We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Marvelous Music in a Magnificent Setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Symphony Orchestra

St. Louis Symphony Orchestra
718 N. Grand Blvd., Powell Symphony Hall, Saint Louis, MO (Grand Center / Midtown)
314-533-2500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 233 things to do in Saint Louis
Attraction details
Kirkwood, Missouri
Level Contributor
138 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Marvelous Music in a Magnificent Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The St. Louis Symphony Orchestra continues to reach new levels of performance. Last night they offered Beethoven's 4th Piano Concerto and Brahm's 2nd Symphony. Robertson's personality and talent on the podium commands attention as he holds the orchestra in the palm of his hand (the one without the baton). And Radu Lupu, the pianist from Romania is absolutely amazing. I don't remember anyone ever playing that concerto so effortlessly. During intermission I stood in the balcony and marveled at the beautiful lobby. An evening at Powell with the SLSO is a must-do event in St. Louis.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Easyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    9
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
st. louis
Level Contributor
107 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It will rock your world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I went on a lark and sooo enjoyed the musicians and music. Live symphony music is very engaging and relaxing. Don't miss this world class Symphony when in St. Louis.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank stlcardinals09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia,MO
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have been there thrice and I have loved it everytime! The acoustics are great and the place is grand but not flashy unlike the fox..if I had more money I would go more often.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank pmphx5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“First Class!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you have a chance to hear this World Class Orchestra, dont hesitate. They have been around since 1880 and the quality and tradition is still there every week! Dress up, get some dinner, go to the concert, have a dessert and a glass of wine in the intermission...Make a great evening for yourself and someone you love! You might as well be in Paris :)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank laletina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Illinois
Level Contributor
141 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Real symphony in a small market city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Is the the Berlin Philharmonic? No, but you will enjoy your night at Powell hall and it won't empty your wallet. Not a bad sat in the house and there are many good restaurants nearby to enjoy a pre show meal.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank chriscentralIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Symphony Orchestra also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Symphony Orchestra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing