We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat Neighborhood, Historical Townhomes”
Review of Central West End

Central West End
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.00*
and up
St Louis Food Tour: The Dish on the Central West End District
More Info
$52.00*
and up
Food Tour of the St Louis Delmar Loop
More Info
$32.49*
and up
Hard Rock Cafe St Louis
Ranked #48 of 258 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leawood, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
392 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Neat Neighborhood, Historical Townhomes”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The Central West End neighborhood has some beautiful old homes, some of which have been converted to townhomes. We went to Crepes Etc on Maryland Plaza for a late breakfast and then decided to walk through the area. On the north side of Maryland Plaza across from Crepes Etc and Scape Bistro are the Maryland Plaza Townhomes. If you walk east past Euclid you will come upon several restaurants, shops and even a Chess Club shop.

If you have the energy you could continue east a few more blocks on Maryland Avenue to see the Cathedral Basilica of St. Louis which is beautiful.

This area is a nice place to have breakfast or lunch and stroll through the neighborhood.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    40
    6
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Unique neighborhood”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

could not believe the size of the family homes in this area! cute shops and restaurants to stroll around and then walk a few blocks off the main street to gawk at the enormous homes

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dselmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
1,053 reviews
408 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 621 helpful votes
“Great place to go when it is warm outside”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had heard that this was a trendy place for restaurants and shopping. We found very few shops and they had expensive clothes. There is a variety of different restaurants in the area. We ate at Gringo and probably wouldn't return. The service was great but the food was not. There are some beautiful older brick homes in the area. It would be fun in the summer to walk in this area for food and beverages but really not for shopping. I did think their book store was charming.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank minnesotans4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Dining Destination”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We visited the Central West End during a very very cold spell. My wife and I were not able to completely absorb the whole neighborhood. The Christmas decorations were beautiful, the streets were clean, well lit and safe. The choices of restaurants here is amazing! We plan on coming back here in the summer and enjoying everything the neighborhood has to offer. We used the MetroLink as our way of transit downtown. We will not be using it again. It's a convenient distance from the Central West End however, we did not feel safe on the train or waiting for it. We'll take a cab for sure next time. Can't wait to come back! Check out Sub Zero Vodka Bar - AMAZING!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JustinSweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST louis
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Central West End is Heaven”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great restaurants, shopping people watching and wonderful homes to look at and private streets that are beautiful

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central West End also viewed

 
Saint Louis, MO
 

Been to Central West End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing