We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful boutique hotel”
Review of Hotel Ignacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ignacio
Ranked #41 of 122 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were looking for rooms at the Ritz of 4 Seasons but they were too expensive. Looked on Trip Advisor and found Hotel Ignacio. The room was fabulous. Nice front desk staff, elegant, modern design in an old building and a gorgeous king-bedded room with all the amenities. The TV was built into the mirror and the rain shower was awesome. Good food in the cafe and soft, bamboo sheets. We would definitely stay here anytime we were in St. Louis.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 403 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

No seriously an excellent modern hotel with cool cafe and restaurant next door. Room was excellent space shower art etc way ahead of most and media machine a tech geeks dream.
But the really neat addition is pleasant St Louis campus art and the Triumph restaurant next door the amazing art pieces and bIke theme was great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIgnaci, General Manager at Hotel Ignacio, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for the review. I am glad that you got to enjoy the different aspects of the hotel! Stacey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Just steps from SLU--an excellent location--can park at hotel and 10 min walk to student center. Beautiful boutique hotel with each room a unique layout and wonderful "rainfall" shower. Lovely artwork throughout hotel. Has a nice cafe for a quick breakfast and across the street from Vito's (great italian food). The young man in reception was excellent--really went out of his way to help us! A wonderful experience :)

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishmom67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Found the Hotel Ignatio online based on its proximity to Powell Hall when we got show tickets. VERY impressed with this hotel for many reasons, including:
1. Friendly, knowledgeable staff connected us with great dining options.
2. Central location - if you haven't been there before small tip - what looks like a pedestrian walk way is actually the front hotel entrance
3. Beautiful art deco style in a gorgeous space with wonderful artwork pieces adorning the walls
4. The most inviting lobby in which to just sit and read I think I've seen
5. Very comfy bed
6. Cool amenities like spa water, Kindles to check out and bikes to rent to explore the neighborhood
7. Although rooms are on the smallish side, they are beautifully decorated

The slight downsides we experienced on this first visit:
1. Doors are very heavy and close extraordinarily loudly. Not many guests seem aware of this fact.
2. With only 43 rooms, this place books fast - make your reservations today (we had wanted to stay 2 nights but it was only available one).
3. In an older space, voices and other noises carry a little more than normal.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 5th floor - no one above us, less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IowaTraveler925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Got a suite ,one of two there. Room 509 was told it was the bigger of the two and was disappointed by the size of the living / social area. The bathroom I rated 10 , the bedroom 9, due to staff not knowing about the lighting system. " was told on checkout how it works correctly, by a different staff member. The living / social area was a 7.5 rating. Bottom line their suite is NOT worth more then $200 a night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J0hn_C207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights the weekend after Christmas. My mom flew in from Louisville, and we drove up from Memphis. The 3 of us and our Weim, Linus, stayed in a suite and were very comfortable. The bathroom is huge, the bed was comfy, and the views were amazing. This hotel is within walking distance from several restaurants. I would highly recommend it if you want a getaway and don't like chains.

Room Tip: If you have a dog, a room at the end of the hall is good, so your dog won't be distracted by peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank theREALmle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed at Hotel Ignacio while in St. Louis with 5 other girlfriends to see Jersey Boys at the Fox Theater. We had 3 double rooms on the fourth floor. The layout was different in each room and each room had its own unique features. It was a refreshing change to the normal cookie cutter style you find in chain hotels. The rooms were very modern, clean and we felt spacious compared to other boutique hotels we have stayed at. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The price was also very reasonable.
We had planned to eat dinner on The Hill, but instead decided to try out the Triumph Grill. As guests of the hotel we were seated quickly. The food was fabulous. After dinner we sat in the hotel living room by the fire and visited. It was very relaxing and just felt very comfortable.
Our tickets were for the afternoon matinee the following day and we were able to leave our cars in the hotel lot and walk to the show.
I would definitely stay at Hotel Ignacio again and would highly recommend it to friends. It is super convenient if you are seeing a show at the Fox.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank MUTigerFan90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
The Cheshire
#45 of 122 in Saint Louis
955 reviews
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#11 of 122 in Saint Louis
831 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#36 of 122 in Saint Louis
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Center / Midtown
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
Residence Inn St. Louis Downtown
#42 of 122 in Saint Louis
431 reviews
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ignacio

Address: 3411 Olive St, Near Saint Louis University & Grand Center, Saint Louis, MO 63103-1116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Grand Center / Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 122 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range: $146 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ignacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic 49 room boutique hotel located close to Saint Louis University, in the Midtown arts district. Within a short walk of 12,000 theater seats and 12 galleries & museums in Grand Center. Independently owned, amenities include; Tempurpedic mattresses, luxurious linens, and house bikes complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing