We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting place for a drive or a walk - especially in spring!”

Bellefontaine Cemetery
Ranked #34 of 263 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bellefontaine is a historic, active cemetery & arboretum, with renowned architecture, a rich cultural history- and we're open everyday! Come visit us!
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting place for a drive or a walk - especially in spring!”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Was told about the cemetery by a taxi driver and I was intrigued! When a taxi driver suggests a cemetery, it must be worth a visit. So we went on a Sunday afternoon in spring. My husband, myself and the dogs. We were pleasantly surprised. The grounds are beautiful, wonderful for a walk. Many many trees planted, a number of which were flowering during our visit. If you enjoy seeing monuments and are enchanted with cemeteries, this is the place for you. Many acres to enjoy! Famous St. Louis families are here for their final resting place. There is a map, I believe, that you can collect upon entrance, but we chose to just drive around and enjoy. An excellent place to pass a couple of hours with a nice walk.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmBeAbZo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    32
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Hard to navigate”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We heard that there was a Louis Sullivan designed mausoleum here and that it was worth seeing. We were very surprised that there were no markings to find it. It's a lovely cemetery, we just could have done without the 1/2 hour of driving around to find what we were looking for.

It's not in a great part of town but it is a lovely way to spend some time and the Sullivan building is beautiful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fredilev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you like cemeteries....”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Then this has something extra since many notable St Louisians are buried here. The grounds are gorgeous and the atmosphere serent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank banalban53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“How many people are buried here?”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Giant - really giant cemetery. Looks like people all over St. Louis are just dying to get in... This town has more churches and cemeteries that any city I've ever seen!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Solar-sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Oh yeah, this was a fun civil war tour”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

I'd love to go back and do some of the their other tours. We were visiting St. Louis for the US Grant Symposium and this was one event offered. We were almost too late due to a misunderstanding on my part. We received some great information about people who served in or were part of the civil war era in St. Louis. Great job Bellefontaine Guides!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MeryMeCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellefontaine Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Bellefontaine Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing