We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Louis City Center Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$379
$321
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
The Hotel Majestic St. Louis(Saint Louis)(Great Value!)
$224
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$392
$342
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Parkway Hotel(Saint Louis)
$189
$183
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$154
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch(Saint Louis)(Great Value!)
$239
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$307
$299
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Moonrise Hotel(Saint Louis)
$287
$229
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,101)
Filter reviews
1,101 results
Traveler rating
208
324
234
172
163
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
324
234
172
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun deckscott trade centerbusch stadiumhockey gameamtrak stationwet barscotttrade centersitting arearoom was largemini fridgeking bedgateway archbluespeabodysinkszoostl
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
699 - 704 of 1,101 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

nice hotel, people working there were pretty nice and helpful. but there is no wireless internet in the rooms. wireless is available in the lobby, which isnt the best place to work, but better than nothing. location for sports and the arch is fantastic. walk to all. dinning is limited in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rbl525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you very much for your response. We are aware that some of the features of our hotel are in need of an updating. We do our best to try to impress all of our guests with superior service. It is disappointing that you did not receive this during your stay. We pride ourselves on the service that we deliver and hope that in the future that you will give us the opportunity to show you our exceptional service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Positives: If going to a hockey game it's a short walk. If you are traveling with dogs, it's pet friendly. Huge pool and hot tub on the 13th floor. Great water pressure and hotter water than most hotels. The toilet and shower was seperate from the double sink. Most of the staff was not UNfriendly...but not friendly and hospitable like most hotels I've stayed at. Starbuck coffee.

Negatives: Lobby isn't bad but once past that- it is dark, dingy and oh so outdated. We went through hotwire so we got what we got, it must of been a suite. One king sized bed that practically took up the whole bedroom and a living room (dirty, very uncomfortable pull-out sofa), a wet bar, desk and tv. There was 3 of us and after seeing that we had only one bed, we asked to be moved to a room with 2 beds, but they said no since we booked with Hotwire.

No wifi. Really? In this day and age? Hotels with a lesser rating offer free wifi. The internet connection was zippo as there wasn't good reception in our room. This was a HUGE negative!

The wall paper was coming off in some areas of the room and I have never stayed in a hotel where it was so dark, even with all the lights on. With the curtains opened the bed area was better but rest of the rooms were dark.

Our room had a stanky smell to it as if it was a smoker's room even though the hotel is smoke free.

Pool was huge but needed algae remover or something. There was plenty of chlorine as it was very strong smelling but the pool bottom was slick. The hot tub didn't look very sanitary either.

No restaurants or much of anything around the hotel. Close to the hockey stadium and 4 1/2 blocks from the Union Station (which is very dissapointing in the last 15 - 20 yrs), but the immediate area of the hotel is isolated and a bit itimadating. Lots of homeless people hanging out in the park we walked by to the Union Station. Bus station across the hotel.

Other costs involved: $17 for parking per night (which, I suppose is normal for downtown). $14.50 for a burger or sandwhich with fries. $6.50 domestic draft beer. $9.00 for a kids' meal. $9 cab ride for 4 1/2 blks (the ride back from Union Station).

I will continue to use Hotwie but will hope that I don't get this Sheraton again.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere unless you are bringing your dog and going to Scotts Trade Center. If using Hotwire or Priceline, etc they'll give you their worst rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moxieme63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your review. We appreciate our guests taking the time to write these reviews as they are a great way to help us improve the service that we provide to our guests. We strive to make all of our guest experiences great ones. We hope that upon your next trip to St. Louis that you give us the chance to show you our exceptional service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel sort of sits on its own and there is not that much nearby - plan to drive around. The rooms feel dated. The suite I stayed in was only one room and had an odd layout though larger than a typical room. The room was along the interior courtyard which is loud as voices echo. The pool is big

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorsburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are aware that some of our facilities are in need of updating. However we do attempt to provide the best service possible. We hope that upon your next journey to St. Louis you will allow us to impress you with our superior service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I recently moved to St. Louis and were looking to do a Staycation in the city. I had hotel points so we decided to redeem them on a night at the Sheraton. I read mixed reviews but thought--what the heck!? it's "free". In hindsight, we wish we would have just stayed home and saved the hotel points.

Like many of the other reviews point out, the carpet is pretty disgusting. We stayed in room 692 and there was a huge stain on the floor when you walk in and the wall had black streaks on it. I was afraid of walking around barefoot. The tub was pretty subpar and the water did not drain well so you have to shower in about three inches of tub water.

The grossest part was when we pulled back the sheets. There was a brown stain in the middle of our sheets. I called housekeeping to see if they'd come up and re-make the bed... and about ten minutes later a man in a maintenance uniform walked up with two top sheets and dropped them off. I had to walk the sheets down to the lobby to request a bottom sheet.

Everything about the hotel seemed old--- from the fake green plants outside the hotel rooms, to the hair dryers in the room with a nasty stickyness and the gym mats that looked like they'd never been cleaned.

I've written over 50 reviews of hotels on Trip Advisor (five hotels in St. Louis) and rarely give low scores. I will never recommend this place to other visitors and am surprised that Starwood Hotels has not sold this hotel off to another brand. Nothing about the service, hotel or amenities was outstanding.

I work for a large company in town and often am asked to make hotel recommendations. Here are my top picks:

Top Tier:
Chase Park Plaza in the Central West End
Ritz Carlton in Clayton
Four Seasons

2nd Tier:
Hilton Downtown (the bar on top is pretty incredible)
Seven Gables Inn in Clayton (Boutique Hotel)
Park Ave. Mansion in LaFayette Square (Bed and Breakfast)
Crown Plaza in Clayton

3rd Teir:
Parkway in the Central West End
Homewood Suites in Clayton

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JustCallmeTourGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are aware that some of our facilities are in need of updating. We make every attempt to ensure that our guests are always satisfied. We pride ourselves on delivering outstanding service. We thank you for the feedback as it is a useful tool in helping us improve the guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on my birthday on a weekday. This hotel was older and the rooms could definitely use updating (the TV were not even flat screen models, but boxy small 28"!), but it was clean and has nice amenities. There is a huge pool and also a hot tub on the rooftop along with a nice workout room. The mattress and pillows were very uncomfortable and the agents at check in were very slow. It is conveniently located within walking distance of major city attractions. Very quiet and the room has nice darkening blinds. They seem to charge you extra for everything... parking $20.... wireless access $10.... I think these things should be included for the price of the room. We actually got a flyer under a door that said they were beginning room renovations that week.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bulldogmom1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtney D, Front Office Manager at St. Louis City Center Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Sheraton City Center. We have begun updates on some of the features of our guest rooms and we are pleased to report that all of our TV's have been upgraded to the flat panel models. We look forward to your next trip to St. Louis so that you can checkout some of our new amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews