We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and interesting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bellefontaine Cemetery

Bellefontaine Cemetery
Ranked #35 of 234 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bellefontaine is a historic, active cemetery & arboretum, with renowned architecture, a rich cultural history- and we're open everyday! Come visit us!
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I live close to the cemetery and drive through several times a year. I also enjoy ancestry. There are lots of very famous St. Louisans buried here. The bluff overlooking the river flats have beautiful family tombs. Don't miss William Clarks family in the Northeast corner (look for large obelisque).

This can be a rough neighborhood. I suggest entering from I-70 at West Florissant or Kingshighway.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gray5153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    27
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ouyr Daughter Married Here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This magnificent "park" contains the glorified remains of countless famous St. Louisians/Missourians in beautiful mausoleums. it is a history lesson waiting to be explored. My daughter was married in the tiny chapel/receiving tomb which has signed L.C. Tiffany windows, no electricity and a great sense of history. A book detailing the graves, tombs etc. has been written. It is a great free date and more beautiful than you might imagine. Wild life lives there, foxes, rabbits, squirrels, and flocks of birds.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PastorPrime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
292 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Where The Famous Are Buried”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

JMJ This cemetery is so well laid out , it's a pleasure to look for graves. Stop in the office and they will give you a treasure map to find historical figures. We found Anheiser Bush and family, The Clark Family ( of Lewis and Clark explorers,) and many others. History buffs will love it and in the spring/summer , it's flowers and trees are so beautiful!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank mother15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Authentic history and exceptional beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Many of the most important citizens of the historic city of St. Louis are buried in this very large and well-maintained park. We visited on a beautiful fall day so as to photograph both some of the important graves and the magnificent trees.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Hal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic place is a dangerous neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Don't travel alone, and go only during broadest daylight. It's a beautiful park, with some historical graves well worth seeing if you're into that kind of thing. The nearby streets have a lot of gang activity, however, so beware.

Helpful?
3 Thank SPetunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellefontaine Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Bellefontaine Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing