We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true culinary experience with perfectly balanced sophisticated flavors”
Review of Farmhaus

Farmhaus
Ranked #320 of 2,926 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Lindenwood Park
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A true culinary experience with perfectly balanced sophisticated flavors”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

probably the most sophisticated flavors perfectly balanced i have every eaten. this is not the place to get a steak and beer; rather, it's the place to go for a myriad of complex flavors, local produce and meat, (thankfully the seafood and fish are flown in). Our party of 4 shared 3 salads, 3 entrees and 3 desserts. the menu changes daily, so your food might be different from ours. we had a mushroom salad with goat cheese that was the most subtle combination - so delicate while being perfectly balanced. (my experience is that goat cheese can easily overpower lots of dishes, not the case here.) In every *single* bite it was evident that extreme care in the creation of the dish from conception, preparation and service. the portions aren't that big, but they explode with flavor. i had a drink with gin in it that was a distillery from south of chicago. it's casual, somewhat noisy, pretty cramped and really hard to get in - but completely and totally worth it. If you have important things to discuss during dinner, forget it, you'll be talking about the amazingness of the food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sethanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    17
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This was our first visit to Farmhaus Restaurant. The food was very tasty, however, the portions very small. This is not an inexpensive outing....very pricey for what you get.
Won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sus53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wish they had more seats!!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

I was in town visiting my mom from Monterey and was so pleased to see that St. Louis has some real "farm to table" food. We stopped in at about 3 to reserve a table and we were informed that they were booked for the night. I noticed the bar area and told my mom lets gamble and come back and try to get a bar seat. Always a good sign when reservations are full. And it totally worked out when we returned later. We got prime bar seats.

A lot of the time when you sit at the bar you expect mediocre service. Wow that was not the case here. Stellar bartender. We had the sweet potato nachos and the meatloaf. Both were outstanding and well prepared.

I will be back in St. Louis in August and will be sure to make a reservation in advance. Can't wait to return and see what's new on the menu!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Surfkelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Where pigs go to die...and be eaten!!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is amazing. The unique food combinations, spectacular wine list and friendly service are hard to beat. This is the place that pigs go to die...and be eaten. The pork dishes are unparalleled. We ordered family style and tried many of the entrees. The bacon wrapped meatloaf, Porchetta steamed buns, Cotechino, and blackened grouper were all memorable dishes. We also each had a salad and the roasted Mushroom salad was the talk of the meal. The charcuterie butcher's plate is full of culinary delights like pork pie, spicy tomato jam, pimento cheese just to name a few. Their wine list is a new world extravaganza and contains many hard to find domestic wines that are our favorites. Carlysle, Radio Coteau, Peay and Rafanelli are only a few. If you are into craft beers you will not be disappointed. Run, do not walk to this place, foodies will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Orcharddude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We discovered Farmhaus by searching around for a local casual place to enjoy a fresh and delightful meal on a Saturday evening. We found just that! The location is welcoming and inviting. Small building with small tables placed closed together, decorated with wine bottles and fresh flowers. We were greeted by the manager and the chef when we arrived. The server brought to the table the daily print out of the menu along with Chef tasting menu option. She explained the restaurant concept of small plates and recommended that we ordered a couple of dishes each to share as the kitchen will prepare them and send out as they become ready. We ordered the Smoked Fish Dip, Porchetta Steamed Buns, Bacon Wrapped Meatloaf, and the Pariesienne Gnocchi, my personal favorite. They were all delicious dishes, well prepared and with beautiful presentation. for dessert we tried the Peanut butter cup and the Pistachio cake. They were both great. I do not enjoy peanut butter as most people do, but this dessert was not overpowering and the chocolate mousse was to die for. The Pistachio cake was a great option for those looking for something less sweet. The citrus fruit and the honey were a great combination. We loved the restaurant concept of fresh local ingredients. At departure, despite a busy restaurant evening, the chef once again thanked us for visiting. We will be back to try the Chef tasting menu soon :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alethea16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmhaus also viewed

 

Been to Farmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing