We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class”
Review of Westin St. Louis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin St. Louis
Ranked #19 of 121 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a gem of a hotel. The rooms are large, clean with very comfortable beds. The staff is very professional and kind. It was a pleasure to deal with Yvette at the front desk. The Westin is fortunate to have her and others on their team. The location is ideal, next to the ballpark, restaurants and the metra train.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janeeb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

We certainly are fortunate to have Yvette! Thank you for sharing comments from your recent stay with us; I'm thrilled to know our associates offered kind, yet professional service. Our convenient location is within walking distance of many attractions, sporting venues and public transportation. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,475)
There are newer reviews for Westin St. Louis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

740 - 746 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed at. The service was superior and the room was in excellent condition. I very highly recommend that everyone "who can get" a reservation stays at this hotel. The vacation was defined based on the awesomeness of this hotel. Service was outstanding from Delavan who greeted me upon arrival, Yvette at the check-in desk, Derrick and Dia in the Grill, the young man who was mopping on the fifth floor who took the time to show me how to get across the bridge on the fourth floor, and others whose name I do not remember. Everyone I came in contact with had a very pleasant caring attitude and made me feel most welcome. I do plan to stay at this Westin next year and any other time I am in St. Louis. I like how spacious the rooms are, the separate shower and bath and I can't forget to mention the "Heavenly" bed, and pillows I rested on "All Night. No tossing and turning and no headache. I liked the quietness of the room, and the great location of the hotel, in walking distant to down town, what an awesome place to stay.
Thanks to the entire staff for a great three days.
Mildred Sanders

Room Tip: Choose a room on the West side, corner view or Bush Stadium great sights and view.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mildred S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you for so many compliments, and the high recommendation! Our associates truly love what they do and I'm thrilled it shows, and am delighted to know everyone displays such a pleasant, caring attitude. Our Heavenly Beds do leave one with a feeling of renewal after an essential night's sleep. We stand ready to serve on your next visit; thank you for taking the time to post your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband, our two boys, and our family dog traveled across country over the summer. One of our last stops was the Westin. It was a wonderful hotel! It was close to the Arch and to the Saint Louis Cardinals stadium. We ended up going to a game that evening. And had room service after the game.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

I'm thrilled to hear you had a wonderful stay! Westin is a pet friendly hotel, and we are delighted to welcome our four-legged friends! Our convenient location is steps away from major attractions and sporting venues; it's great you were able to take in a game during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back if and when your travels find you in St. Louis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Being from St. Louis, my husband and I stayed for a night at the Westin St. Louis as a romantic "staycation" getaway. You can't beat the location - it's quiet, yet within walking distance of everything downtown, esp. Busch Stadium. The service was professional and accomodating; and the room was spapcious, clean, nicely decorated with comfortable beds/bedding. The restaurant actually had very good food but is still a bit overpriced, from my perspective. I'm guessing their target audience is probably business travelers??

Westin's big drawback was the paper-thin walls. You can clearly hear normal conversations next door and, even more so, their TV. Since our next-door TV wasn't exactly "blaring" by any standards, we didn't feel right about complaining to management. So, what was supposed to be a romantic, peaceful getaway was made a bit less peaceful and romantic.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room away from everything, including other travelers esp. when they're no...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MOGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

I'm thrilled to hear our associates offered professional and accomodating service! Our location is perfect for that much needed 'stay-cation, within walking distance of many attractions, dining venues and the stadium. Our Clark Street Grill offers a variety of menu options for breakfast, lunch and dinner; this allows guests to choose from a number of offerings. I apologize for the noisy neighbors; I do wish we had more control over the TV volume in a guest's room. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you for sharing your comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Westin is a lovely hotel situated directly across the street from Busch Stadium if that is of interest to you. It appears to have been recently renovated. My daughter got married in St. Louis so a block of rooms was reserved for guests of the wedding, however they scattered us all over the hotel and we, the parents, were placed in a completely different building than the others, which involved one set of elevators for our building, a walk across the lobby, and another set of elevators in the main building where most of the other members of our families were staying. It made it more difficult to see our one-year-old grandson, and less convenient for hair & makeup in the bridal suite. If I had known this would be a possibility, I would have definitely called to request being near the others, but I assumed we would be situated near each other. So, word of advice--call ahead and find out where they're planning to locate you if this is of importance to you for any reason. Also, my sister requested (ahead of arrival) a room near the elevator as her husband has movement issues, but her request was ignored--maybe she should have requested an ADA room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KnittingOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share comments from your daughter's very special day! We do our best to accomodate each individual guest's request for bed type and room type, which may prevent us from assigning rooms in a block next door to each other. We do offer ADA rooms which allow for ample movement within the guest room and guest bathroom. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very courteous and friendly staff. The room was quiet, comfortable and the linens are really cozy. If you're coming in town for a weekend series with the Cardinals, the location doesn't get much better. It's a block away. My only gripe is having to pay for wireless Internet. At a hotel like this? Really?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for sharing comments from your recent stay! We do offer all of the amenities one comes to expect from a four star, four diamond hotel. I'm thrilled to know our staff offered such courteous, friendly service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I love Starwood Properties and as far as the space itself goes, this one is extremely interesting and different, and that's where it ends.

I'd like to point this out early for those who won't read this entire review, check the schedule of events at the stadium before booking this hotel!!

There are some Pros and I'll start with those.

The rooms are extremely nice, very large, bright, open and very clean. The bathroom is the exact same.

That's about where it ends.

The hotel shows it's true colors even before you pull into the drive. I rarely rent a car but this trip and the city of St. Louis made that a requirement. The hotel's sign is literally blocked by a small tree, not to mention the hundreds of people flocking to the stadium. After finally pulling up into the hotel I discover that it also serves as a valet for the stadium and was directed to pull up, where I sat with no direction for a good five minutes before being greeted, given a key tag and left there with bags in hand. No offers to assist, no luggage cart, nothing.

We check in were pointed to a set of elevators which were nowhere near the room. We walked around for a few minutes before finding the room and discover there is a small elevator a few doors away from the room.

The next day get up, look for the gym, signs are no where to be found, (at least until you're at the point you can actually see the gym.) call 'Service Express' to ask where the gym is and am told it's in the 'other building', to which I reply, 'I have no clue what that means, I'm standing at the front desk, help me out where should we go?', and got a snippy but detailed answer.

The gym is branded as a 'spa', that term must be used loosely. As a hotel gym it's okay, but nothing spectacular at all.

Tried to use Service Express to see if they knew of a way to get same day tickets to St. Louis Arch and was told 'we don't do that'. So for other W people, this is not a 'Whatever Whenever' experience, it's more of a glorified operator, as there is no concierge at the actual concierge desk in the lobby.

Also, if you plan on going to bars/clubs there is no one around to call you a cab and there was no noticeable taxi stand around the building. After walking around we gave up and decided to take our rental car, which we then had track down the person who has the keys at 10:30/11pm on a Saturday night. They were behind the check-in counter.

All in all it's really sad the service level is so low, this hotel is in an amazing old warehouse space. Starwood properties aren't in abundance in STL and the one's which are here were booked. I ended up checking out two days earlier than planned and moving into another brand hotel in which the staff were much nicer and as an added perk it was a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share comments from your stay with us last year! We are conveniently located in the heart of downtown St. Louis, within steps of many attractions, including the Gateway Arch, dining venues and the stadium. I do apologize if you found the layout confusing, our historical building does allow us to offer a unique layout and spacious guest rooms and bathrooms. I also apologize that we are unable to sell tickets to any nearby attractions; especially a National Park. We stand ready to welcome you back if and when your travels find you in St. Louis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#9 of 121 in Saint Louis
814 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#5 of 121 in Saint Louis
1,384 reviews
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis Downtown at the Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. Louis

Address: 811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1717
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range: $159 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cupples Station section of St. Louis, the Westin St. Louis boasts a premiere setting. Enjoy the nearby federal courthouse, pedestrian mall, and famed Gateway Arch. Watch a Cardinals game at Busch stadium or just explore the city. A convenient Avis car rental onsite makes getting around easy.Your experience at the Westin St. Louis will be sure to engage the senses, with an interactive display kitchen at the delicious Clark Street Grill.Reenergize and renew in our Solera Health Club & Spa, a full-service spa featuring a selection of soothing signature treatments including massage, body treatments, and facials. Our full service business center allows you to take care of any last-minute details if you are hosting an event in one of our various meeting spaces.The guest rooms and suites at the Westin St. Louis are beautifully appointed, with contemporary conveniences such as High Speed Internet Access, and our signature Heavenly Bed®. Boasting high ceilings and a separate soaking tub, you are sure to stay relaxed during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Westin St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Westin Saint Louis
Saint Louis Westin
Westin Hotel St Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing