We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again and Still Love It”
Review of Hotel Ignacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ignacio
Ranked #39 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Back Again and Still Love It”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I found this gem last year and wrote a review and was curious on my return trip how it might live up to my first experience. This isn't the Four Seasons, but for a small boutique hotel, I think it rivals any hotel with customer service. The front desk staff are incredibly friendly and personable. They don't show any signs of frustration when something isn't going right. For instance, two of my bathroom lights blew out when I turned on the switch. Since it was at night and I still had the mirror lights, I said that tomorrow was fine for someone to come and fix the lights. The front desk staff took off the cost of parking for my inconvenience.

The rooms are contemporary and have high tech features that a guest wants. There is good and bad in this. The great is that wi-fi is included in the cost of the room. The tv is "hidden" in a frame that sort of doubles as a mirror. It's cool. The bad is that because the hotel info and phone are connected to a Avaya hub, if it isn't working (ours was not), you have to rely on your own smartphone or computer to access local info, hotel info, or a phone. We were offered to move to another room, but we were unpacked and didn't require the hub at this point.

The view from our room is the University of St. Louis. Even though we faced the road, I didn't hear traffic. The bathroom amenities are Philosophy. I had a window seat with two pads attached. I used it quite often to sit and read or to sit with my computer while gazing out of the window.

Even with the two hick-ups, I highly recommend Hotel Ignacio. It's just a peaceful oasis and a very comfortable Terpur-Pedic bed. I don't think I'll ever stay elsewhere in this town.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a very, very deep soaking tub while others have a stone double shower stall with a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    98
    22
    9
    4
See reviews for
75
119
21
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2013

From the moment you walk into Hotel Ignacio, you will feel relaxed by the unique decor and ambiance. You are surrounded by beautiful artwork and architectural details galore. The amenities included: complimentary parking, bicycles, the use of kindles, WiFi, and unmatched customer service...just to name a few! I traveled to STL with my husband and two tween children. My children where delighted by the modern hipness of the atmosphere. My husband and I loved the tranquility and care taken to make our short stay pleasurable. I would like to give kudos to Dimitri, the front desk expert. His level of professionalism was unmatched. Specifically, my husband had time a sensitive military situation that needed immediate attention. Dimitri offered his technological assistance without hesitation. This level of professionalism is leaps and bounds above other hotel competitors.
We loved the expansive artwork in the rooms, the modern rain shower head,great city views from two walls of widows and the most comfortable heavenly beds ever!
We loved utilizing the bicycles to ride to Cafe Ventana...this place is only a few blocks away. It offered delicious baked goods, coffee, creative concoctions for adults over 21, and many other yummy foods in a phenomenal bistro setting that offers both indoor and outdoor seating!
YES, I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a true boutique hotel experience to remember.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FourKnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Surprised my husband with tickets to a show for his 50th birthday. The ticket agent recommended this hotel and it made his birthday all the better! The central location to restaurants and the Powell Symphony hall were perfect walking distance. The breakfast service was wonderful and the lovely lady that served us couldn't have been nicer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buckeye005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel Ignacio!! It is a very cool boutique hotel. The staff was so welcoming and helpful and our room was wonderful! Comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom. Very modern. The 24 hour spa water and coffee was great. Wish we could have stayed longer! We would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We were on the top floor and had no complaints! Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tkbone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2013

During my recent stay at the Ignacio, I was put in a room with a king bed ( even though I requested a double bd room). Not only were the air vents full of lint and germs ( a result of not being cleaned) the sheets were filthy! There were dirty footprints on the bottom sheet as well as short curly hairs. I called the front desk, they tried to out me in another kind bed room, but when the sheets were pulled back on that bed, there were short curly hairs in the bed as well!!!! Although the young man from the front desk put me in a new room with double beds (no hairs in those sheets), and compensated the rest of my stay, I still called the health department on this hotel!
I have stayed in hotels all over the world.Seldom have I ever stayed in a hotel with dirty sheets and never have I been given the excuse, " we send our laundry out and sometimes the sheets come back with hair still in them." This is unacceptable!

Room Tip: Request a room with double beds even if you are by yourself!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIgnaci, General Manager at Hotel Ignacio, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We take all reviews very seriously as it allows us to better deal with guests and the guest experience. Your review concerns me greatly, mostly because we are accustom to providing our guests with excellent service and an excellent product. I was provided detailed information regarding your stay and previous stay. It is never easy to lose a guest, but I do hope that you find a hotel that you love and feel confident in on your next visit to St. Louis. We will continue to strive to provide an exemplary experience for our guests and your review will help us in that endeavor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paoli
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Ignacio with friends this past weekend. Besides being a lovely hotel with really nicely appointed rooms, cool artwork everywhere, comfy beds and great bathrooms, the best part of our stay there was the staff. They were young, enthusiastic and very helpful with suggestions and directions. The hotel arranged for theatre tickets and even packed nice box lunches (with reusable water bottles for keeps) to take with us on our outings. We would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: My husband and I stayed in room 410 which is on the corner with two really big windows. Nice and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eggplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Plugged in the address into the GPS and drove past the hotel. It is smaller that what I expected, in a good way. We checked in a little early on Saturday to find our white comforter was wet in spots and had some stains. We immediately went down to the front desk and the front desk rep was very good. She got us a new room with no questions asked. Also, she was very apologetic. This says a lot about the hotel on the way the dealt with an issue. I would give them an A+ for this.

Next, we then checked into our new room and everything was very nice. The room is perfectly sized. The bed is amazingly comfortable. The tv was great because it was a like the 3 I have at home. Everything in the room is modern looking and is very practical.

Parking is only yards away and was monitored by a guard. We felt very safe leaving our vehicle so know problems in this department. Also, there is a restaurant attached but it seems there is a good opportunity for this hotel to offer a little bar inside the hotel itself. We checked out at 8 am this restaurant was setting up for breakfast/brunch. Therefore, we could not eat there since we had to leave early.

In conclusion, this is a nice hotel in a nice location. For a $190 a night with tax and parking, it should be. I felt comfortable walking to neighboring bars/restaurants with no worries. I would come again with no hesitations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Forest Park
Home2 Suites by Hilton St. Louis / Forest Park
The Cheshire
#42 of 120 in Saint Louis
916 reviews
The Parkway Hotel
#32 of 120 in Saint Louis
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
Courtyard St Louis Downtown West
#55 of 120 in Saint Louis
240 reviews
The Chase Park Plaza
#40 of 120 in Saint Louis
1,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ignacio

Property: Hotel Ignacio
Address: 3411 Olive St, Near Saint Louis University & Grand Center, Saint Louis, MO 63103-1116
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Grand Center / Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 120 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ignacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened boutique hotel close to Saint Louis University and within a short walk of 12,000 theater seats and 12 galleries & museums in Grand Center. Independently owned, amenities include; tempur pedic mattresses, Avaya Media Hubs (first in the USA), a strong "Green Statement", house bikes, Kindles and conveniently located in the heart of Midtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing