We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Good Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
St. Louis City Center Hotel
Ranked #91 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fredonia, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Staff, Good Restaurant”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

I enjoyed the clean rooms, friendly staff, and OK Breakfast Buffet. I truly appreciated the hotel was across the street from the Amtrak station. It was so easy to get off and on the train.

The area restaurants close pretty early. I would recommend taking a cab to go out to eat.

The rooftop pool and fitness center was great! Great full length lap pool with hot tub. Very clean and a great view.

I walked around downtown during the day. The arch is a bit of a hike. I enjoyed the sculpture gardens and the train station converted into a mall.

Upon talking to city officials, they have gotten a real grasp on day time crime. They had private security in the sculpture garden.

I booked through the Sheraton 800 line and was very satisfied.

Room Tip: Use the trolley to get around downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very happy to hear that our team was able to take good care of you and that you enjoyed the city. We look forward to connecting with you upon your next journey to St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    300
    204
    147
    126
See reviews for
319
235
49
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel itself was nice enough but you have to drive everywhere and it is in a very remote location. There are no restaurants, stores, etc. nearby. When we did ask the staff for directions to a drugstore, they gave us vague/inaccurate directions. Since there are no amenities nearby, a complimentary cup of coffee and/or breakfast would be a nice perk.

The lobby was cold and uninviting. Did not feel safe. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mopeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. We are sorry to hear that our team did not provide you with accurate directions. We have many different dining options in the downtown area that are within walking distance. We hope that upon your next journey to St. Louis that you allow us to impress you with our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stay at this hotel because it is right across the street from the Amtrack station. We can leave our car in the parking garage and walk across the street to grab the train. It is also within walking distance to the hockey (?) arena.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madmom8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate all of our guest feedback. We are happy to hear that our location is a big plus for you. We hope that we can continue to draw you in with our superior service. We look forward to you staying with us upon your next journey to St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Frankfort, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night for Madonna concert at Scott trade center. Our room was huge and had 2 queen beds and a separate sitting area and wet bar. It was a Thursday night and the concert did not get over until nearly 1 am. When we retuned to hotel 1- block from concert - none of the restaurants were open - not even room service. I realize it was a Thursday night, but on a concert night when the hotel I'm sure was sold out, you would think they would have some food. We ordered a pizza in the room, which was fine. Hotel is in great location if you have concert to attend as you can walk without having to worry about parking.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslierph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. We appreciate your feedback and we are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy your stay and the concert. We do apologize that there were no food venues open within the hotel after your return. We do always offer sandwiches in our gift shop for our guests that return really late. We look forward to connecting with you upon your next journey to St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
99 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Only spent one night here. The meeting rooms and staff were very pleasant. The building itself was built in 1928 and was used as a distribution center for J.C. Penney company. The building is a landmark for St Louis and in 2001 the Sheraton St Louis City Center Hotel & Suites opened. The building itself is pretty interesting. Rooms are large and but, outdated. The bed was very comfortable. The biggest complaint I would have are the towels were rough and some had spots and even holes in them.

It's situated right across the street from the metro link and was an easy ride directly from the airport for only $4.00 per person. A little scary at times but, I saved $50 by taking this to the hotel and cabbed it back. The hotel is right across the street from Scott Trade Center so it was a easy walk to Madonna who was in town that night. I would stay there again but, don't expect a 4 star hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the arch. City Side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 34pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. We are happy to hear that our team was very pleasant both in your meeting and throughout your stay. We are aware that some of our facilities are in need of an update and we do our best to make up for this with our service. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next journey to St. Louis and hope that you choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here due to proximity of Scottrade Center. It was really nice to walk across the street to our show. Parking in the garage was $12 a day and the night of the show there was no parking despite our pre-purchase due to double parked cars. The valet parked us for free which was appreciated.

The a/c unit was really loud in our room (rattle) so we turned it off altogether. Decent hotel overall.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri11556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate all of our guest feedback as it is a vital way for us to improve our service. We apologize for cars double parking and taking up too many spots. We are happy to hear that our team was able to take care of your issue right away. We look forward to your next journey to St. Louis and hope that you choose to connect with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The City Center Sheraton is a nice hotel with big rooms and comfortable beds. The hotel has a good workout center and very nice indoor pool for lap swimming. Your room key is your security access in the hotel. You will need the key card not only to get into your room but to get access to the room floors in the elevator.

The Sheraton is centraly located in St. Louis. The Scottrade Center is accross the street, Busch Stadium is about six bloocks down the street and the Gateway Arch Park is an easy walk away.

The hotel staff was helpful and overall it plesent stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGA62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate all of our guest feedback. We are thrilled to hear that you found the members of our team to be pleasant and helpful. We pride ourselves on delivering outstanding service to our guests and are happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations. We look forward to connecting with you upon your next journey to St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn St. Louis at Union Station
Downtown
Westin St. Louis
Westin St. Louis
#19 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,417 reviews
Downtown
Crowne Plaza Hotel St. Louis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn - St. Louis Downtown at the Gateway Arch
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis
#58 of 121 in Saint Louis
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Louis City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Louis City Center Hotel

Property: St. Louis City Center Hotel
Address: 400 S 14th St, Saint Louis, MO 63103-2708 (Formerly Sheraton City Center)
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — St. Louis City Center Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Louis City Center Hotel is a beautifully appointed hotel in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Louis City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton City Center St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Hotel Saint Louis
Sheraton Saint Louis
Saint Louis Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing