We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute, colorful, boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Ignacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ignacio
Ranked #41 of 122 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I did a four day get away and initially were going to stay at the 'H' word hotel, however we decided to step outside of our comfort zone and do a boutique style. We are thankful we did. Rainfall shower, (awesome) comfortable bed, refrigerator in room, great decor, and great floor length mirror on the sliding door to the spacious bathroom. The only con was the carpet needed to be replaced. On-site cafe. The cafe was closed the 4th but as a consolation they offered each guest a $15 dollar credit. Friendly, knowledgeable concierge who will offer any assistance they can. Within walking distance of Pappy's smoke house, City Diner, and Sweetie Pie's. All seen on the Food network. In addition, the parking is convenient and is roughly $10 a night. Last but not least you are less than 3 miles from the arch, Busch Stadium, downtown St. Louis. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 404 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2014

Lovely boutique hotel, friendly staff, convenient to major roadways and to the famous Pappy's barbeque -- but not much else (of interest) walkable nearby, just FYI. It is a quick and easy drive east to downtown, or west to the Forest Park/Delmar Loop area.

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Ignacio, which offered free wifi, inexpensive parking with in-and-out-privileges, and a decent cafe/restaurant attached. The rooms were modern and stylish, clean and comfortable. Gorgeous materials (like the tiles and light fixtures) with quirky touches of personality. Definitely pleased my sense of aesthetics and impressed me with the attention to details. The Tempurpedic beds were quite good, but I would have appreciated a flat pillow in addition to all the poofy down ones. I loved the shower head (but not everyone will) as well as the Philosophy bathroom products. Free water and coffee by the elevators was a nice touch -- helped us stay alert and keep hydrated over the busy holiday weekend.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, but I do think you get a different impression of St. Louis than you would if you stayed downtown. Hotel Ignacio is in a quiet neighborhood in a corner of St. Louis University, so you're not seeing any city bustle. Nor the Arch. But on the plus side, we weren't assaulted by July 4th fireworks all weekend. Also the area might be different when school is in session.

Tip: Hotel Ignacio sits right at the place where Olive St. and Lindell Ave. fork. Both cars in our party did not see the driveway, went right past, and had to turn around (and I was even using GPS!). The sign for Cafe Pinxtos is easier to see than the sign for the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank butler730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

My daughter found this hotel for us last summer on our drive back from Pennsylvania. Although we had to travel into the city, it was not difficult to find and the hotel staff was extremely helpful. We even got to sightsee a little bit because the hotel is so close to St. Louis University. I remember my extreme thirst and the delightful glass container that greeted me in the main lobby...a special mixture of water, lemon and mint. The room itself, though eclectic, was so comfortable and spacious. Those employees at the counter were also friendly and accommodating. I would definitely return there if I was passing through Missouri again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lbca23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were in St. Louis for one night passing through but wanted something more than a chain location. Had a great time. Got the meet me in St. Louis package which had $20 for food, $25 for BBQ, $15 for frozen custard, $20 cash for cab to the Arch, gooey cake was in the room, as well as two bottles of root beer. We had a blast! The Fringe Festival was going on and there was tons to check out. The area is clean, friendly, safe, quiet, yet plenty to do. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: The beds are platform Tempurpedic Memory Foam. Slept like a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiero116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIgnaci, General Manager at Hotel Ignacio, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

I am so glad that you had a great time and enjoyed the Beer, BBQ and a Bed package. We were thrilled to be able to put a few of our favorite places (Pappy's BBQ and Urban Chestnut Brewery) into one package! Thanks for staying with us. Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The hotel is simply beautiful. The art work is world class. The room, while smaller than I expected was very nice. AND it overlooked the parking lot, so I could see my car.
Four of the six staff members I encountered, bent over backwards to assist me. They were beautiful inside and out!
I ate the Sunday Buffet in the Hotel, which was pricey, but they made it worth my while. They too were friendly and very accommodating (and funny!).
The hotel was close to the concert venue I was there to attend.
I WILL stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Ignacio during a recent trip to attend a concert at the Fox Theater.

First, the location is great for anything around STLU. The walk back late at night was easy and well-lit.

When we checked in and went to our initial room, our neighbor was talking loudly and we could hear their conversation very clearly through the wall. We requested a room change, and were immediately moved to a much quieter and more enjoyable room. So, I guess that highlights the fact that some rooms don't have the best insulation from noise, but also at the willingness of the hotel to react and provide a better match for us.

The amenities in our room were great. Comfortable beds, clean/large bathroom and shower, and interesting decor. Overall, a fun stay and we would recommend it.

Room Tip: The 3rd floor room we moved to was more spacious than the 5th floor original room. I was told all ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brycew613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I asked upon check-in for double bed availability and was told there were none available. Five minutes later, I overheard the same clerk tell a potential customer there was a double bed available for a rate $20 below what I was paying for my room with a king size bed. When I asked to switch to a room with double, she refused because it was "policy" not do that with rooms booked through Expedia. She said I may have booked the room under a lower rate via Expedia, and that I would have to go through Expedia to cancel my existing reservation. It's needless to have to the customer jump through hoops for a simple room change and be adamant about refusing the request. Policies and attitudes such as this leave a bad taste.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxfm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIgnaci, General Manager at Hotel Ignacio, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

I apologize for your experience. In this case our agent misunderstood our Expedia rules and regulations. If guests need to cancel or modify their reservation, they must do so directly with Expedia. However, we are able to change room types for the guest if one is available. I received your information last night and would be happy to speak personally about the issue before you check out. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience. Stacey Howlett

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#45 of 122 in Saint Louis
959 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#10 of 122 in Saint Louis
835 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#34 of 122 in Saint Louis
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Parkway Hotel
#32 of 122 in Saint Louis
599 reviews
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ignacio

Address: 3411 Olive St, Near Saint Louis University & Grand Center, Saint Louis, MO 63103-1116
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Grand Center / Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 122 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range: $145 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ignacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic 49 room boutique hotel located close to Saint Louis University, in the Midtown arts district. Within a short walk of 12,000 theater seats and 12 galleries & museums in Grand Center. Independently owned, amenities include; Tempurpedic mattresses, luxurious linens, and house bikes complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing