We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every day new perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farmhaus

Farmhaus
Ranked #237 of 2,832 Restaurants in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Lindenwood Park
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Every day new perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

Camaraderie and the aroma of good food, good wine fill the rooms.
Invisible good service while a chuckle of good conversations. Love
this place! Every plate, smartly done, from the salad to the dessert.
World-class kitchen. Thanks to the Chef. Get a reservation. Jerry C.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HeyJerry2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    14
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice concept, food was ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and decided to try Farmhaus. I LOVE the concept, local, sustainable food. The service was great. The servers were very informative about the menu. The food was pretty good. We did not care for any of the meat that we tried. The cheeses were amazing. The sweet potato nachos were fantastic and the rest of the dishes we tried were tasty. Overall it was a good experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sophisticated, fresh, delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

This is one of the two best restaurants, worldwide, I've experienced. (The other is at the southern tip of Argentina--I do mean worldwide.) The chef is committed to locally produced ingredients and the results are fresh and imaginative. My friend and I each raved over a mixed greens and exotic mushroom salad with a very subtle bacon dressing. I followed with a grilled, spice crusted salmon over some sort of grain (can't remember what). Mine was good, but my friend's pork chop was fabulous--I can't tell you exactly why, but the flavor was really good. I think it was grilled, it was a little crunchy on top and it was served over a freshly sauteed cabbage, I think. Dessert--mine was a walnut cake and his was, I think, apple crisp, was also delicious. Two observations: The food comes out as it is finished. My friend's pork chop arrived about five minutes before my salmon. The waiter advises you of this ahead of time and suggests sharing the food as it arrives, which we did. Also, the waiter will tell you the portions are small--and they are. I'm not a big fan of gargantuan servings but I have to say that the salmon serving verged on scanty, maybe 2.5-3 ounces. Just not quite enough. We almost, but not quite, wished we'd had a third entree. So, be warned if you are a big eater. (The pork chop entree was just about right in size.)

The atmosphere is informal--like date night informal, not casual but definitely not white glove, linen table cloth stuffy. Relaxed and enjoyable, and we could hear one another in normal conversational tones.

On a Friday night, the place was crowded....reservations highly recommended although, if you can be flexible, they will try to fit you in.


3257 Ivanhoe Avenue St. Louis, MO 63139
(314) 647-3800

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank santabgirlmissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, MS
Level Contributor
172 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Our group of three friends had a wonderful meal and experience at Farmhaus last week. We made a reservation a few days in advance, and upon our early arrival, we were quickly seated at an outside table, as requested. Each of us ordered a different salad, the Blue Plate, the Summer Salad and the Mushroom Salad. Each one of these was very fresh and very different. I think overall, the Blue Plate, which arrived last of the three was our favorite. All of us ordered the same entree, the Ehu Snapper. The presentation was beautiful and it was the best snapper I have ever had. The potatoes and fried green tomatoes that accompanied the snapper were a perfect balance to the meal. Our server, Matt, was attenttive and very well informed about the menu and made excellent suggestions.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Foodies look no further”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

Thanks to the chef and staff for one of my most favorite dining experiences of all time! I heard about Farmhaus because of tripadvisor and am forever grateful. We called the day of for a reservation and were given clear directions to the restaurant. Our server was Desi, who happily answered my many questions about the beer\food\dessert menu. If you are looking for clever creations around local vegetables and fantastic fish you have found it. Please go and enjoy as much as I did!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farmhaus also viewed

 

Been to Farmhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing