We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful exhibits for the entire family!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Missouri History Museum

Missouri History Museum
Ranked #17 of 243 things to do in Saint Louis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Missouri History Museum preserves St. Louis and Missouri history through exhibitions, programs, research, publications, archives and permanent collections. Visitors discover stories of Lewis & Clark and westward expansion, the 1904 World's Fair, the brewing industry, Lindbergh and aviation history, St. Louis' importance to the civil rights movement, and more. Long-term exhibitions include "Seeking St. Louis" and "1904 World's Fair: Looking Back at Looking Forward." Visit the Museum's website for information on special exhibitions.
great midwest
Level Contributor
124 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Wonderful exhibits for the entire family!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I think this museum is a bit of a "forgotten treasure" in St Louis. The exhibits are always interesting and varied, with something for everyone. I recently took my 18 month old granddaughter and she enjoyed the experience, as have my young nieces and nephews. I have found that a membership is a wonderful way to both support the museum and see all the exhibits, as well as stay informed on everything that is being offered. I would urge everyone to visit this museum.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank readytotravel95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    164
    40
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Mundane and weak exhibits;”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Occasional good traveling exhibits; semi-permanent exhibits are not well done, not particularly interesting; not of current interest; Missouri in the Civil War exhibit had a number of misspellings on the plaques and some incorrect information; Recent disclosure of huge funds wasted on the key administer coupled with local spending scandals

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Republic, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tons of entertaining exhibits for the whole family.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I visited the History Museum with my husband and our 2-year-old daughter. My husband and I loved the set-up and the availability of random facts (not just the same information that you will find in a high school social studies book!) I was very surprised at all the "hand-on" exhibits and it was more than enough to keep my toddler's attention. We didn't pay for any of the separate exhibits, but we felt there was more than enough to look at for free.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, Missouri
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“One of the More Interesting Places in the City”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I love history... the more ancient the better, and this museum has enough exhibits to keep me interested for hours.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank etherius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Civil War in St. Louis Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Loved this exhibit, it showed the role St. Louis played in the Civil War. On Tuesdays, St. Louis City and County residents can get free admission to the museum exhibits between 2 and 8 pm (I believe, unsure of exact times).

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank PrncsJuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Missouri History Museum also viewed

 

Been to Missouri History Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing