We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location”
Review of Hotel Ignacio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ignacio
Ranked #41 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Plugged in the address into the GPS and drove past the hotel. It is smaller that what I expected, in a good way. We checked in a little early on Saturday to find our white comforter was wet in spots and had some stains. We immediately went down to the front desk and the front desk rep was very good. She got us a new room with no questions asked. Also, she was very apologetic. This says a lot about the hotel on the way the dealt with an issue. I would give them an A+ for this.

Next, we then checked into our new room and everything was very nice. The room is perfectly sized. The bed is amazingly comfortable. The tv was great because it was a like the 3 I have at home. Everything in the room is modern looking and is very practical.

Parking is only yards away and was monitored by a guard. We felt very safe leaving our vehicle so know problems in this department. Also, there is a restaurant attached but it seems there is a good opportunity for this hotel to offer a little bar inside the hotel itself. We checked out at 8 am this restaurant was setting up for breakfast/brunch. Therefore, we could not eat there since we had to leave early.

In conclusion, this is a nice hotel in a nice location. For a $190 a night with tax and parking, it should be. I felt comfortable walking to neighboring bars/restaurants with no worries. I would come again with no hesitations.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 405 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We live in St. Louis but stayed at Hotel Ignacio for our 35th wedding anniversary. Being familiar with the other hotels in the area, we can without a doubt say this is the best hotel in St. Louis! If you're looking for something other than cookie-cutter national chains or stuffy traditional formats, this hotel is the place for you! Yes, it's on the high end of things price-wise, but if you're looking to splurge for a special occasion (or can just afford it), you won't feel out of place if your usual hotel nights are spent at mid-range facilities. I suppose we're biased, but we're fans of fresh, contemporary styling and this hotel has it to spare! We won't repeat the previous reviewers, but suffice it to say this is a most unique place to spend the night - from the ultra-contemporary rooms to the adjoining motorcycle-themed restaurant and museum. Don't forget to mention you're driving a hybrid (if you are) to save the parking fee.

As with any facility, though, we had a few nits to pick...our room had a very strong paint odor. The outer brick wall (the hotel is in a remodeled older building) was painted with a sort of metallic paint, which may have been the culprit. The front desk person says this has been a recurring problem with some of the rooms, and they've been trying to figure out the cause. After a while you get used to it, but when you return to the room it's very noticeable. And, it would be nice to have a few more things to hang clothes on in the bathroom, but hey, if that's all we have to complain about, big deal :-)

On another note, the rooms must have been designed by a younger person because there are TONS of electrical outlets to recharge phones, cameras, etc. - even disappearing ones built in to the cabinet tops! Finally, no more pulling out furniture and unplugging lamps to recharge your cell phone!!

Room Tip: Ask to be assigned a room that doesn't have the strong odor :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BudAndPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Hotel Ignacio is boutique hotel in an old building next to Saint Louis University that has been renovated and the decor is very cool. The staff was very nice and helpful with directions and restaurant recommendations. It was very quiet and had a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LBKGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Pros:
- orange mint water in the lobby (and free fruit)
- free parking if you drive a hybrid
- free bikes you can borrow
- friendly and professional staff
- sexy decor
- nice beds
- great area right next to Saint Louis University
- easy room entry

Cons:
- wish breakfast was included
- hallway smelled a bit musty

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzieillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you would like to stay in a beautiful, friendly place while in St. Louis, MO, you must visit the charming Hotel Ignacio. What made this lovely hotel even more memorable was the service of Dimitri and Bee, the front desk attendants. My daughter and I had no idea where we were going, and both of these wonderful young people couldn't do enough to help us. Dimitri helped us from the moment we arrived ...guided us to the hotel by phone ... helped us find a charming Italian restaurant ...just couldn't do enough for us. Please stay here...what a PERFECT place!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lbca23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed at this hotel this past weekend and I completely fell in love. The hotel rooms and lobby has a beautiful modern decor. The rooms were clean and the beds were so comfortable. The staff was very friendluy. The hotel was very easy to find and is a very short drive away from downtown. It took about 5 minutes to get to the arch. This is definitely my go to hotel from now on when I am in the city. It is perfect for a girls weekend or even romantic weekend. I loved it here and I know you will too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveMotlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

If you are looking for a small, quiet hotel with friendly service, I would recommend the Hotel Ignacio. We were always greeted with a smiling, friendly face every time we walked past the lobby. Hotel has a hip/chic vibe with flat screen tvs that look like mirrors when not in use. Mattresses were super comfortable. I'm not a fan of the overhead rain shower, but otherwise the bathroom was nice. No free breakfast, but the prices are reasonable and the food is good.

Parking is $9 per day across the street with unlimited in and out. The location is 3 miles west of Busch stadium, which is about a 12 minute drive or a $12 cab ride. The area around the hotel seemed dead by 10pm on a Saturday night, so don't plan on partying until 2am.

Overall, we were very happy with our decision to stay at the Hotel Ignacio. Just wish they had a pool!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Saint Louis hotels
Downtown
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
Magnolia Hotel St. Louis
#12 of 123 in Saint Louis
841 reviews
The Cheshire
#47 of 123 in Saint Louis
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Parkway Hotel
#31 of 123 in Saint Louis
605 reviews
Seven Gables Inn
#4 of 5 in Clayton
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ignacio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ignacio

Address: 3411 Olive St, Near Saint Louis University & Grand Center, Saint Louis, MO 63103-1116
Location: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Grand Center / Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 123 Hotels in Saint Louis
Price Range: $163 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Ignacio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic 49 room boutique hotel located close to Saint Louis University, in the Midtown arts district. Within a short walk of 12,000 theater seats and 12 galleries & museums in Grand Center. Independently owned, amenities include; Tempurpedic mattresses, luxurious linens, and house bikes complimentary to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ignacio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing