We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Overpriced, overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Westin St. Louis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Westin St. Louis
Ranked #16 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced, overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2006

We stayed at the Westin soley based on comments from tripadvisor.com, and I was a little disappoined. Great service is what makes a place like this work, and we had a hard time finding anyone who seemed to care that we were spending $300 to stay at their hotel. The rooms are big, and bathrooms are spacious. Room service was ridiculous. Don't order the mac and cheese... it's from Kraft straight out of the box. Very odd. I think we'll try someplace else next time we're in town.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    315
    84
    35
    19
See reviews for
257
382
75
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Westin on May 26-- the first night of our honeymoon--after our St. Louis wedding and before we flew out for our trip.

We paid $199 for a romance package that included a deluxe room with a huge bed (that Heavenly bed), a generous bathroom and chocolate covered strawberries and pretzels (in place of wine; we're not drinkers).

In addition to our EXCELLENT room and snacks, we found that we got complimentary breakfast coupons, so we enjoyed delicious waffles (a $24 value) at the Clark St. restaurant in the hotel.

After we checked out using the handy express option, we walked out and easily Metrolinked to Lambert.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone!

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank DCmetrodogmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2006

Overall the hotel was excellent. The rooms were huge, the heavenly bed was nice, the bathroom was excellent (full of marble with a soaking tub and seperate shower). The restaurants food was the best we had while in St. Louis and the staff there was eager to please. The hotel is right next to Busch stadium so its perfect if you want to catch a game. I would recommend this hotel, although I would not recommend St. Louis as a tourist location because there is very little to do there.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dreaming_of_Vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2006

We just got back from the Westin last weekend and are so glad that we stayed there! I like Westin\ hotels because of the Heavenly Bed but this hotel had even more to offer! The staff from the moment we arrived was fantastic by being extremely courteous and helpful. Our room was great and very spacious. The bathroom was huge with a separate tub and glass enclsoed shower with good water pressure, huge window, and long granite top sink with plenty of fluffy towels and bathrobe. The restaurant was also very good. We had breakfast and dinner there. It is also a great location, directly across the street from the new stadium and close to good downtown restaurants. We even had a view of the arch. If we ever need to go back to St. Louis, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank hokiepi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2006

Stayed here while in town for a conference. Agree that Alan the concierge was great, as were all the staff we encountered. Really nice hotel. Had a great corporate rate. A little noisy on the stadium side of the hotel (odd numbered room) since they are working around the clock to complete the stadium, but the view was great on that side. Loved it. Will be my first choice on future trips to St. Louis.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vacationlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Level Contributor
108 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2006

We went to St. Louis for our one year anniversary and stayed at this Westin because of the reviews. The hotel is so beautiful. The rooms are really nice. We had the most amazing view of the new stadium being built and the arch. If you land at the airport, you can take the train/metra thing right to the hotel. I mean it stops at the hotel (underground of course so, you don't see it). The concierge (Alan) was absolutely amazing he gave us all the tips we needed and we really had an easy time because of him. They kept giving us maps of downtown with the areas circled of where we were going and how to get there. When the stadium opens this place is going to be so booked all the time because it is litterally across the street from the stadium. Bad points...Not that there is a lot, but there were a few. No vending machines anywhere (they want you to use that mini-bar and a soda out of it is $3.25 for a 12 ounce can). There isn't a huge amount of things to do in downtown (shopping wise). I would call ahead and see if you can rent a car out of the hotel (if you're flying) that way you can take the train to the hotel and not have to pay airport taxes on your car rental.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bealll95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2006

We just spent the night at the Westin and had a great time. The bed and beding were heavenly (as advedrtised). Just a few things kept this visit from being extra ordinary. The Ergonomic chair had funky stains on it and the quality of the TV didn’t match up with the quality of the room (like wearing dress socks and running shoes, it just looks out of place). Beyond that, the staff was friendly and helpful and the location cant be beat. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tydis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 121 in Saint Louis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. Louis

Property: Westin St. Louis
Address: 811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1717
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#5 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin St. Louis 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cupples Station section of St. Louis, the Westin St. Louis boasts a premiere setting. Enjoy the nearby federal courthouse, pedestrian mall, and famed Gateway Arch. Watch a Cardinals game at Busch stadium or just explore the city. A convenient Avis car rental onsite makes getting around easy.Your experience at the Westin St. Louis will be sure to engage the senses, with an interactive display kitchen at the delicious Clark Street Grill.Reenergize and renew in our Solera Health Club & Spa, a full-service spa featuring a selection of soothing signature treatments including massage, body treatments, and facials. Our full service business center allows you to take care of any last-minute details if you are hosting an event in one of our various meeting spaces.The guest rooms and suites at the Westin St. Louis are beautifully appointed, with contemporary conveniences such as High Speed Internet Access, and our signature Heavenly Bed®. Boasting high ceilings and a separate soaking tub, you are sure to stay relaxed during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Starwood, Jetsetter and Hotwire so you can book your Westin St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Westin Saint Louis
Saint Louis Westin
Westin Hotel St Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing