We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Hotel Next to Busch Stadium”
Review of Westin St. Louis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Westin St. Louis
Ranked #20 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Upscale Hotel Next to Busch Stadium”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for one night, on business.
The location of the hotel is directly across from Busch Stadium. Coming from Lambert Field – St. Louis’ main airport – it is very easy to take the Metrolink. This is St. Louis’ light rail public transportation system. The stations in the airport are at both terminal 1 - American & United, among others – and terminal 2 – Southwest. The fare from the airport is only $4. Going back was only $2.25 on a Saturday. Tickets are purchased from automated kiosks located at the airport and at the stations. Don't forget to validate your ticket after purchase. The validation machine is right there. The station for the Westin is called the Stadium station. It is literally right in between Busch Stadium and the hotel. As with all public transportation in large metropolitan areas, I might not take it late at night, but Metrolink to this hotel is very convenient.

I had a very large, modern, well –appointed, spotlessly clean, king room, with a large flat screen TV. There is an upholstered chair with ottoman; a work desk and comfortable desk chair.
Unfortunately, there is no refrigerator without using the minibar. There is an in-room safe that was big enough for my Ipad, but may not have fit a large lap top.
There is a coffee set up in the room on the large L shaped work desk. Two Starbucks coffee pods are supplied; one regular and one decaf. Additional coffee pods are available for purchase. I guess they decided that having someone like me have two cups, or take a coffee pod home, was cost prohibitive.
There is a very large bathroom with both a large shower and a tub. The shower has a very interesting shower head that is positioned very high [great for tall people] and provided ample water pressure in a directly downward direction. I believe some manufacturers would call this a rainforest shower head.
There were only two difficulties with an otherwise very pleasant stay. First, when meeting with colleagues in the hotel bar, there was a small issue with fruit flies, which required that we cover our drinks with a napkin or risk have a tiny fly swimming in our cocktail. I found this very odd considering both the time of year and the fact that the rest of the hotel was spotless. The second issue was that there was no automated wake-up call provided on the phone menu. There is a clock radio with alarm in the room. I called guest services and requested a wake-up call. The call never came. Fortunately, I had actually figured out how to set the clock radio as a back-up, and my meeting was not until 10am. I did mention the missed wake-up call upon check out. The front desk staff individual was very proactive and not only apologized for the error, but additionally indicated that she was providing me with additional Starwood points as an additional way to make up for the error. This was a very proactive and guest service friendly thing to do; and was much appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onlyslightlyLost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share such detailed and candid comments from your recent stay in St. Louis, and with us here at the Westin! I sincerely apologize for the difficulties you experienced, and have personally addressed our management staff who will ensure these kinds of difficulties do not happen again in the future.
I am delighted to know our front desk associate was proactive and able to provide attentive, friendly service. We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    931
    343
    95
    41
    26
See reviews for
280
412
80
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

As others have noted, as a premium Starwood you get use to most Westins since they start to all feel the same. That's not the case with this one. This is one of the nicest Westins I've stayed in the US. The carpet feels new, the design fresh. I will stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grabaua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for naming us one of the nicest Westins in the US! Having just completed our guest room renovation, the carpeting is indeed new. Thank you for sharing your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spooner, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
188 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My boyfriend actually booked the hotel for a night in the city after I flew in for a visit. He said when booking he just kept coming back to the Westin so decided to book it. The parking was confusing at first when you pulled up but the valet staff were very helpful. I love old warehouses converted and I think that the Westin did a FABULOUS job of converting it, it was beautifully decorated and I'm glad to see other reviews on the bathrooms, because never have I enjoyed a shower so much in a hotel and my boyfriend made the same comment. When we woke up the next morning we decided to stay another night and had no problem booking another night and they let us keep the same room, unfortunately when we came in later that night our keys didn't work but with some ID checking at the front desk we were up and running again. The bar was really nice and we enjoyed our bartender, a young guy who was eager and nice to all the patrons. The location to the sights were great, we enjoyed being within walking distance and we both will stay here again and hope to go to a game in the near future. Great place, one of the better places I've stayed in awhile!

Room Tip: When rebooking they gave us the option for $40 more to have a view of Busch stadium, seemed like a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
We're thrilled you decided to stay another night, and thank you for taking the time to share such great comments! Our historic building has indeed been transformed into a modern, yet classic space which allows for the perfect escape. I have personally thanked our bartender, Andy, for providing such attentive service. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

As Starwood Platinum members, we've stayed in plenty of Westins over the years and generally love the brand. But we rank the Westin St. Louis at the top of the U.S.-based properties. The recent renovations to the building make it an outstanding space. We were delighted to be upgraded to a spectacular suite (one of our all-time favorite rooms) and to receive complimentary breakfasts. Each staff member went out of their way to assist us, especially the valet attendants. Top notch service! And with a view of the Cardinals stadium, we could just imagine the fun of being there on a game night (sadly we missed Opening Day by a week!)

Room Tip: Our suite was on the 2nd floor. Don't be disappointed by the lower floor, we had a fantastic vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to Starwood, and especially to us here at the Westin St. Louis! Naming us the Best Westin in the U.S. makes us very proud, and I thank you! Our recent renovations have transformed our historical building into a modern, yet classic space. I have personally thanked our staff for going out of their way to offer such personalized, attentive service. Again, thank you for your loyalty, as well as taking the time to share your comments. We stand ready to serve on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poplar Bluff, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2013

My husband booked a surprise, overnight getaway for my birthday (that I was none too excited about):-) He chose the Westin because he knows it is one of my favorite hotels. It is a clean, comfortable hotel with modern decor and spacious rooms. I would LOVE to have the bathroom in my own house! I made sure to take advantage of the perfect tub for a nice, hot bubble bath. The only thing missing was my kids banging on the door asking me where something they misplaced was. Lol All the staff we encountered were friendly. My hubby had booked a spa package for me in the hotel's Solera Spa & Health Club. Apparently, he and "John" had worked out all the details prior to our arrival. Adrianna, the massage therapist, did a wonderful job on the massage, body scrub, and hand rejuvenation. No more winter alligator skin for me! If only I lived closer! The hotel has its own restaurant or there are many to choose from within walking distance. We've eaten in their restaurant before and always had good food and excellent service. We chose to try Joe Bucks, but wished we would've stayed at the hotel. Upon returning to our room we found room service had delivered a complimentary dessert for my birthday! Chocolate cake with raspberry sauce and whipped cream...delicious! I enjoyed a nice long slumber in their "Heavenly Bed". Our stay couldn't have been any better...well maybe if it would've been longer! It was just exactly what this first grade teacher, working on a master's degree, wife and mother of two, unexcited about her 40th birthday needed!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Webbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Happy Belated Birthday! We are thrilled to have been a part of your much needed getaway and celebration! Our staff truly enjoys what they do, and I'm delighted it shows. Our spacious guest bathrooms are the perfect place to excape for some tranquil alone time.
Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to share your comments-- we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at this fabulous hotel only one night and I wish we could have stayed longer. Gary greeted us warmly as we arrived taking our luggage and giving us his most beautiful smile. The front desk check in process was again warm and friendly. Our room was fabulous, we have stayed at many hotels, but they thought of everything at this hotel. The lighting in the room and bathroom was perfect, the shower was exquisite, the bed with many different sizes of pillows was fantastic. Everyone we had contact with went above and beyond our expectations! You all deserve more than a five star rating!

Room Tip: All rooms the way they have them set up would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadCityDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We certainly wish you would have stayed longer too! Thank you for naming us a 'fabulous hotel' and for recommending more than 5 stars-wow! Our historic building allows us to offer spacious guest rooms and guest bathrooms, and our Heavenly Beds leave one with a feeling of renewal. I have personally thanked our staff for being so warm and hospitable, and thank you for posting a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We recently took a short weekend trip to St. Louis and wanted to stay near downtown. The Westin was located perfectly for us. When the lady at the reception desk found out it was my birthday and we wanted a room with a view, she upgraded us to the executive suite! Absolutely every hotel employee we encountered was pleasant and extremely professional. The food in the grill was outstanding. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christine C, Manager at Westin St. Louis, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
We are thrilled to have been part of your special celebration! I have personally thanked our front line staff for being so personally attentive, as well as our culinary staff for adding their personal touches to our food.
When availability allows, we're delighted to give upgrades to assist in making your stay even more special. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Hyatt Regency St. Louis at The Arch
Downtown
Hilton St. Louis at the Ballpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#7 of 120 in Saint Louis
771 reviews
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
Four Seasons Hotel St. Louis
#3 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin St. Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin St. Louis

Property: Westin St. Louis
Address: 811 Spruce St, Saint Louis, MO 63102-1717
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Saint Louis
#2 Spa Hotel in Saint Louis
#3 Business Hotel in Saint Louis
#7 Luxury Hotel in Saint Louis
#8 Green Hotel in Saint Louis
#11 Family Hotel in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin St. Louis 4.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic Cupples Station section of St. Louis, the Westin St. Louis boasts a premiere setting. Enjoy the nearby federal courthouse, pedestrian mall, and famed Gateway Arch. Watch a Cardinals game at Busch stadium or just explore the city. A convenient Avis car rental onsite makes getting around easy.Your experience at the Westin St. Louis will be sure to engage the senses, with an interactive display kitchen at the delicious Clark Street Grill.Reenergize and renew in our Solera Health Club & Spa, a full-service spa featuring a selection of soothing signature treatments including massage, body treatments, and facials. Our full service business center allows you to take care of any last-minute details if you are hosting an event in one of our various meeting spaces.The guest rooms and suites at the Westin St. Louis are beautifully appointed, with contemporary conveniences such as High Speed Internet Access, and our signature Heavenly Bed®. Boasting high ceilings and a separate soaking tub, you are sure to stay relaxed during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Westin St. Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin St. Louis Hotel Saint Louis
Westin Saint Louis
Saint Louis Westin
Westin Hotel St Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing