacon burger came without the bacon but came quickly at 11:00pm. The burger was very dry and over cooked but my Cobb salad was awesome.
We paid $99 excluding taxes for the room which I felt was fair value.
Right by the metro and trolley to downtown so easy to get to the action.
Small fridge and sink in the room.
Pool only opened at 9:00 am and closed at about 10:00pm so we were unable to see or use it.
Maybe like a cheap Embassy Suites?

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLHusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate all of our guest feedback as it is a way for us to improve our service. We are aware that some of our facilities are in need of updating. We hope to overcome some of these opportunities with the service that our team provides. Providing a consistently great product is important to our Chef and we hope that you give us an opportunity to deliver you a great meal in the future. We look forward to connecting with you and your family upon your next trip to St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans La
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Quite pleasant stay. Club level accommodations with a "suite" upgrade. Friendly helpful staff. No problem with the valet service, the car was always there waiting regardless of the time of day. Only gripe would be that the club lounge was usually empty of water and snacks, and a little thin on the breakfast selections. The building itself was a old St. Louis warehouse, so the exterior pictures everyone sees are that of a quite amazing painted facade..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oleredandblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are please to hear that our hotel and our team were able to exceed your expectations. Thank you for your feedback regarding the Club Lounge we have taken steps to ensure that the Lounge is more adquately stocked. We look forward to connecting with you upon your next trip to St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Sizeable, clean rooms. Very comfortable. Our windows face the inside of the building which is a little strange. Nice pool and whirlpool (like sitting in a washing machine!). The main thing is the staff have been brilliant.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riddlemethis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities. We are even more thrilled that our team was able to take great care of you and make this a good experience. We look forward to connecting with you upon your next journey to St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

DO NOT stay at this hotel and absolutely DO NOT use the valet service!! My vehicle was damaged by a valet attendant upon return. The valet jumped out of the car and apologized immediately and took full responsibility for the damage. It has been over a month and I am still constantly calling this hotel and dealing with this accident. They have been very uncooperative!!!! The management staff has been unhelpful! Funny thing is the auto body repair center told me this would happen. Said this is par for the course with this type of incident. Very disappointed in this hotel!!

Room Tip: I woud recommned the Ball Park Hilton over this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. The hotel has taken full responsibility for the accident that occurred. The claim was submitted to our insurance company and our adjustor assures us that the matter has been handled. We take the safety of our guests and their property very seriously and we do everything that we can to ensure that these matters are handled in the most professional way possible. If you have any questions please feel free to contact the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#18 of 119 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
#51 of 119 in Saint Louis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
Downtown
Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis City Center Hotel

Property: St. Louis City Center Hotel
Address: 400 S 14th St, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2708 (Formerly Sheraton City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Louis City Center Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Louis City Center Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your St. Louis City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton City Center St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing