We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not biker friendly but....”
Review of Westin St. Louis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin St. Louis
Ranked #19 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 27, 2014

....Otherwise a great hotel....got a great value on this place and the quality is unbelievable....the bathroom and decor is fantastic....u know u r in an upscale place....right across from busch stadium....only complaint was we showed up to check and and the valet came running out....u cant park a bike here...well....we just want to check in...he told us to take the bike to the lot across the street....then come check in....after I told him we would check in and then leave he said we need to get the bike over to that lot...cars??? park here! motorcycle....get out....outside of that...really nice stay

Room Tip: dont ride up....
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hiplain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
There are newer reviews for Westin St. Louis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

584 - 590 of 1,475 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2014

I have visited on business, and will definitely return. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable: the room was fairly large, the beds were comfortable, temperature in the rooms was easy to control, the shades blocked out almost all light at night, and everything was tidy, clean, and well designed. The gym stood out, in particular. It was very clean, well stocked with new equipment, tvs over the treadmills, and importantly-- not crowded (despite that the gym is a shared one open to the local community for memberships). This all at a relatively reasonable price for a Westin.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I spent one night for my birthday just to get out of the house. Absolutely amazing rooms and staff. Everyone was friendly and smiling. Ester and Steven at the bar downstairs were excellent. They brought my girlfriend and myself an amazing ice cream covered brownie garnished with strawberries. The thoughtfulness and surprise of it is something you just do not find at a large chain hotel. Excellent

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I travel to St. Louis often for work and The Westin is by far the best hotel in downtown St. Louis. Each stay is better than the last. From the kind, courteous, and professional staff, to the meticulous, comfortable rooms and common areas, each stay has been nothing less than exceptional. The best part, you are minutes from all of the great restaurants, landmarks and of course, Busch Stadium. If you are looking for a relaxing and enjoyable place to stay, go to Westin.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I spent one night here while visiting St. Louis on business. The location of this hotel is outstanding - across the street from the ball park and a block or so away from the City Garden, which is a really cool area with many fountains dancing and otherwise, and kids are allowed to swim in the fountain pools. The hotel is very nice. I stayed in an upgraded room, which was spotless and huge, with a beautiful bathroom (separate huge shower and tub). I always stay at SPG properties and am a Platinum member. Since Westins don't have a club lounge, this hotel provides a free breakfast in the regular restaurant. I had the buffet - the selection was very good and the food was of high quality. This hotel will be my top choice for future visits as long as the rate is not too high.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Love2TravelVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel is adjacent to Busch Stadium, incredibly convenient if you are going to see the Cards, but the late-night noise does permeate the sound barrier (as we discovered during our stay!). On the plus-side, we walked to the Gateway Arch in about 15 minutes.

Trade-off Alert: If you are a Starwood member and book your room through a third party web site, you do not earn points. Maybe that's common knowledge to the frequent business traveler, but we were unaware of this policy. However, if value is a priority, you can find packages that include free self-parking ($30/day), a coupon for the breakfast buffett for two ($15/pp). The valets park the cars in the same lot as self-parking and there is a 24 hour security attendant so the increased price in this case does not net "upgraded" parking.

The rooms were standard Westin: contemporary decor, nice but not luxurious. We did not find the bed heavenly; we found it very much of this earth-hard, uncomfortable, and with a stained pillowcase and two others tinged grey, showing they were past their prime.

The "premier king" had one sink with ample counter space to accommodate two sinks so why not two?? The water temp in the rain shower was lukewarm with the dial turned as far towards smoking hot as it would go-at 6:00 a.m. on a Saturday morning, so not a peak water usage window.

No bottled water in the room-if you use the coffee maker there is no "bar sink" either.
The "weird factor" is the art work prominently displayed in the bathroom. Perhaps it is a local artist? The themes are very disturbing and not conducive to relaxing. On the contrary, they have words/images depicting physical and emotional scarring and painful, traumatic memories (e.g break-ups, loved one's death).

Breakfast Buffett: This is a joke for $15/pp. Standard fare, dirty table at 6:15 a.m. on a Saturday suggests they left the tables dirty from the night before? We had to clean the table ourselves, no staff in sight. Lukewarm to cold food-basically unremarkable except for the price.

Conclusion: I've stayed in nicer Westins. I'd categorize this property as slightly above average compared to a Hampton (for example) but would only opt for it if the rates were comparable. And replace the art!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert W, General Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear wendy s,

I truly do appreciate the time you have taken to post your review and comments on Tripadvisor.com. At the Westin St. Louis, my management team and I value your feedback and breakdown every comment, good or not-so-good, and celebrate when possible and make improvements where necessary. In addition, I apologize that we failed to meet your expectations of the Westin brand, including the comfort and cleanliness of your bedding as well as the expectations of a shower with hot water. We have not experienced any mechanical issues that would be related to this issue and an adjustment in your specific room may be required. Our complimentary bottled water is located in the in-room mini-bar as we thought cold water would be a nice touch; I'm sorry you were not informed of this recent change. I have since discussed your comments regarding your breakfast with my Executive Chef and Restaurant Manager to ensure immediate improvement occurs, as this is an unacceptable display of our high quality product and service. Finally, the artwork in the bathrooms is from a local artist, as is all of the pieces in the hotel, and I’m sorry that its content and theme is not conducive to relaxing.

Wendy, your satisfaction is very important to me and my team and if you would like to discuss this with me further, please contact me at the hotel at 314-621-2000. I would appreciate that very much.

Thank you again and I look forward to hearing from you and having you return for a much better experience.

Best Regards,
Robert Weitz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel great location. Lower floor facing Busch stadium is noisy from train. Was given wheelchair access room which was not my request, but too tired and busy to change. The staff changed my room to an occupied room because they thought my things belonged to the prior guest. Did not really make sense since housekeeping had already cleaned the room. Front desk staff were friendly, but I think they changed the room status a bit carelessly. In the end odd experience but not too inconvenient.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amyloidbeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
813 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,382 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. Louis

Address: 811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1717
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $159 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cupples Station section of St. Louis, the Westin St. Louis boasts a premiere setting. Enjoy the nearby federal courthouse, pedestrian mall, and famed Gateway Arch. Watch a Cardinals game at Busch stadium or just explore the city. A convenient Avis car rental onsite makes getting around easy.Your experience at the Westin St. Louis will be sure to engage the senses, with an interactive display kitchen at the delicious Clark Street Grill.Reenergize and renew in our Solera Health Club & Spa, a full-service spa featuring a selection of soothing signature treatments including massage, body treatments, and facials. Our full service business center allows you to take care of any last-minute details if you are hosting an event in one of our various meeting spaces.The guest rooms and suites at the Westin St. Louis are beautifully appointed, with contemporary conveniences such as High Speed Internet Access, and our signature Heavenly Bed®. Boasting high ceilings and a separate soaking tub, you are sure to stay relaxed during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Westin St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Westin Saint Louis
Saint Louis Westin
Westin Hotel St Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing